We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bugs - traumatic experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina

Save Saved
You added Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jolly Rodger Drive, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 hotels in Freeport
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bed bugs - traumatic experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

We checked into room 304. On the first night we awoke to being attacked and eaten by at least 50 bedbugs on us. The sheets were covered in blood from the ones we had crushed in our sleep. The staff was good in providing us an immediate alternate room, room 310, but we could not sleep, the damage was done. I took several pictures of the bed and the bugs scurrying back to their hiding spot.

The staff sent us to another building the next day and we did not have any more problems, however the bed was covered in plastic, which indicates to me that there may have been problems or their way of trying to prevent the bugs.

I took pictures of the exterminator service that arrived the next day. We had to launder all of our clothes and disinfect our bags. Our bodies were covered in bites and ruined the entire vacation. Don't take the chance......

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    36
    29
    28
    14
See reviews for
15
55
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic, Mexico
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

No much around this area. Must take a taxi or the ferry ($5 rt pp) to port Lucaya. Hotel rooms are not clean. In need of repairs. The shower faucet came out of the wall when I went to turn on. Fridge did not come on at all. Polyester basic bedding. Beach is convenient across the street. Had a "When Harry met Sally" déjà vu when the neighbors next door decided to enjoy each other’s company. Thin walls- or loud woman? Not sure. If you would just like a bed and shower for cheap this is it. The "Lucaya Market" is not a market. It is a cruise ship area with duty free shops and places to eat and drink. Cruise ship days are busy there. If you don’t enjoy seeing obese Americans and their obese children in bathing suits then maybe Grand Bahamas is not for you. Nice beaches and crystal blue water otherwise.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

Overall, we loved the bahamas! The Flamingo....well it was okay. If you just want a place to sleep and shower it is wonderful. If you are looking for anything else...go somewhere else. The room was clean, staff was nice, convenient to the ferry and had internet in the lounge (didn't come in, in our room). The facility across the street (timeshares) has alot to offer and you are able to use any of their ammenities. There is a nice pool (lazy river), hot tub, waterslide and swim up bar. The beach is quite private and we had no problems getting chairs, towels ask early they run out quickly. The food available was good. Port Lucuya was alot of fun, good bars and food. Our favorite was Rum Runners and the Irish Rest. Shenighans (?). We did several activities such as wave runners (our favorite), booze cruise (also good), fishing, scooters, & casino (not a good gambler i am told). At the information desk Crystal was very helpful. Again, the hotel was ok and would we stay there again, maybe...maybe not. We went with another couple and I guess you make your own fun and take the good with the bad.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

Stayed for two nights in Feb. 2010. Place was pretty quiet. The rooms were as pictured online. The pool and beach area was very clean and I saw workers picking up falled leaves and debris quite frequently.

Ferry to Port Lucaya leaves from right behind the hotel, had no problems with them. The resturant onsite wasn't too bad, a little pricy but not horrible. Food was good and overlooks the beach, really nice at night.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

We stayed in this hotel during the last days of 2009. The room, -especially the bathroom area- was old and ugly. The towels and bedding were dirty. The staff have no idea that you are on vacation so they start knocking doors for towels (and talk really loudly) before 8am. Boats come and leave at early hours, wake you up. The hotel is located close to Taino beach, that is a beautiful beach. The pool area is nice, too. The problem is, hotel is far away from the marketplace and there is nothing to do or eat around the hotel. For breakfast, lunch, dinner and entertainment; you have to go to marketplace. The only way is taking the ferry that arrives once an hour -if you miss one, have to wait one more hour-, and it costs 5$ per person. If you are a couple and go to marketplace twice a day, it costs 20$. My suggestion is, pay 20$ more to the hotel, and stay in somewhere cleaner and closer.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

The room is clean, and air conditioning works great. Ask for the marinia view. There is a surcharge of $15 per night per person in addition to room rates. Great pool at the resort across the street. Bathroom is dated with fiberglass fixtures. Make sure to get the $75.00 per night rate. Small television, but reliable cable. Beds are a little more firm. Nice kitchenette. Grocery stores are more expensive than states. Rent a car before arriving to ensure a better rate. You can save 20 dollars plus per day by doing this. The beach is nice and not crowded by any means. I did not eat at the resturant at all. There are many places to eat if you have a car. Port Lucya can be pricey, so shop the menus and daily specials at the eating places. Becky's a local rest in town was really good. Beer is expensive. They do make you wear a braclet that is annoying. I don't feel that I should been to made wear something on my wrist. I had no contact with anyone trying to sell me a time share. The rooms in this hotel are all connecting in the kitchen area. If you have a neighbor noise is to be expected. You can actually hear your neighbor talking, coughing, etc... If you have your a/c running it drowns most out. Take the boat over to Port Lucaya at least once. The night boat ride offers great views on the water. The housekeeping service was good. They do seem to clean the rooms of the guest that have checked out first. My room was usually cleaned around 2 pm or so. If you have a rental car plenty of parking at no charge. Very quiet area over all. Tile flooring. Ikea furniture. Some plates and dishes in kitchenette. Ice machines were out of order %80 of the time. You will have to walk across the street to the maching at the Time Share to get ice. Internet service with two computers on the grounds. Wi-fi is available. So if you have a lap top bring it. This is located across the street. The grounds could be more maintained across the street. The pool decking is larger pavers with some type of over growth of grass. If you want to use the lazy river bring your own float etc. Only one hot tub for the whole complex. I did not use it as at night it was always crowded. There is 24/7 security guards in check points right across the street. Sometimes they were asleep on the job. Other times they were making security checks. If your use to your room being really secure while you are out don't plan on it at this hotel. The dead bolt locks only work from the inside. You can not lock them from the outside with a key. I feel that anyone could use a credit card to open the door. The desk clerk stated, "We have not had any break-ins." I feel since there is no safe in the room at the least the dead bolt should work while I am out of my room. Who is to say that some other guest would not enter your room? The water pressure in the shower was excellent. Always had hot water. You can sign for beach / pool towels over close to the pool area. The crime rate is low on the island. I did feel very safe. Very laid back place.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Tree
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

I will be brief so I do not waste any more time with this hotel. The rooms are outdated, moldy and my feet were black after walking around. I almost missed by flight because the front desk did not call me a cab, as promised. Pool at the other hotel has a layer of suntan oil in the pool. One restauarant within walking distance...otherwise $5 per person. To say the staff is rude is an understatement. RUDE RUDE STAFF. Bad rooms. Don't stay!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina

Address: Jolly Rodger Drive, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 hotels in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flamingo Bay Hotel, adorned by the beautiful emerald green Bell Channel Waterway, is part of three Taino Beach Resort & Clubs properties on Grand Bahama Island. Guests enjoy full use of the largest pool on the island, beach and business center with free WiFi in the lobby. It is a reasonably priced alternative to the larger resorts. Standard features include king rooms and two full size beds in double rooms with small kitchenettes. Full service Marina offering 25 dockage slips. Beauty Salon , Convenience Store, Laundry, Ocean Front Restaurant & Watersport Activity Center on site.A unique & scenic water taxi ride away from Port Lucaya Marketplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Bay Hotel And Marina
Flamingo Bay Yacht Hotel Marina
Flamingo Bay Yacht Club
Flamingo Bay Resort Bahamas
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.