We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Seas Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Island Seas Resort to your Saves list
Island Seas Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   123 Silver Point Dr, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Freeport
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I were there for our honeymoon. The staff couldn't do enough for us. We had a beautiful oceanview room. It was clean and spacious. The staff went out of their way to make sure when we did need something, that we got it immediately. We rented a jetski, got massages, and upon a referral went to an offsite restaurant for a romantic dinner. It was a fantastic, relaxing, calming experience and we can't wait to go back.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    271
    191
    117
    143
See reviews for
235
239
18
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This resort is awesome. The staff is great Management is great. They offers a lot. They are the reason I decided to buy vacation package. The rooms were very clean, the views were amazing. They offer many activities, inlcuding water sports.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our 2nd stay..Sept 2014 and had a great time.
Property is well kept. Food on site is good and not too $.
Lots of help from the staff if needed.
Bus shuttle to grocery store or Port Lucaya plaza
Great beach with plenty of lounge chairs

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Oklahoma, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first trip to the Bahamas. The beach at this resort is amazing! The food at the restaurants was very good and not as expensive as I had expected. The rooms are good and everything was in working order except the safe. Overall we where pleased with the accommodations and would return to this resort.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my first trip to the Bahamas. Our trip was booked through a travel agency that recommended this particular hotel. I was a little skeptical about the hotel based on past reviews. We actually stayed on the marina side. There is a beautiful view of the marina outside your patio door. The hotel is not a five star hotel but was very clean and you will feel relaxed and at home.They also have a convience store on site in case you need to purchase souvenirs, food, water, soda or cleaning supplies, they have it stocked and reasonably priced. The hotel is away from everything but we literally got to everything in about a five to fifteen minute drive. One downfall is that the hotel has three floors but does not have any elevators. Everything about this place like the property, the staff, the beach was great! The bar by the pool was awesome. The food in the restaurant, Seagrape, was good but I have had better. However, I can not say enough about the entire staff, Ms.Beryl, Navarro, Jermaine, Semme...they were all pleasant, very accommodating, answered all our questions and always wanted to know if we needed anything. The beach is gorgeous and is right behind the hotel. The hotel has a designated shuttle, which was very punctual, ran every hour on the hour to and from Port Lucaya. Mr. Lightbourne, the shuttle owner and his son were our drivers and were very friendly. Make sure you sign up for some of the excursions taking place on the island. We did the bon fire which was so much fun!! Lots of music, dancing, food, adult beverages and adult games. I suggest not taking kids to the bon fire. This is a great place for families and we would not hesitate to stay there again. Overall just an amazing experience!!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnson city tn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose this resort to be away from the crowds. It is a little way out of town but that is a good thing. No people around beggin you to buy things like in larger places. We stayed on the canal side which was wonderful. From our room you could see the boats and tons of fish. The people at Island Seas treat you like family. Yvette was our go to person for any questions. Jermaine was at the front door to assist in anything we needed. Always hugs and smiles from all of the people. They love their jobs and are proud to be a part of the family. Beach is beautiful - save bread from breakfast to feed to the fish, the water is so clear you can see lots of critters.Save a piece of fish to feed your favorite cat. Beach locals cooking wonderful meals on the right of resort is Michelle and left side Bernies 2 Lobster tails,rice/ beans with cabbage and fruit for $20. The man selling shells even brought dinner to us while we were at the beach. Christian People. Always felt safe. Cave tour and the combination tours were wonderful. Favorite saying: in the Bahamas we go with the flow - we have 2 speeds - stop and slow. No hurry No Worry. God has blessed this place.

Room Tip: beach front rooms are usually one bedroom. Stay up a few floors to see the ocean or 2nd floor of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am an owner and stayed at the resort for two weeks from 7/30 to 8/14, 2014. One improvement is the food. Vastly better than what it was before last year, but still not up to my palate tastes. Overall, the food is okay when before it was inedible. I prefer fine dining, but that is just me. For authentic Bahamian food on site, Bernies and Michelle's food shacks down either side of the beach are very good. In Port Lucaya Marketplace, Zorba's Restaurant has excellent authentic Bahamian food and fabulous frozen drinks. I was in a two bedroom poolside room which was somewhat updated with new furniture. I had no problems with anything in the room. Towels were replaced every day. Beds made up every day. No issues to complain about.

My friend and I upgraded our membership to Diamond level. The entire third floors of the resort are being renovated to what can be considered 5 star furnished two bedroom units. Even better, they are installing elevators to get to the 3rd floor exclusively for Diamond owners use. The model suite was fabulous with marble bathrooms, separate marble showers, stainless steel appliances and wood kitchens fully stocked with upgraded dishes and utensils, washer and dryer in unit, oceanfront views on a large balcony with real wicker couches and cushions and loungers (no plastic), king-sized beds, 60 inch flat TV screens in all rooms, modern upscale furniture, vaulted wood-beamed high ceilings, just beautiful. These suites are for Diamond members only so regular owners and non-owner guests will never get these suites. Plus the benefits to Diamond members include free wi-fi for entire stay, anytime shuttle to grocery shop, two free weeks stay, free pick up from airport, plus many others to numerous to list right now. I know that being a Diamond member will make staying at Island Seas the 5 star experience as far as accommodations are concerned... now if they could upgrade the food too it would be perfect. Look, they are seriously upgrading the resort, but regular rooms will not compare to the Diamond Suites. You get what you pay for, so we paid (not that much either considering it was an upgrade) for the added luxury. Don't expect this level of luxury if you are not a Diamond member. With the beautiful beach and Diamond Suite and benefits, Island Seas is a fabulous place to stay. Without Diamond status, its just okay.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Diamond Suites if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Seas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Seas Resort

Address: 123 Silver Point Dr, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island Seas Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Island Seas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Seas Hotel Freeport
Island Seas Freeport
Island Seas Resort Freeport Bahamas
Island Seas Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Seas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.