We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Seas Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Island Seas Resort to your Saves list
Island Seas Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   123 Silver Point Dr, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Freeport
Troy, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Wonderful resort!! Beautiful rooms: clean, very nice furniture, full kitchen. Lovely pool, and fantastic beach. Everyone was so helpful and anxious to make sure you had a fantastic vacation. Very nice restaurant, good food reasonably priced. Many resort activities if you choose to participate. Complimentary shuttle to and from Port Lucaya hourly; complimentary shuttle to the grocery store (once per week on Tuesday when I was there) Taxi from the airport was $25.00 for two passengers (in 2013). Very enjoyable vacation, beautiful location ... I would recommend 100%.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor unit; no problems with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. It looks like it is time for you to relax, rewind, and repeat with us soon. One of the first things you will notice upon your return is how many of your vacation friends you met on your first trip are still here! Our staff enjoys working with our guests and so you will recognize many of our staff members from when you were here before. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    288
    214
    124
    154
See reviews for
255
270
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
osceola84
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We read the reviews after we had already booked and were a little worried. Once we checked in, I didn't see where so many negatives came from. The place is a little dated....no doubt. However, they appear to be clearly in the process of at least updating most of the place. The rooms are Spartan but new tvs and appliances. Bedding is not so great but passable. One main complaint would be the bathrooms....just old and worn. But I didn't come to the Bahamas to stay in a bathroom. Pool was nice and well maintained. Beach is beautiful. Staff were overall very good. One of the best things to do is get up early, take a cup of coffee, sit in a chaise lounge, and watch the surf. If your lucky, Adrian will be down there and keep you company while he cleans up the beach. He was very nice and helpful. Semy in the restaurants was genuinely wonderful. The Sea Grape was decent and so was Coconuts. Yes, they are a little pricey but so is the island. If you just want to enjoy peace and quiet this is a great place. If you want to be a little more adventurous, I would suggest renting a car....you are a bit isolated...by the island standard. You can drive around all week on a tank of gas and then some. The resort is divided into two areas; one beachside, the other across the street. While not a long walk at all I can certainly see why some people would be upset if they were across the street. Request beachside in advance if possible. Never had any problems with service whatsoever and had plenty of opportunities.

Room Tip: Request beachfront or poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
What a refreshingly honest and thorough review of our resort! Thank you for taking the time and being honest and objective. You’re right: we are remodeling and fixing up our resort. Our guests have been patient and I know they appreciate the improvements. As you mentioned, island prices can be higher than what our guests appreciate at home, but that’s one detriment of island life as items have a shipping cost associated with their overall value. For a slice of paradise, it’s worth it! Some of our guests do prefer the ocean side and love waking up to see our beautiful sunrise with the warm waves lapping onto our soft, white sand. And yet others choose to be on our secluded, quiet marina side to sit on their private patio and watch the sunset, slowing being lulled into a relaxed state as the calm canal waters lap in and out. Both ways, we call it Island Seas and we want you to return to relax, rewind, and repeat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We take our 2 grandkids on an annual vacation with us. They always have experienced a very beautiful and efficient resorts in the Carribbean, Florida, California and Mexico. Our 11 and 12 year olds commented: "we don't like this place". There were no activities for kids, except the pool and limited beach area. As adults, we were very disappointed.!!! They originally assigned us a room that was a dump; and after raising hell, we were assigned a better room and location. Lots of guests had same complaints we experienced. Service at the restaurants absolutely terrible! There was very limited staff working in the restaurant & at the bar pool eatery. We always got the story "the kitchen got back up with lots of orders". After ordering our first meal, it took close to 45 minutes to get the food. Food service routinely SLOW!! They ran out of beach towels mid day. Again, other guests having same complaints. The on-line beach photos were no where near what the actual beach looked like. On-line beach photos were a total mis-representation of the beach area at the resort. The resort shuttle that drops off to grocery shop for 1 hour left me and some of the guests at the grocery store. They do not give enough time to grocery shop for a week's supplies. The shuttle only runs on Mondays so you have to get food for the week in one hour. Staff tries to accommodate as best they can. There is a big problem with how the management staff operates and trains staff to perform their duties; including better customer services. Some staff confidentially wanted guests to complain; hoping for changes at the resort. We would never recommend the resort to anyone.

Room Tip: Do your homework before you decide to book at this resort. It will save lots of disappointments and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We are so sorry you and your grandchildren did not enjoy our resort. Many children find our pool and beach very enjoyable and can spend hours and hours there every day. And for some, it takes a few days or longer to unwind, relax, and enjoy life without the constant noise and distractions that seem to bombard our youth today. As a courtesy service, we do go that extra step and drive our guests to the grocery store on Mondays. But of course you could always go back as necessary. We apologize that you felt you couldn't get your needs within the allotted hour, and we hope that you brought any concerns you had to our management staff for their attention. We hope you enjoy your next vacation location with your grandchildren.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We just got back from a week at Island Seas and we loved it. They were a little pushy trying to get you to sit in on a timeshare presentation but once you firmly say no (three times to two different people), there was not an issue.
The staff is lovely, a little reserved but very nice. We enjoyed both restaurants especially the buffet meal they had on Saturday night at the Seagrape. Very reasonable at $21.95 a person and great food. The drinks at happy hour were yummy especially the coconut sunset. Not very potent but yummy.
A little disappointed that the pool bar wasn't open the whole week but maybe because it is a shallow pool and used more by the kids than the adults although we used it a lot.
The beach is paradise; white sand, turquoise waters and just delightful. The first day it was very rocky on the beach but then Tropical Storm Arthur came through and cleaned the beach and it was lovely again, so maybe bring water shoes but after the storm they would not have been needed.
We originally stayed on the Marina side but wanted a two bedroom as our adult son was traveling with us so we paid to upgrade to a two bedroom and moved to the beach side. We personally liked it much better on the ocean side of the street and didn't have a problem with noise as some commented. We were in the Blue Marlin building overlooking the pool with an ocean view from the balcony.
You must walk down the beach to the left and try Bernie's Tiki hut. YUM...our best meal of the week. We had the grilled lobster tails and boy were they delish. And Chef Bernie is a hoot. What a nice man.
The complimentary shuttle into town was a nice perk and we used it several times during the week.
We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
What a pleasant review of your vacation week! As you probably noticed, our resort has quite a few areas being remodeled, and our pool bar is on the list! Interestingly enough, when the pool bar is open and serving yummy drinks, a lot more adults use it than the kids … I’m sure there’s a correlation there! We have experienced a few rough storms this summer, but our beach always seems so nice and clean after them. Glad you enjoyed the buffet meal; we are experimenting with our various restaurant events, and finding what our guests want and need is helpful! Get your son and come back to relax, rewind, and repeat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

The people who work there were really friendly. We got the option of being in a room that was beach front or marina front. We stayed in a marina front room.

We didn't have to leave the resort to go to the beach. We found locals who stewed fresh seafood right on the beach, and it was delicious.

Drinks were pretty good. The restaurants were expensive, but we enjoyed some cracked conch at the bar. My family are island folks so we ate a lot of fresh conch, so good!

Not sure how this happened but we were given 4 free tickets to go on a glass bottom boat tour. Definitely got a little sea sick, but it was a lot of fun feeding fish in the middle of the Caribbean, for free at that!

We met a cab driver named Tony who was amazing! He drove us around for the week. One day, he took us on a tour of the island, which ended with a trip to his house drinking fresh coconut water with his wife, children, and grandchildren. It does not get better than that. Loved Tony.

The one complaint I had was not a reflection on the resort, it was the price of everything in Freeport. What an expensive place!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your honesty and understanding of travel and marketing. Obtaining items (like food and drinks) for our guests incurs an additional fee since we order in smaller quantities and have to pay shipping to our small, tropical island. That’s the price all small islands pay … a small price for paradise! Many guests prefer our marina option since it is a bit more private and quiet. And yet others prefer to be close to our many pool and beach activities. We are glad you had a great week, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I stayed here June 14-21st. Upon arrival at 10:30am we knew our room would not be ready so we changed and hit the beach. We waited, waited and waited all the while being told "your room will be ready soon". After finally threatened to sell our timeshare we were given a room at 5pm.

The resort is in need of repair, the pool bar swim up is closed, bar is always open, however the drinks are metered and weak pours. There is only ONE grocery store free run on Monday, otherwise you are left to taking a cab which is $24 plus tip, just to go mid-week for things you may have run out of or need. My suggestion would be to offer a daily run to the grocery.

Towels - we received beach towels (4) the first day and never were provided any others for the whole trip. When we went to the beach towel kiosk, they were always out "but we will have some soon". They never did.

Beach trolls - they will harass you the entire trip to buy everything, even though you tell them no a thousand times. Sometimes this makes it hard to enjoy a quiet beach walk with your partner, friends or wife.

Shuttle to downtown - runs on the half hour and for returns - this is good but they can't seem to make a stop at the grocery store which is 5 min away - keeps you buying food at the restaurant I guess and I understand, but these are condo's for owners. Maybe we just want to cook in vs eating at your restaurant every night. Once you tour downtown the first time you've seen everything.

UNESCO - great dive and snorkeling trips, a top notch outfit, I would use them again.

Overall based on my week stay, I would look for some other resort but in Freeport there isn't much to choose from either. This is a timeshare that should be sold if you are an owner. The service was terrible.

Room Tip: Look somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
It is always difficult to please all our guests all the time. It appears you did not enjoy your week with us and we are sorry. We have so many wonderful assets at our resort; we are saddened that you did not enjoy your vacation time with your loved ones. We hope that you spoke to our management staff on our property so that adjustments could be made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I did my homework before we booked our time share here and it looked like it would be a great experience, it was at best ok. upon arrival we waited for our room ,they have no early checkin,,There is a hospitality room and the pool and beach to wait by which was fine. by the time we got to our room after 3hours waiting the floors were very dirty with more then one dead bug on the floor, be prepared to wear something on your feet in the rooms, the bathroom was not well kept, there were 4 towels in the room, no floor mat, hand towels or wash clothes, had to ask for all the above the air conditioner was very loud and rattled all the time due to not being mounted properly. The wifi on the marina side was poor,you have to be outside closest to the main building to get any services , after spending 140$ on wifi I got all my money back and had free wifi the rest of the time there., wifi service was good near the pool and main building..
the beach and pool were very nice, be prepared to not be able to get a towel for the beach...they were not available 4 out of the 7 times I needed one. After complaining to management I was very disappointed with the service.
food was at best ok ,not overly expensive ,but the market is a bit pricey. all activities have a fee.
the diving was excellent through Caribbean divers, and the dolphin swilm was wonderful. taxi runs about 25 a trip, be prepared to bargain, free shuttle was perfect. karaoke was fun as was the fish fry

Room Tip: beach or pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. It sounds like you and your group enjoyed the various available activities. Our island helps vacationers relax and unwind from the stresses of their lives; everything here is slower, no rushes, no worries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Seas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Seas Resort

Address: 123 Silver Point Dr, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Seas Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Island Seas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Seas Hotel Freeport
Island Seas Freeport
Island Seas Resort Freeport Bahamas
Island Seas Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Seas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.