We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Several unpleasant surprises at Flamingo Bay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jolly Rodger Drive, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Freeport
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Several unpleasant surprises at Flamingo Bay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed for 5 days at Flamingo Bay during their "all college students in March" month. They did not have any towels whatsoever for two days. It was NOT all-inclusive, contrary to what their website claims. You get three meals a day with 5 or so of the same choices and one drink included at those meals (taino splash=terrible!). Also, you are required to pay a surprise $200 deposit when you arrive! If you can get past all of that, the staff across at the nice hotel was overly friendly and entertaining (Dora at the grotto bar especially!). Advise: Take the ferry over to Lucaya Marketplace where everything is much cheaper (alcohol) and more fun. Taxi drivers try to screw you more and more the later it gets so be prepared to barter with them. Beach and water was outstanding. Not very crowded beach. Pool was incredible also. Would not return to that particular hotel considering all the "surprises" involved.

Room Tip: Try to get on the backside of the hotel for a much better view and if you're lucky and they over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    38
    37
    29
    17
See reviews for
17
62
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dade City, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

OK - so it is not the Ritz, but the room was clean, and comfortable. I live in Florida, so I am use to this type of beach hotel. Staff was more than friendly and they were always smiling. We used every aspect of the resort - the pool, the beach and the restaurant. No compalints anywhere.
I don't go on vacation to stay in the room - so as long as the air and hot water work and the bed is decent, I am good to go!
If you need a taxi, Limpy was the best - we used him the entire time we were there - great price, clean van and was like a tour guide! Give him a call 242-478-4214 242-375-7909

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tainobeach, Guest Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed your Island getaway! As a “beach resort veteran”, you already know what want when you are on an island! Thanks for the positive Tripadvisor posting, and we’ll see you next time!
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Older hotel with small rooms that have seen better days. But....it's cheap, it allows access to the taino beach resort, and the channel side offers a nice view. Our room was on the third floor and there is no elevator, so we had to consolidate our trips. The view was beautiful on the back of the building.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tainobeach, Guest Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear “Special”,
Thanks for taking the time to post your experiences at Flamingo Bay Hotel and Marina on Tripadvisor.
Its postings from previous Guests much like yourself, that make us better, and the more people review and post, the better we can gauge the market and how to move forward. We hope you return as we are conducting refurbishments on a continual basis, and would like to hear about your subsequent future visits.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days at the end of March. Having already read reviews of the hotel we were not surprised when we saw our rooms. There was an overall appearance of neglect. The tiled floors were chipped and looked grotty. The bathroom was basic with hair dryer but again a bit worn looking. However we had clean towels every day and the apartment was cleaned every day. There was no issue with the cleanliness of the place.
There was a small kitchen but not enough utensils and crockery to call it self-catering. There was also no tea towel provided. However sachets of coffee, dried milk and sugar were supplied every day.
The walls were paper thin; we could hear people in adjacent apartments.
However I have to say that considering the price, it was generally OK.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The nearby beach was absolutely beautiful, clean and fairly quiet. The restaurant on the beach was a great place to eat and drink with fabulous views over the sea.
The pool was huge, although we didn't spend much time there as we prefer the beach and swimming in the sea. The bar in the cave on the pool was quite different to anything I have seen abroad and a good place for refreshments. There was also a brilliant slide.
Overall a beautiful place to spend a holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tainobeach, Guest Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. Your experience and this posting helps other travelers in ways, no amount of advertising could!
We are currently working on all aspects of the property, so you should be more then pleased upon your next visit- which we hope is soon!
Thank you, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Hard to complain when you are given a room for free in exchange to attend a presentation about some type of timesharing program (which we did not sign up for, obviously), but for those to think of paying for an hotel in Freeport, consider other options. PLUS: hot water, free wi-fi, nice pool a short walk away. MINUS: noisy (paperthin walls, can hear the neighbour snore), old, light switch at the far end of the room (not usefull when arriving at night), no bedside lamp, and unlike what they say, the pool only has 1 spa. If you add the extra fees ($18/day per person, ferry to get to town, etc.) the rooms comes up at a decent price. I clicked ''terrible'' in the value category, but of course ignore this if you get the room for free.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tainobeach, Guest Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear “Runned down but got the basics”,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor from your recent stay. We continue to work diligently to make your stay as wonderful as you hoped for. We do offer a great value, and will continue to improve upon it for the future!
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

A large group of us (approx. 65) stayed at this hotel/apartment block in late March 2013. First impressions weren’t very positive – 30 people trying to check in with only one lady at reception wasn’t a great experience – the booking-in forms could have been handed out for people to fill in whilst waiting for her attention – this would have saved a lot of time. However, she was cheerful and polite, as most Bahamians tend to be! When we first entered the room we thought that it was pretty basic. The floor is tiled and the furniture basic. However, as we got used to it we came to the conclusion that generally it was reasonable value for the price. The bed was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was ok - a bit rough round the edges in terms of finish but there was plenty of hot water, a mirror, cupboard, hair-drier, clean towels etc. Our bedroom was on the second floor overlooking the harbour, within 30 metres of the water taxi to Port Lucaya. The taxi runs every hour from approx. seven o` clock in the morning and is quite noisy as it arrives and departs. To give you an idea of the geography – there is only one road from Taino Bay to Port Lucayo – we did walk it once, a distance of approx. 3 miles – there is a path but it’s an uninteresting road and in the heat if the day quite hard work. The alternative is to take the ferry which runs every hour and has room for approx. 30 passengers. It costs $6 return.The policy with regard to charging was a mystery however. Some members of our group sometimes had tickets (bought at the Reception) but they weren’t collected. On other occasions some members of our group were required to produce tickets but others were allowed free passage, seemingly on the whim of the captain, who would say “I shouldn’t allow you but ……..”. On one occasion I paid the captain but wasn’t given a ticket. What happened to the fee, I wonder? Those staying at Flamingo Bay have access to a lovely beach approx. 200 metres away – the beach has free loungers and is not very busy. Paragliding and jet-ski hire available. Alongside the beach is a restaurant with internal seating or tables on a covered patio – bar snacks are available all day at a reasonable price. Those staying at Flamingo Bay have access to a huge swimming pool at Taino Bay. Port Lucayo has lots of shops selling designer gear and others selling cheap tourist mementos.Also, lots of restaurants. Not a lot do do on Grand Bahama however unless you just want to chill out on the beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tainobeach, Guest Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear “Decent value for money”,
Thank you for your candid and comprehensive review on Tripadvisor, regarding your stay at Flamingo Bay Hotel and Marina. Your points are valuable to us to help improve our processes and deliver to you- great island-experiences! We’ll look at the details pertaining to the observations you kindly provided, via Tripadvisor. We hope you return and have an even better experience soon!
Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The ladies at the front desk had utter contempt for the guests. They were sarcastic and apathetic. In the two days I stayed they never seemed to get anything correct and could not care less. The hotel itself is a dump, however, there is a very nice and reasonably priced restaurant next door. Also there is a very nice beach across the street. Obviously from many negative reviews, the management could not care less about the pathetic service so just beware of it and move on. At least the place is cheap. Bring your own disinfectant and you will be okay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tainobeach, Guest Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay. Your input is noted and we will address each issue raised to ensure we present a better experience for the next visitor. Hopefully we can impress you with a much better vacation experience - the next time you come to the island.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina

Address: Jolly Rodger Drive, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flamingo Bay Hotel, adorned by the beautiful emerald green Bell Channel Waterway, is part of three Taino Beach Resort & Clubs properties on Grand Bahama Island. Guests enjoy full use of the largest pool on the island, beach and business center with free WiFi in the lobby. It is a reasonably priced alternative to the larger resorts. Standard features include king rooms and two full size beds in double rooms with small kitchenettes. Full service Marina offering 25 dockage slips. Beauty Salon , Convenience Store, Laundry, Ocean Front Restaurant & Watersport Activity Center on site.A unique & scenic water taxi ride away from Port Lucaya Marketplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. and Odigeo so you can book your Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Bay Hotel And Marina
Flamingo Bay Yacht Hotel Marina
Flamingo Bay Yacht Club
Flamingo Bay Resort Bahamas
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.