We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Activities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Seas Resort

Save Saved
You added Island Seas Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Island Seas Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   123 Silver Point Dr, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SAVE 30% ON YOUR STAY!
Ranked #7 of 18 hotels in Freeport
Ocean, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Activities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Can someone please respond as to whether activities such as jet skiing, snorkeling, and horseback riding are available and easy to book at Island Seas Resort? The website says that they are, but many reviewers have written that there is not much to do at the resort. We're traveling with four boys, ages 10 to 16 and we want to make sure there is plenty to keep them occupied before we confirm our reservations. Thanks so much!
:-) Laura

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    269
    187
    117
    142
See reviews for
230
235
18
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coal Valley, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were there 10/27 thru 11/3 2013 Absoultely beautifu weather. Mid 80. Old average area. but They did everything possible to present it. Was painted to maintain a clean look, The landscaping was very well maintained and very nice. Would have to been on Beach front, but we had a good view anyway. was on 3 rd floor and could look out over the pool and onto the beach. Room was an average room, the furnishings were very outdated and in dire need of replacement. The Bed was as hard as sleeping on the floor. Husband and I took turns sleeping half night on couch and the other half on bed. The couch was not that great either for sleeping, cushions wore down badly, but at least had some softness to them. The floor was all tile which is o.k. I have tile at home, but I can walk barefoot at home and my feet stayed white did not turn black, there was sand build up along the floor and wall and corners where they meet. A shop vac once in a while would work wonders. Bare essentials in kitchen, but good enough to make do. We loved the fact that when you would go to your room the stairs that led to your room led to yours and one other. There were no long halls with adjoining doors, hence there was no traffic running by the doors at all hours. However the stairs have not seen soap and water in ages. Were really bad, several places looked like left over areas where someone lost their dinner and it just dried there. Stove and refrigerator in very good condition, dishwahser not so, it was a cheap model very flimsy and LOUD. Had to get a replacement coffee pot right away, it was broke, and the second one which we had to call about two time was also broke. Finally the third one worked. I was very surprised they were changing towels often, other resorts will do once a week, they were willing to do everyday if you wanted. We did not towels that often, they took them one day and never came back with any until we had to call late at night when we wanted to shower. So we kept the same ones for the last 3 days. Get ready for price sticker shock. The resort takes you to the grocery store once a week on Monday, it you need something else you will need to find a way. TAXI, be careful there, it cost 25 dollars to take a taxi from airport. so if you go to store plan on adding 50 bucks to you shopping trip. they have convient store on property, convient if you need something convient they take your money. I realize they have to pay import fees but things are marked up so high its unreal. Grocery store prices are twice or three times as much in U.S. . If you drink coffee, tea need sugar or creamer, salt or pepper other spices, throw them in your suitcase when you pack. We always take small items like that, dont forget the coffee filters, Most resorts supply at least a couple to get you started, not here. they will sell you enough for the week at the convience store for an arm and leg. Resort is isolated somewhat but they do provide tansportation to St Lucaya several times a day which we were thankful for. Wifi is 70 bucks a week. Food average in Restaurant. The staff was very friendly and helpful more than willing to please and we felt they are so sincere about the way they greeted and cared for people. We found that with all the people we encountered, Our week there was an exchange, and they did have us attend a presentation on owning there, but we got half way through the presentation and did not do the tour or finish the presentation, was not somewhere we wanted to own.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Marketing Employee at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
We are glad you came to resort and sincerely hope you’ll come back to see all our renovations! We are replacing the furniture and the appliances which now make your time indoors here as wonderful as the time you spend outdoors! Our Activity Director provides many fun and exciting opportunities, including our outdoor nighttime movie night! We are glad our staff was helpful and caring….we are all here to help your vacation be relaxing and memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I was there 10/26 thru 11/2 on a time share exchange. I would go back. We had a 2 BR unit reserved, but traded it for a 1 BR beachfront unit. Left the windows open all week--perfect weather in the mid 80s and sunny. The resort was very good overall. Units could use some cosmetic work. Wifi is $70/week, but didn't work in our unit so had to go elsewhere on the property to use it. Beach is beautiful, outside bar is good. Food is average in the restaurant--go elsewhere. Try Chef Bernie's cook shack down the beach--expensive but good. A car is a must since nothing is within a mile or more. Taxis will cost you a lot. Everything in the Bahamas is very expensive--beer is $45/case, groceries are 2 to 3 times the cost in the US.

Room Tip: Only 1 BR units are near the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

average hotel for the bahamas - beachfront access, pool, hot tub, games in bar.. coconuts bar is awesome - one bad point - metered drinks.. yeah it sucks, but it's kinda everywhere on the island (it was at rum runners too, read my review on that place too).. happy hour is 4-6 and drinks are 2 for 1, you can ask for it on the rocks if you don't want a pina colada style drink.. excellent beach, sand is so soft, and peaceful/relaxing.. spent a lot of time there.. these guys are nazi's about their towels..!! if you "rent" one from the hut near the beach and don't return it by 5pm, they charge you 10$.. on that note, you have to wear a wrist bracelet while staying here.. can't say i really understand this practice, but every hotel on the island does it.. i say it labels you, because every time resort peddler knows where you're staying and probably what day you got there just by the color of your wristband.. sucks..!! room service was average - asked for a coffeemaker, as one was not in the room, but never received it.. maid service was ok, got fresh towels everyday.. probably won't stay here again, though..

Room Tip: marina rooms are across the street, no big deal to walk across for beach access..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Marketing Employee at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
The management at Island Seas appreciates your time with this review because it lets us know what we need to do to improve and make your vacation the best it can be. We are glad you enjoyed the beach…. Our crystal blue water and warm, soft sand is very relaxing. We apologize about the coffee maker … our rooms should all have one in them. The wristbands help our staff, whether it be the security guards, activity directors, or sales personnel, to identify our customers and anticipate their needs. We do not want to bother individuals with repetitive questions and these bands save time and let our visitors relax while having their needs met. We hope you come back and let us help you relax, rewind, and repeat your vacation with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Maine, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Fantastic beach and location. The room needed updating and the day before we left a new dishwasher, stove and microwave were installed. I'd highly recommend a day trip with HIDA at hida@experiencegrandbahamaisland.com! We wish we had done this earlier in our week to get local info and the lay of the land so to speak. Bahamians are some of the most friendly people on earth. Hopefully the economy will improve for them to allow more updates at the resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Marketing Employee at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your visit! You’re right… Bahamians are very friendly and love tourists. Our beach is perfect for relaxing, walking, playing in the sand, or enjoying some of the adventurous water sports which are offered, too. And the sunsets are unforgettable! We also agree that updates to the rooms are necessary. We are currently underway (as the arrival of your appliances demonstrates) a major renovation and we look forward to your return so that you can enjoy our updated rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

travelled in October with my daughter and two small children,1year and 5years.had a great time had two rooms 1 bedroom units with kitchen and living area.it was across street from beach however when we opened the blinds there was a waterway that fed off the ocean,and a yacht sat outside our window.the grounds are really nice the beach is just beautiful white sands and warm blue water.the pool really nice really large has a bridge going over it and a waterfall that gives a great back massage.they had a swim up bar,but it wasn't in use when we were there.the staff at the front desk and as u enter the lobby were all so friendly and so nice.they have a laundrymat there which was great,a small convenience store which is privately owned a restaurant inside and out.and a bar.the food was good however service not so good at the restaurants.very slow and not that attentive even though they tack on a 15percent tip.there is on the beach a family that cooks fish and lobsters fresh and has picnic tables,we didn't go but did talk to other people who raved about it.the rooms were very clean and very large.i would definetly go back ..also they have a shuttle that goes every hour to the center of town and once a week they have a supermarket run.

Room Tip: if possible depending on what u prefer either ocean view or across the street were the ocean inlet w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We knew this was an older resort and we didn't pay Club Med prices so we were very happy that we got good value for our money. Our unit had granite counter tops and nice tile floors. The beach is awesome, crystal clear water. Pool is nice and clean. Comfortable bed. We found the service to be excellent. Our check-in person was Trenetta. I arrived in the midst of a severe allergic reaction to something and she called several times to check on me. Although this is not a hotel and you do not have daily maid service, our housekeepers, Debra and Tonya, came every day and changed our towels, took out our garbage, etc. Very nice women.

You are supplied with toilet paper, dishwashing liquid, dishwasher detergent, shampoo, soap , and body lotion. They give you a first night pack of coffee, tea, filters, etc. You need to bring or buy EVERYTHING else. You need to plan on eating out, paying for a taxi which is not cheap, about $40 round trip to the supermarket, or using their convenience store if you arrive before the free trip to the grocery store on Mondays. It is pretty well stocked but has no produce at all. Some of the prices are shocking....a bottle of garlic salt was over $7. We payed $8.50 for a 48 oz. can of orange juice, but for $3 you got a carton of eggs, which is not too bad. The supermarket, Soloman's is cheaper, but still more than home. There are 2 women that work in the convenience store, one is very nice. The tall one is not. Not even a hello or thank you. The only rude person we encountered.

We ate at Coconuts Bar. We had hamburgers and blackened chicken sandwiches with french fries. (Both $9.99) The food was good. Service was "island" time but friendly. If you like a drink, buy it at the airport. We had a drink at the bar and the folks that mention the "measuring device" were not kidding. The weakest drink we have ever had. The owners have shot themselves in the feet as the bar is mostly empty. The bartenders were very pleasant. There is nothing they can do, and tipping them won't help as it is not their choice. The cheapest drink on the menu, a screwdriver, was $5.50. It appears to me 1/2 oz of vodka in a small plastic cub of juice. MAYBE an ounce, but no more. The local beer is $5. You can walk to the right on the beach and get a good drink at Gina's. The local rum, Ricardo's is good. FYI, a litre at the airport was $8.70. The same at the liquor store by Soloman's was $14.50.

We were offered marijuana several times by a young man who hawks one of the food stands on the beach. As we are in our 60's, that seems kind of dumb. Just say no, no problem.

Our garbage disposal backed up and was promptly fixed.

If you plan to cook, check carefully when you arrive. I had no coffee maker but TWO MICROWAVES! I had nice quality cookware but no frying pan. They promptly supplied me.

I am a super early riser and I saw security walking around in the wee hours. I felt perfectly safe. Please note there are no elevators.

Internet is fine sometimes and very slow at others. I paid the $70 and found that early evening is the worst time.

All-in-all. We enjoyed this and would return.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room across the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Seas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Seas Resort

Address: 123 Silver Point Dr, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island Seas Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Island Seas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Seas Hotel Freeport
Island Seas Freeport
Island Seas Resort Freeport Bahamas
Island Seas Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Seas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.