We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jolly Rodger Drive, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Freeport
High Point, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed her for four nights in May 2012 and absolutely loved it. We have stayed at Taino a couple of times and decided to stay at Flamingo this time. Our room was on the front facing the ocean with only a few hundred feet to the beach. The room was in very good condition. I couldn't have asked for better service. Each time I asked for something, the front desk sent it within 5 minutes. The water taxi to Port Lucaya is right out back and was so convenient every night to go over and eat dinner. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going over to Freeport. Everyone is so nice!

Room Tip: Rooms on the road side are quiter as they are away from boat traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    36
    32
    28
    15
See reviews for
15
57
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This was a last minute vacation, we’ve been to Nassau Bahamas many times but this was our first time to Freeport, so we were very excited. Our luggage never made it until the next day, but the front desk never called that is because they had plans to go through our bags, and help themselves. I would have blamed the airline but when we went to collect our bags there on the shelves was our “tongue cleaner” was lying on the shelves where our suitcase was. These items was inside zipped inside my kabodle inside my suitcase, so the only way for this to be there was if someone went into the kabodle. I reported the matter to the girl at the front desk and she immediately called the security OMG this is such a disaster we had to take time off on three occasion to give info what a waste, they promise they will look into the matter and will refund the tax we paid, in addition they gave us 2 T shirts and a bag, in addition I learn that another family suffered the same “missing” stuff. So my husband and I had to go through the four days without our toiletries and some other items which up to this day I can’t even figure out what I had. I had to keep emailing them when we got back home to make sure they credited me with what they promised. Also be aware that there is no bell boy or elevator you have to log your stuff up and down the stairs. The fan in the bathroom and kitchen is so loud if it is on you can’t hear each other. The bedroom and mini kitchen is ok. The good part is the hotel is located on the water “not beach” you can take a ferry $5 pp to the other side where there is more shopping. We rented a car so was able to drive on the other side of the island where the beaches are much better than the ones close. There was entertainment on the beach at night “bon fire” style. We had sea food at the hotel restaurant which was ok. Stay away if you can.

Room Tip: There are no elevators so stay on the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My mom and I booked the flamingo bay hotel through baleria ferry express out of ft lauderdale. I read the reviews on tripadvisor before the trip and was nervous. It was great. No it's not a 5 star hotel, but why would anyone expect that from the price. There are pictures on the Internet..it shows the rooms. All of the staff were exceptionally hospitable and friendly. Our room overlooked the marina. It had a fridge, kitchen sink coffe maker. It was clean, typical cheap motel room, but clean and safe.
A few complaints-- no coffee in hotel room. A small back of coffee is almost $3 in gift shop. Checkout is at 10, we weren't leaving until 5pm, slightly inconvenient. The gift shop prices are outrageous.
The best part was the full access to Taino beach resort. The pool there is INCREDIBLE!!! Water slide, lazy river swim up bar, beach like shallow end, built in lounge areas. It was like a water park. The beach is great!!! The softest sand ever. Like powder. The restaurant is delicious, only had breakfast and lunch, not sure about dinner. You can sit outside, on the beach. The ocean breeze and view was perfect. The staff is sooooo friendly. Everybody says hi as you walk by.
The flamingo bay hotel is right on the water, In the marina. All snorkeling and other boat activities leave from The back of the hotel. So convenient. There is a water taxi provided by resort to port lucaya market place, $5/ round trip.
I absolutely loved our vacation. I plan to come back again and again. I prefer to enjoy the location of where I am versus paying more for a better room, that's just me. And there were NO BED BUGS!!!
One tip, buying food for breakfast lunch and dinner got expensive, and the Bahamas are kind of pricey, next time I will bring some peanut butter and jelly or something. Also a liter bottle of water was $5.50 in gift shop, the water in the hotel room actually tastes good, and this is coming from someone who is extremely picky about water, i never drink from the tap at home,so I just refilled my bottle but would have brougHt water if I had known. Prices in the bahamas are more expensive, so be prepared. Oh and bring your own coffee!!

Room Tip: Make sure you are facing the marina! Really pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORT LAUDERDALE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Note - that there are two hotels here - owned by the same company - one is the timeshare place with the pool and the beach - one is the motel place next to the marina. I stayed at the motel place. Nice, quiet, basic - but everything I needed, you don't spend much time in your room so it doesn't need to be great but if you want a fancy room go to the timeshare place. All staff were great at both places, helpful and nice. BUT, I have one concern and I got on here to see if I can get a response from the hotel/restaurant - I was very concerned about the two turtles in the tanks in the restaurant, they were probably suitable when the turtles were smaller but the staff informed me one has been in there for two years. the one near the kitchen door has to swim constantly, I would assume that it will die soon with no where to rest, it seems to be in a panic most of the time, there is no room for it to get onto the float, The float is broken - I tried to fix it. They need to be moved into bigger area immediately. Have you throught about the 'pond' area outside the front door? if the water doesn't get too hot there - it would be perfect, the water wouldn't be too deep, you could put rocks for them to sunbathe on. and they wouldn't be compelled to constantly swim. I love the Bahamas, thought this hotel/motel was adequate for what we wanted, restaurant food was good, beach was great, but my concern for the turtles worried me (and other diners) the whole time we were there and since my return. Please let me know that will change their accommodation - so they may live without stress.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tainobeach, Guest Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for your recent Posting regarding our property.
We are pleased that you had a nice visit in Grand Bahama. We can address your concern about the turtle that has outgrown his tank.
We have placed a new small (Silver Dollar sized) Turtle in his tank, while placing the fully grown Turtle into a much bigger environment. Last reports are that he is happy and swimming, and as always, eating very healthy foods while continuing to grow!
We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Hisws booked thr best vacations ever or summer ay both timeshare slicitatio. Services. I gree with othrreviwers I is no a resort but a old blockofunits which has sub standard rooms poor excuse for kitchen, no room to swing a ca lt alone luggage. Resort facilities across at Taino. The staff therevr not friendly. Pool area is good there, water too warm as it is not deep. The beach e is good. To get around you catch a taxi - e ferry ride to shops is quite expensive when ou consider it is 5 minute ride. $ 5 per prison return. Negotiate with taxi or private/taxi car drivers. If e had better accomadation in a proper well kept resort we woudbhavevwanted to stay longer. It is slightly expensive. Shamewevfound a lovely taxi driver the day before e left. Did not enjoy summer festival. Beware of taxi's overcharging. Negotiate heavily. We had to pay $ 5 for water when we arrived as all was closed. $ 6 bread.just a room.the phones weren't working so we did not get the hard sell on time share.thank god!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

The Bahamas is a very nice place with very nice people. But the island is very expensive . The flamingo hotel or better yet motel is not very nice. Worst hotel I have ever been too. Everything is dirty and old . This is the first time I have ever written a review. I did this because I wouldn't want anyone to feel the way I felt in this disgusting place. I will definetly read reviews before picking my next hotel and destination.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I booked this package deal threw balearia bahamas express and boy was I shocked when I arrived it looked like an old motel. at the front desk I was told I didnt have a reservation when I showed them my confermation number they still could not find me a room one and a half hours later I talked to a person who claimed they were the manager but later on found out she was not, I was told they had plenty of rooms to offer that I would def. get " a room " but failed to tell me about there sister resort accross the street which is 90% better. they did not offer an up grade for the inconvienece my family suffered. when I did get a room I found white earrings in my bed a sign the room was not fully cleaned, my 14 year old was attacked at night by "bed bugs". when i told the from desk they offered to up grade me for $200.00 more to the sister resort across the street. worst hotel i have ever stood at. I am very disappointed with the balearia bahamas express and flamingo bay. will never use either company again.

Room Tip: spend the extra money and stay some place else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina

Address: Jolly Rodger Drive, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flamingo Bay Hotel, adorned by the beautiful emerald green Bell Channel Waterway, is part of three Taino Beach Resort & Clubs properties on Grand Bahama Island. Guests enjoy full use of the largest pool on the island, beach and business center with free WiFi in the lobby. It is a reasonably priced alternative to the larger resorts. Standard features include king rooms and two full size beds in double rooms with small kitchenettes. Full service Marina offering 25 dockage slips. Beauty Salon , Convenience Store, Laundry, Ocean Front Restaurant & Watersport Activity Center on site.A unique & scenic water taxi ride away from Port Lucaya Marketplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Bay Hotel And Marina
Flamingo Bay Yacht Hotel Marina
Flamingo Bay Yacht Club
Flamingo Bay Resort Bahamas
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.