We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really enjoyed this trip.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lucaya Watersports

Lucaya Watersports
Port Lucaya, Seahorse Road, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
+1 242-373-6375
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 41 Activities in Freeport
Type: Water sports, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lots of fun activities for the whole family, snorkeling, glassbottom boat, waverunners, deep sea and bottom fishing, banana boat, kayaks, paddle boats, scooters and bicycles with 2 locations at Port Lucaya and Taino Beach Resort.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“I really enjoyed this trip.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked this tour right off the cruise boat at the port. They have a permanent stand/building marked excursions. We had a little time to spend before our transportation was leaving. We walked around the little market area for a short time. The lady from the stand came and found us. She said we could leave early if we would like and it would give us a little time at the beach. They took us over in a chartered bus to the marina. On the bus ride we got to see some of the island, I liked this a lot. The ride was just long enough to see the island but not too long. When we got to the marina, we walked over to a lovely little beach for about 45 minutes. The sand was so soft. We then met Ashton our tour guide/ first mate. He got us all checked in and was very friendly. On the boat we met Donnie our Captain. This crew was nice and friendly,They told us everything we needed to know. We took the boat out to the reef. Donnie told us that they don't go into shark areas, I was so happy with this information. They had bread that they threw in the water to attract the little fish. They also gave me a few slices. The fish would take it right out of your hand. I stayed out the whole 90 minutes. It was so enjoyable!! There were so many beautiful, colorful fish. Take an underwater camera if you have one.
I enjoyed the smaller boat. I was getting so tired of crowds and the small 9 person tour was just PERFECT! They also provided fruit punch and ice. I would recommend this tour to all my friends visiting the island.
The employees all we are shirts that say Lucaya water sports. It makes them easy to identify. Every person from this company was friendly and professional.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    2
    0
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Stay away!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Taino Beach Resort and Clubs; a Lucaya Watersports representative is located in the lobby. Lucaya Watersports is also located at Port Lucaya Marketplace. I cannot stay anything good about this company or the representative. Once guests check-in at Taino Beach Resort, they are sent to the Lucaya Watersports rep. A 10% discount is offered on most activities booked the first day of a guest's stay. Frankly, one can get a better deal booking the same activities with other more reputable companies online several weeks or even days prior to arrival. We booked three activities. We probably would not have booked the bonfire if we knew what to expect. The bulk of the time guests are in the pavilion by the beach engaged group games and dances. Half way through the night, a buffet dinner is served, which was fine. After the buffet, a bonfire is lit on the beach, but the entire group is directed back into the pavilion for more games, which seemed odd to us. The actual bonfire seemed like an afterthought. The guests that actually participated in the activities seemed to sincerely enjoy themselves; it just wasn’t for us. We also booked the island tour because we wanted to see the island but were not comfortable driving on the “wrong” side of the road. The bus driver arrived 45 minutes late with an already overfull bus. He tried to squeeze us all on. We declined as we didn’t want to sit on an overcrowded bus for 4 ½ hours. We thought about trying another day but only had one more day available, and we were not willing to risk it with this company. We got a refund with no problem. After those two experiences, we tried to get a refund for the wine and cheese cruise. The first time was when we got our refund for the island tour. We were told to come back the day of the cruise. The morning of the cruise we tried again and were told that tours are nonrefundable unless the company cancels due to weather. That evening we rushed out of the pool to get to the cruise. We arrived at the Welcome Center ten minutes before the cruise was to begin. We double checked where the group was to meet and were told the cruise was canceled due to weather and low numbers. We received no apology or explanation as to why we were not contacted or when this decision was made. We were told to come back the following morning to get our refund; we came back in the morning before we were going to catch the water ferry to Port Lucaya, and the Lucaya Watersports representative couldn’t find the paperwork so we had to come again that afternoon. We did finally receive a refund. I strongly suggest that guests to the hotel seek out tour companies that are more reputable. I suggest Pat and Diane's - friendly staff and crew and a great tour. If you are a cruise guest and want to get to the beach, use the Port Lucaya Water Ferry located in the marina by Sabor.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bikes don't exist”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

Reserved a BIKE reservation online. Went down to get them but they said they don't rent bikes anymore. It says they do on their sign and website. They did direct me to the parking lot to the left of the marketplace to an orange bread van who sells wood carvings that did have bikes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Do not go!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

All we were looking for was a ride to the beach. Guess I was a fool to let the rep talk us into not going to dead mans reef, which I had heard good things about, and to letting him get us to lucaya waterspouts. He made it sound like there was so much to do..snorkel, waterspouts, pools, playgrounds. WHAT A RIPOFF. 20.00 bucks a head for a ride to the beach. EVERYTHING there was an extra charge, including the beach chair. Plus they drop you of course in front of the markets and you have to walk nearly a half mile to get to the beach. We met fellow travelers there who hailed a cab for 5 bucks a head. DO NOT USE THEIR SERVICES..GET YOUR OWN CAB..WE LEARNED THE HARD WAY.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayville, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Do NOT deal with Lucaya watersports company in Freeport Bahama”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We arrived In Freeport Bahama On A Carnival Cruise Ship. We had 13 In our party with young kids and teenagers. All we wanted to do was get a ride to the beach. We were approached by 2 men asking what we were looking for. They stated they were from Lacaya Watersports and could get us a ride to a beach with everything included.......water sports, chairs, swimming pools. All part of a resort that we could use. They charged us $240.OO and crammed us into a regu;ar taxi that they called.....not a Lucaya van that we saw there. We were taken to their building at Lucaya Market and told we could sign up for water sports equiptment for a fee. They then told us we had to walk down the street to the beach. When we got to the beach, the only thing that was included in that ridiculous fee we were charged was the beach. The pools weren't even open. So basically they charged us $240 dollars for a taxi ride. When we got back to the port, the booth was mysteriously closed and no sign of the men who had signed us up. Hmmmm. We had to get back on the ship so we had no time to try to get our money back if we could have found someone which we did not. Overall I believe this company preys on and scams unsuspecting vactioners who are in a hurry and don't have time to realize what is happening to them. Do not give this company any of your business or your money and spread the word.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucaya Watersports also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to Lucaya Watersports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucaya Watersports, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.