We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel Experience Ever On Grand Bahama Island!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Seas Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Island Seas Resort to your Saves list
Island Seas Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   123 Silver Point Dr, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Freeport
Daytona Beach, Florida
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Best Hotel Experience Ever On Grand Bahama Island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My family and I had an opportunity to stay at Island Seas Resort last week. I must say that I have stayed at other resorts on previous trips. However, this trip was different! The staff made a difference! They were professional, courteous, friendly and very accommodating Chantell, the maid was pleasant with the most beautiful radiant smile that lit the entire room up! Manners like I have never seen during my many years of travelling to Grand Bahama! Nikki in reservations was extremely nice with my booking for a return visit as she convinced me to be here for summer jukanoo in July. Teasir and Edmond were all great! Staff can make an organization or break them/ I will return to Island Seas each year, not because the property is great and sits on a beautiful beach but because of the wonderful staff working there! I am telling all my family and friends about the wonderful people at Island Seas. Those of you reading this, when you want to feel and treated like royalty stay at Island Seas on Grand Bahama Island and request Chantell as your maid! I am in love with Island Seas, cant wait for July to return!

Room Tip: Stay on the marina side and request a room on the 3rd floor. For nature lovers the view is breath t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
We are so glad you and your family had a wonderful time at Island Seas. Our staff is the best because they really do care that our guests have a wonderful and relaxing vacation. We look forward to your summer visit and know that you will rewind, relax, and repeat with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    288
    214
    124
    154
See reviews for
255
270
19
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shamong, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We just returned from our vacation last week on a Interval International trade. We were very saddened to have to leave. We were skeptical to go to this property due to all of the negative comments. Our stay was Magnificent. We stayed in a 2 bedroom on the Marina side which was updated, with the exception of the master and LR TV, though it is so beautiful, we never turned the BR TV on. The beach is absolutely beautiful and the resort and most of the Island is exceptionally clean. It is expensive on the Island; recommend shopping at the local grocery store as well as local liquor stores. It is very relaxed, we met great people and had a fantastic time. The resort has Bingo, Jackie is hesterical, Karoke (great dancing) and then wonder down the beach to Bernie's for incredible Lobster!!!!! The resort is constantly updating and we very much look forward to returning. Thank you

Room Tip: They offer a free shuttle to town pretty much hourly. There is no ATM on site, one thing is to make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
We are so glad you and your family had a great time with us! We, too, feel our beach is beautiful and are glad you got to appreciate it’s beauty and calming effect. Our activities director is wonderful and she loves her job as she gets to meet wonderful guests and play with them for the week. We appreciate you taking the time to review our resort as our guests’ comments help us. Come back to RELAX, REWIND, and REPEAT!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This was our first time to the Bahamas and Island Seas.

If you are looking for a wild party spot this is not the place. However my husband and I just wanted to relax from our busy lives at home and we sure did.

Sharo was the best. She took care of all our needs. Can't wait for next year!

Room Tip: Next time we will go across on the Marina side it is more tranquil there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your review. And you’re right: our resort’s goal is to provide the perfect haven for our guests to relax and rewind. Now the third part of our motto is “return” so we can’t wait to see you again! The marina side is very relaxing and many of our guests enjoy sitting on their balconies and watching the various boats travel through the canal. See you soon as you RELAX, REWIND, and REPEAT!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willis, Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Island Seas Resort was our destination last year and we truly enjoyed the stay there, but new owners have taken over and the list of unsightly changes are long.
Trash all over in the AM from partyers ,rolling, noisy garbage barrels across the pool deck all day long, and moving in and out of deck chairs with folks sunbathing. bumping into the chairs, with workers glaring at the visitors.
Dirty beach-front with oily sea weed chunks along the shoreline, they have really gone down hill in the last yr. In the evening the beach front smelled like sulfur and the oily chunks came rolling in with the tide. Smelly ordeal for sure.
Security is still extremely good on the beach though and thank goodness for that, because there are illegal peddlers, everywhere on the shore line, but the security keeps them in check.
The absence of towels for days at a time were very annoying, for the beach and our room.
A/c did not work in unit living room.
Not enough deck chairs for the beach or pool, old folks forced to get up and down from towels used on the ground...Just awful...
Although I sang their praises from last years trip, they are under a new owner and the love is just not there.
There were children blocking the way to the hot tub and jumping in and out of it, all after it is posted, that no children without a parent are allowed...
Greasy hair types in the pool and hot tub, you could see it on top of the water. The large pool was filthy on the bottom too.
The housekeeping department was the best ever !!! They are so sweet and polite and do such a nice job on the rooms. They are friendly, helpful and their appearance is meticulous.
The worst part ever.... The bartender's of the "Coconuts Bar", in the middle of the complex, was pouring "air" into the drinks of people during the "happy hour"...I saw with my own eyes. I watched as they added water instead of alcohol too. Bartender Tory, was the biggest offender. They serve you the drinks in super flimsy plastic cups and they get blown over by the ever present breeze and they never clean-up the bar top....The Coconuts Bar area stunk like garbage and trash also. They left all the un-eaten food from the night before to lay on the tables with the styrafoam plates everywhere. It just encouraged the birds to feed under the thatch roof.
PS, the garbage barrel pushers, should be made to use the outer side walk for their route to the dumpsters.

Never ever will we ever go back, nor recommend it. Sad for all who have pre-paid for their stays.

Room Tip: I will not recommend any room at all. Stay away...I will not share my name on FB, so as not to appea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
We are so sorry you had a bad experience at our resort. We appreciate your comments and will look into making improvements where necessary. We agree that adding pool chairs around the pool is necessary as our pool gets a lot of use from all our guests. Our hot tub is for all our guests but children do need to be accompanied by an adult. If our security did not notice, please help us next time and inform our guard as the safety of our guests is so important to us. We hope you change your mind and come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This was my third time at the resort and was so excited when I read that they were updating the rooms. To my disappointment the rooms are in the worst shape ever very dirty the floors were filthy and everything you touched was sticky. Staff doesn't care at all and our room got missed for cleaning. Very lazy staff. The beds are not comfy at all and it looked like someone had a huge party in the room and things are broken. I'm not interested in timeshares and they practically shove it down your throat as you are checking into the resort & someones martial status is really none of there concern. For them to say to us that they hope that they don't hear that you are looking at another property is uncalled for. Stay away from Coconuts we waited for our lunch for over 1 hour and when our food showed up it was cold. When you told them they just look at you with no response.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
We are so sorry you had a bad experience at our resort. We can only assume our resort was completely booked during your visit and you must have had one of the rooms still waiting to be refurbished. We are baffled about your comment that our staff is lazy … we never hear that. In fact, we pride ourselves on customer service. Not sure what “things are broken” refers to either. Hopefully you called our Maintenance Department for assistance. Again, we regret that this wasn’t your favorite vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelsea,me
Top Contributor
371 reviews 371 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

this is my 14th winter in the grand Bahamas , Island seas has done and still working on improvements . new washer and microwave . new tile floors , new gym and coffee shop in the works , the staff is still great betty ,timey ,and nickey are great they go out of their way to make sure your happy , the free shuttle is a nice touch . the tours are not theirs so I would try else wares smilling pat has nice tours for a good price call 2425332946 and set up a tour . the only draw back no free wifi 49 to 69 dollars a week

Room Tip: pay to be on ocean side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
We love our repeat guests!!! Thank you for continuing to visit us and choosing our resort to relax and rewind. You’re right; we are working hard to make our resort the best in the Freeport. Our coffee shop and gym will be opening soon so start making your plans to come back. We love hearing that our staff continues to please our guests… customer service is a high priority here. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a much needed vacation at the Island Seas Resort.

We had a very relaxing stay. Our unit was directly on the beach.

Contrary to the reviews everything was perfect, down to the Valentines day surpise from our room attendant Sharo (she's awesome).

We will be back and bring our kids in the Summer.

Room Tip: If you want privacy go across the street. If you want to be in the hub ocean view is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your review. We love hearing that our guests were able to relax while with us. And we can’t wait to meet your kids! They will love spending time in our pool and playing in the ocean. And our social director has many activities for the kids (as well as for the adults). So, we look forward to your summer visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Seas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Seas Resort

Address: 123 Silver Point Dr, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Seas Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Island Seas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Seas Hotel Freeport
Island Seas Freeport
Island Seas Resort Freeport Bahamas
Island Seas Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Seas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.