We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, too short, stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jolly Rodger Drive, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Freeport
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing, too short, stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Just got back from an amazing weekend with two friends on the Grand Bahama island. We took the Balearia Express Ferry and from the harbour the hotel was 15 minutes away. The hotel was small and on the outside nothing special, but the views from the back rooms, overseeing the harbour, and the surrounding area is really nice. You can use the facilities of the Taino Beach Resort on the other side of the street: restaurant, amazing, big pool and beach access with chairs, tables and umbrellas. Service was amazing, people are very friendly and the rooms were good. Definitely worth the money!
Water taxi takes you to Port Lucaya in 5 min. for $6 round trip.The island on its own is not very interesing/pretty quiet. The Port Lucaya market place has shops, but both times we went there it was all closed (saturday evening and sunday afternoon). Area is nice though and lots of different restaurants to choose from. A nice place for a long weekend to just chill or participate in some watersport activities.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    36
    32
    28
    15
See reviews for
15
57
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
VA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Hotel was okay. They did not find our reservation when we checked in even though i had my confirmation and they were slow, almost lazy, about getting it fixed. But we came back at 4pm and they had a room for us. it had a small kitchenette, nice bathroom with warm water but the water did not drain well. The phone did not work too. The beds were small but good, it was pretty clean. The pool was great, the slide is awesome!! The beach is peaceful and nice as long as it has not been raining there will be no seaweed. The food at the restaurant is expensive and not great and again service is not all that great but i think that is the laid back Bahamas way. The boat ride over to the Marketplace was good but note that it only leaves once an hour on the hour. We did not know that when the lady sold us the ticket so we had to wait 40 min. I would recommend it for anyone that is budget conscious and not looking for a 5 star.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We did not have a great experience at this hotel. The staff were very friendly, however, it was a marginal hotel. The rooms are dirty; we did not receive room service on one of the days and the housekeeping staff do not have brooms or mops on their carts - the floors were never cleaned throughout the 4 days we were there. There was 1 out of 3 ice machines working and it was leaking on the stone corridor leading to the stairs which was dangerous; I actually saw a man slip down the stone stairs. There was a small kitchen, however, they only had decaf coffee and we had to ask for creamer and sugar rather than it being left on a daily basis. The website advertises "free internet", however, that is only in the lobby. They turned off the water for several hours on one of the days, which they knew they were going to do, but did not inform the guests so we could plan accordingly.

Overall, although they claim tourism is their major industry, we did not find the service at the same level as we have on other Caribbean islands. We experienced much "broken" or "not working". The island is beautiful and the people are very friendly but, unfortunately, we would not return to this island.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Upon reading reviews the whole ride to Rivera beach fl..me and my fiance were kinda skeptical about staying here..but we won the cruise and it was all paid for so we said what the heck!!..gave it a shot!!..and boy were we surprised..The front desk clerk was AWESOME!!!..her name was Amanda she was a lot of help..The room was spotless!!!!..The kitchenette came in handy BIG time!!!!..The bed was AMAZINGLY comfortable!!!..I mean it's not a 5 star hotel but it's younique in its own way..The pool was so COOL!!!..that's where me and fiance spent most of our time..lol..The Taino beach was AWESOME!!!!!..If you do decide to stay here make sure you go to the beach and pool the slide is AWESOME!!!!!..Taino beach has all kinds of cool water activities to do..like banana boat, glass bottom boat tours, and jet ski rentals..kinda pricey but well worth it..There is a ferry available to take you to and from the hotel to lucyan for $6 round trip..that's where all the shops and majority of the restaurants are..Overall I was VERY pleased with my experience!!!..definitely will be back!!!!..they do not have a elevator so you have to carry your luggage but ain't nothing wrong with a little exercise in ya life!!!!..lol..I had a BLAST!!!..plus it wasn't like me and my fiance were BALLING out of control!!!..reasonable prices for great service..CHECK THEM OUT!!!!..NEVER MIND all the fuss with these review experience yourself..then you be the judge!!!!!..

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Am I the only one that doesn't go on vacation and stay in my hotel? My family and I went last June, and are going back in a week. The staff was friendly, answered any questions and were willing to help. My room was more than clean, was immaculate! As long as my bed sheets are clean, and the room is clean I am fine. All I plan on doing is showering and sleeping in my room. The rest of the time I want to be out and about. Pool was awesome, and everything I would like for a vacation. When needing a taxi driver I HIGHLY recommend Limpy. I would never ask anyone else, my family and I have already contacted him to pick us up from the ship and take us everywhere we need to go before arriving at the hotel. In other words people, don't go on vacation and worry about being in your room! But enjoy, you're in the Bahamas!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Very Nice Getaway ! We take the Discovery Cruise one way from Port everglades for $79 each and Stay 4 nights all inclusive for $199 with no need for a car or extra expenses ! Nice snorkeling ! Great shopping and attractions near by =)

Room Tip: we spent less than $500 total and had an amazing getaway from Florida =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed here for Memorial Day weekend and had a great experience. Great price for room and slip combo, for boaters to come from South Florida and fish for the weekend. Clean, comfortable rooms. Staff was courteous and helpful. Lots of amenities to keep the wives happy. Would stay there again next time we visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina

Address: Jolly Rodger Drive, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flamingo Bay Hotel, adorned by the beautiful emerald green Bell Channel Waterway, is part of three Taino Beach Resort & Clubs properties on Grand Bahama Island. Guests enjoy full use of the largest pool on the island, beach and business center with free WiFi in the lobby. It is a reasonably priced alternative to the larger resorts. Standard features include king rooms and two full size beds in double rooms with small kitchenettes. Full service Marina offering 25 dockage slips. Beauty Salon , Convenience Store, Laundry, Ocean Front Restaurant & Watersport Activity Center on site.A unique & scenic water taxi ride away from Port Lucaya Marketplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Bay Hotel And Marina
Flamingo Bay Yacht Hotel Marina
Flamingo Bay Yacht Club
Flamingo Bay Resort Bahamas
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.