We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina

Save Saved
You added Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jolly Rodger Drive, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Freeport
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Decent value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

A large group of us (approx. 65) stayed at this hotel/apartment block in late March 2013. First impressions weren’t very positive – 30 people trying to check in with only one lady at reception wasn’t a great experience – the booking-in forms could have been handed out for people to fill in whilst waiting for her attention – this would have saved a lot of time. However, she was cheerful and polite, as most Bahamians tend to be! When we first entered the room we thought that it was pretty basic. The floor is tiled and the furniture basic. However, as we got used to it we came to the conclusion that generally it was reasonable value for the price. The bed was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was ok - a bit rough round the edges in terms of finish but there was plenty of hot water, a mirror, cupboard, hair-drier, clean towels etc. Our bedroom was on the second floor overlooking the harbour, within 30 metres of the water taxi to Port Lucaya. The taxi runs every hour from approx. seven o` clock in the morning and is quite noisy as it arrives and departs. To give you an idea of the geography – there is only one road from Taino Bay to Port Lucayo – we did walk it once, a distance of approx. 3 miles – there is a path but it’s an uninteresting road and in the heat if the day quite hard work. The alternative is to take the ferry which runs every hour and has room for approx. 30 passengers. It costs $6 return.The policy with regard to charging was a mystery however. Some members of our group sometimes had tickets (bought at the Reception) but they weren’t collected. On other occasions some members of our group were required to produce tickets but others were allowed free passage, seemingly on the whim of the captain, who would say “I shouldn’t allow you but ……..”. On one occasion I paid the captain but wasn’t given a ticket. What happened to the fee, I wonder? Those staying at Flamingo Bay have access to a lovely beach approx. 200 metres away – the beach has free loungers and is not very busy. Paragliding and jet-ski hire available. Alongside the beach is a restaurant with internal seating or tables on a covered patio – bar snacks are available all day at a reasonable price. Those staying at Flamingo Bay have access to a huge swimming pool at Taino Bay. Port Lucayo has lots of shops selling designer gear and others selling cheap tourist mementos.Also, lots of restaurants. Not a lot do do on Grand Bahama however unless you just want to chill out on the beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tainobeach, Guest Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear “Decent value for money”,
Thank you for your candid and comprehensive review on Tripadvisor, regarding your stay at Flamingo Bay Hotel and Marina. Your points are valuable to us to help improve our processes and deliver to you- great island-experiences! We’ll look at the details pertaining to the observations you kindly provided, via Tripadvisor. We hope you return and have an even better experience soon!
Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    35
    32
    28
    15
See reviews for
15
57
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The ladies at the front desk had utter contempt for the guests. They were sarcastic and apathetic. In the two days I stayed they never seemed to get anything correct and could not care less. The hotel itself is a dump, however, there is a very nice and reasonably priced restaurant next door. Also there is a very nice beach across the street. Obviously from many negative reviews, the management could not care less about the pathetic service so just beware of it and move on. At least the place is cheap. Bring your own disinfectant and you will be okay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tainobeach, Guest Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay. Your input is noted and we will address each issue raised to ensure we present a better experience for the next visitor. Hopefully we can impress you with a much better vacation experience - the next time you come to the island.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We just got back from a 2 day stay at the Flamingo Bay Hotel and Marina. After reading reviews, I was skeptical, but overall, my husband and I are very pleased with our stay. The newly renovated room was clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The ferry to Lucaya Marketplace ($6 roundtrip) is right next to the hotel, so very convenient. The Taino resort amenities that are included in the Flamingo stay are a nice perk. We rented bicycles for a 24 hour period and were able to keep them in the Flamingo's luggage room overnight. Another plus, we were just about a 20 minute walk from the Wednesday night Fish Fry on Smith Point. We were very pleasantly surprised by the great beach and pool areas at the Taino. One negative is that the adjoining wall to the back unit is very thin, so if you have loud spring breakers coming back in the middle of the night, it is a bit irritating. But that didn't even come close to ruining our vacation.

Room Tip: Keep in mind, there is no elevator if you are assigned a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tainobeach, Guest Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear “Great for the price”,
Thanks for your timely review. Yes, the refurbished units make a big difference! Yes, the Ferry is probably the best deal on the island! (A romantic way to move from the main gathering area and the hotel too!)
Glad you had fun… so, when are you returning?
Thanks again for your posting.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My son stayed in this hotel at the end of a week long diving trip. He is a college student and informed me of the quality of his room. The room was dirty, there was no light in the bathroom and no bedside light. I pre booked and paid for the hotel for him. I thought it was a little strange to pre pay for a room. Had we not have pre paid, he would have requested a huge discount at check out or would have moved to a different hotel. The telephone in the room would ring but the person on the other end could not hear you when you answered. He informed the front desk but they did nothing about it! Don't stay at this hotel, it's a dump!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tainobeach, Guest Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We thank you for your posting, as we are pleased to report refurbishments on the Hotel are nearly completed. While some units are not completed as yet, we are working diligently to finish those. Your son’s issues not being urgently handled is a concern, and we are adding a strong refocus on service response-time at the Hotel. We promise he’ll have a great stay with us on his next Grand Bahama Dive Trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The view from the hotel was amazing and just a short walk to the beach. You get to share all of the ammenties with the Taino resort so the pool is extremely nice. Flamingo Bay itself needs remodeled the rooms are falling apart. While the pool and beach were nice the customer service was TERRIBLE! It is as if they just make up rules as they go everyday there is a new policy or something costs more everytime you ask. Not to mention when we got there they forgot to give our group our meal tickets then accused us of being dishonest for two hours and telling us we wouldnt be able to eat for the next week because we had the tickets.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tainobeach, Guest Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Sorry to hear that you had such a strange experience! We had some large Spring Break groups check in, and perhaps you were in one of those. There were some challenges upon a large group arrival, and it sounds as if this is what you dealt with!

We are pleased to say that usually – it’s not like what you experienced! We hope to see you next time you decide to come to Grand Bahama, and show you a fantastic time at our Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Okay so my boyfriend wanted to take me to the Bahamas for my spring break so we found a good deal and we picked this place because of the pool. I'm 23 and my bf is 35 were from south florida and are pretty easy going. Having said that the pool and beach are amazing ! Everything by the time shares is great! But the flamingo bay side... Not so much. It's older and the room aren't very nice . But whatever we were just looking for a quick cheap get away. The service however is very very slow ! Our tv didn't have a remote so I called the front desk and asked for one and like 30 min went by so I went downstairs to just go get it, she said I had to wait for the guy to come to my room . After a while we finally got a remote. Then we came back to te hotel after a day swimming w the dolphins and I got in the room and took a shower then realizing ... The cleaning lady never left us any towels !!! So I had my bf call the front desk while I'm standing in the bathroom w no towel soaking wet waiting .... Waiting ... Waiting. So I finally get so annoyed I put some clothes on an go down stairs and ask te front desk for some towels while there are people that work at Taino beach all in the lobby just standing around. It was so frustrating. And the lady behind the front desk is selling people fairy tickets and checking people in while I am waiting soaking wet . I ended up drying off a not even needing a towel . That being said I will never return to stay at this hotel. The time shares side was amazing but I think the owners of flamingo bay need to spend some money to upgrade the hotel. Ill post some pictures so you can get an idea .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tainobeach, Guest Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We agree that the pool is amazing! Sorry that you had such a negative experience! We have hosted so very many people, and while we have some gaps in service, we are tightening the details to eliminate things as you described.

Its our intention to host your visits in a fantastic manner, that will make you wish to come back. If you ever do come back to Grand Bahama – and we hope you do – please give us a try and we will make every effort to ensure it’s a wonderful future stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are DIRTY! Dirt and make up hand prints/ finger prints all over inside of bathroom door. Dirt and dust bunnies in all corners. Tub peeling. An old chicken bone in the silverware drawer. Old left over shampoo in shower. Balcony doors are just for looks, they do not open. Phones ring ALL day and ALL night long in the rooms. Constantly waking you up, no one is ever on the other line. Gift shop down stairs is hit and miss. A person is never back when the sign says they will be back. Very inconvenient considering its the only place to get a soda or a snack. They only give you one key to the door. Ice machine didn't work. Walls are PAPER THIN! You can hear an I phone being plugged in and if your neighbors get up to shower or talk, you are getting up too because its so loud! Staff was friendly which is all they had going for them as well as a convenient location and very nice pool.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina

Address: Jolly Rodger Drive, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flamingo Bay Hotel, adorned by the beautiful emerald green Bell Channel Waterway, is part of three Taino Beach Resort & Clubs properties on Grand Bahama Island. Guests enjoy full use of the largest pool on the island, beach and business center with free WiFi in the lobby. It is a reasonably priced alternative to the larger resorts. Standard features include king rooms and two full size beds in double rooms with small kitchenettes. Full service Marina offering 25 dockage slips. Beauty Salon , Convenience Store, Laundry, Ocean Front Restaurant & Watersport Activity Center on site.A unique & scenic water taxi ride away from Port Lucaya Marketplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Otel, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Bay Hotel And Marina
Flamingo Bay Yacht Hotel Marina
Flamingo Bay Yacht Club
Flamingo Bay Resort Bahamas
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.