We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to be” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Seas Resort

Save Saved
You added Island Seas Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Island Seas Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   123 Silver Point Dr, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SAVE 30% ON YOUR STAY!
Ranked #7 of 18 hotels in Freeport
Orange, NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice place to be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I've owned a timeshare at this location since 2001. I really enjoy returning to this location because it feels like coming home.

It sits right on the ocean and provides many water activities. The staff is friendly and personable. The units are well maintained and they provide owners a free 1 day grocery store transportation service.

While they provide on-site entertainment during the week, it's more a players choice to join in. It would be nice to have the staff more involved with encouraging participation.

It's a great location for families, friends and couples. Solos will enjoy the same experience as you can do as much or as little as you choose and still enjoy being in paradise.

Room Tip: Cars are not necessary as they organize daily shuttles to the tourist areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    269
    186
    117
    142
See reviews for
229
235
18
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Haven, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is my 17 years going to Island Seas Resort and i always enjoy the Friends and all so kind to help you to enjoy our stay at Island Seas The Food are so good and all of the services on the beach is so great. The rooms are always clean and smell great.
I higly recommed This place to any who like a peacefully

Room Tip: all of the rooms are good and safe
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Our week at the Island Sees Resort was ok. Enough towels. Very nice beach (in comparison to other beaches on the island). Very nice grounds, actually better than the units. We had a unit with a nice view but none of the appliances worked properly. The toaster only toasted one side of the bread; the dishwasher worked only once (after maintenance man came), then died again; the free wifi never worked; the paid wifi worked at prehistoric speed and with many lapses. The toilet needed several maintenance visits, the refrigerator made helicopter-like noises at a certain time at night. There were not enough dishes and pans. The staff was very friendly and helpful but there was only so much they could do. The meals at the restaurant very supersized and not very tasty. The smaller dishes at the bar were good. The tennis court was a disaster. The constant taxi fare of $22 (for 4) was getting costly and then the incessant requests for tips were annoying. The whole island needs a huge infusion of money to resurrect itself from decaying. The resort needs money to reinvent itself. It has huge potential but lacks a lot of TLC.
We had traded into this resort and were a little disappointed.

Room Tip: Best view is from higher floor. Stay in the main part of the resort, not across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Marketing Employee at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your review as this allows us to reinforce our strong qualities and make improvements where necessary. We apologize for your experience with our appliances. We are in the process of a million dollar renovation at Island Seas. New appliances for the units have been ordered and many have already been installed. We also are replacing some of the furniture and we appreciate your patience as we go through the units with our remodeling. Our evening activities are drawing large crowds and you might enjoy watching a movie poolside or joining in with our karaoke fans. We will give our tennis courts more attention and make sure they get blown off on a daily basis. We look forward to showing off the improvements at Island Seas when you return. Thank you again for your input, and please come back to relax and rewind with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanata, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I spent 6 days at the Island Seas Resort (1 to 6 Sep 13). The room we stayed in overlooked the beach and ocean, very nice view. The water was so warm and clear that we snorkeled for hours. We saw hundreds of different type and size of fish, lobsters, crabs, sting ray etc. The room was very clean, good size and very comfortable. I am not sure what is the expectation of the people in a small resort like Island Seas. Many people found the food of poor quality. However, my wife and I had 1 dinner and 2 lunches at the Sea Grapes Grill on the resort and we found that the food was fantastic. I had the sea platter which consisted of shrimps and conch with fries and this meal was delicious. My wife had Fettuccine Alfredo that night and there was enough food to feed 4 people. For lunch we had a croissant with chicken salad, nachos (my wife loved them so much) and a club sandwich. I found that they gave a very generous portion of their food. Nothing is cheap as this is the Bahamas. The staff were extremely nice and helpful. We had no problems whatsoever with the beach towels as per some of the review below. We rented a car for 3 days and drove around the island. We drove to Gold Rock beach where they filmed Pirates of the Caribbean 2 and 3, wonderful beach. We had a great time and would recommend this resort to anyone. Best time I believe to be on vacation is early September as most resorts are empty and kids are back to school.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I was kind of apprehensive when I read the reviews. Once I got there I was happy to see that the grounds were immaculate. The room we got overlooked the beach which was a nice view. It is a little on the older side compared to other resorts I had been to but it was nice none the less. We really didn't have any issues and my stay was very pleasant. the employees were very nice

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Well, this was an experience.

My cousins had purchased a timeshare at the Island Seas Resort and we decided to go and spend a week there. We left Fort Lauderdale on the fast ferry, "Balearia", on our way to Freeport Bahama's. Its suppose to be a quick 3 hour trip but when 75% of the ferry is sea sick, it kinda makes for a long trip. The crew was doing its best to hand out barf bags as quick as they can but it was a futile effort. Lets just sum it up as an extremely messy boat ride.

We arrived in Freeport on time and waited for our taxi to pick us up to take us to our Resort. Our taxi arrived and, well, it looked like something they had dragged out of a local junk yard. The seat belts had their ends cut off, the doors opened by pulling on a cable sticking out a hole in the door and when we drove down the road the metal roof flopped up and down so much, it sounded like someone was jumping it.

We pulled in to our resort and it looked quite nice. It took a bit to get our rooms because they were not ready yet. Once they were ready we asked for a luggage dolly but were told that only the staff was allowed to use them and they expect to be compensated. We got to our room and it was fairly run down. All the fixtures in the bathroom were rusty, the toilet had been installed wrong and was on a very noticeable slope to one side, the floor in the doorway to the master bedroom had buckled so bad that the tiles had broke and the door would not close.

But hey, we are in the Bahama's...we don't spend our days in our rooms.

The grounds were pretty nice and the private beach was very accommodating. While we were there we rented jet ski's, which were a lot of fun but cost $75 each for a half hour. We also went on a scuba charter which we were told is only $99 each, but unless you come with all your scuba gear, they charge you extra for your mask, regs, BCD, fins...everything. What should have cost us under $300, ended up costing over $550. I was quite shocked to see that all the coral out front of our resort was colorless, kinda like it was all dead. The charter picked us up at our resort, but after our charter and forking over a $20 tip...he left us standing out front of his dive shop and made us walk the mile back to our Resort.

Coconuts, which is the poolside bar, is great at 6pm. I can still taste those adult slushy drinks. Mmmmmm. 2 for $6, you can't beat that.

The onsite restaurant was below average, but if you want to take advantage of your in room kitchen, you will need to shuttle to the grocery store, which isn't so bad, but makes you a little nervous when you see an armed guard standing at the exit of the store. If you are going to take a cab, be sure to pre-arrange a price before you get in. Do not make the same mistake I made and trust the cabby when he says..."No worries man, I take good care of you." a quick cab ride ended up costing me $60....thanks Bernie.

In its time, I bet that the Island Seas was a great place, but as times change so has the status of the location of the Island Seas. We travelled down Millionaire Row, which is suppose to be where all the big mansions are suppose to be. The mansions are still there but they are all boarded up and the grass is overgrown with cars up on blocks. Almost looked like a getto with fancy houses.

All in all...the trip was ok because of the beach. Next time we will book something 15 minutes further up the island.

About a month ago, I received a call from Island Seas saying that they were so sorry for the problems that we encountered while on our vacation and would like to make it up to us. I thought maybe they were going to give us a free stay or maybe a free cruise. Nope. They offered us a timeshare tour for only $298 for one week. Uummm, no thanks.

Room Tip: Bring lots of small bills to fill all those hands that are thrust towards you. Book an owners suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here last week and I was a little disappointed. I had read the reviews about the lack of beach/pool towels and they were not kidding. It wasn't even a busy time when we had gone. I would have to say, even more than that, it was just so remote. There was literally noting else around this resort. No restaurants, shopping centers,etc. Nothing. We were brought by shuttle the monday after we arrived to the market but that was the one and only time. The free shuttle to Port Lucaya helped but it was just a bunch of hut owners trying to peddle their wears and it was overwhelming. There were two on site eateries but one was only open for breakfast and dinner and the other for lunch. Service was slow, island time maybe, and so if you're hungry don't wait til the last minute. Food was decent. The one saving grace I would have to say was the beach. It really was lovely and the pool was ok. Don't meander too far down the beach cause the locals want to know if you like to party, and they do mean 'party'. Would honestly never go back to this resort

Room Tip: rooms on the beach side have amazing views but not too cooperative in getting these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Seas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Seas Resort

Address: 123 Silver Point Dr, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island Seas Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Island Seas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Seas Hotel Freeport
Island Seas Freeport
Island Seas Resort Freeport Bahamas
Island Seas Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Seas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.