We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ViVa Wyndham offers a friendly atmosphere and a pleasant staff that provides excellent services.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach to your Saves list
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Doubloon Rd. & Churchill Dr., Freeport, Grand Bahama Island   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Freeport
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“The ViVa Wyndham offers a friendly atmosphere and a pleasant staff that provides excellent services.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

The ViVa Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort is only at a fifteen to twenty minutes drive from the Freeport airport. It's friendly staff provides excellent services, wich make you feel welcomed and at home. The rooms are spacious and clean. The hotel offers great amenities such as snorkling, sailing, and Kayaking. Other amenities are available such as surfing, scuba diving and other exursions/tours. The hotel also has a greatanimation team which keep guests active and entertained at all times.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    1,018
    748
    455
    477
See reviews for
754
1,195
60
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (624)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

we had a great time at the viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach..I loved the food and the people. they have a very good service.. we're looking forward to go back!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeForest, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

Very disappointed. Food not good. Could not get into restaurant and people rude. Push timeshare a lot.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

we enjoyed our stay ,,the staff is great,,had lots of with the bartenders they made us laugh,,the food was very good,,love the shows,,our rooms very clean and our beds very comfortable ,,.the only negative comment we have to say is our room was facing the disco music was very loud when we wanted to sleep ,,,but overall it was very good so for the complainers you are just hard to please ,,,,pay 3 times the price and go to a 5 stars and you will still not be happy about some thing,,,Every penny I spent on this resort was worth it!!!Thank You Viva Fortuna I will go back !!....

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, January 27, 2011
Dear Guest,

We would like to say thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as your vacation destination.
We are thrilled to read how you enjoyed your experience here with us and all our staff.
We were pleased to read how you have enjoyed the food in all our restaurants, as well the activities and entertainment. It is always a pleasure to receive the recognition of the hard work our animation staff makes for all the shows we set up for our guest.
We will be looking forward to your return. If there is anything we can help and assist you with, then please do not hesitate to contact us at the Guest Service desk.
On behalf of the staff and management, we would like to say thank you once more for your honest review and for your generous hospitality.
Kindest regards,

Elizabeth Ulloa
Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

After reading the reviews i planned for the worst! we are not that picky but like most people expect the basics. Check in did have a line but it went pretty fast. A sufficient no a couple times got rid of the timeshare people and you can't fault them for doing their job after all you should know this when you book this resort. First room in B block not good, i think we could've handled it but my husband asked if we could switch just to see and got a second floor in C block which had a great view of the garden. THe bathroom was very old and the walls are thin but really what do you expect for the price. You can hear the activites at night but it didn't bother us to much and the walls are quite thin. I think if you know all these things and go in with the right expectations you will have a good time. The drinks were strong but we tipped quite often, all the bar and snack bar staff work quite hard and to be honest the american tourists are quite rude to them. The beach was great but beware of many bees, they don't se to sting but can really bug you if you have a fruity drink! Entertainment staff was great and so were the sports house guys. we had a great time for the price but again didn't expect 5 stars. The food was average and edible but nothing fancy. if you are looking for great deal and are relaxed about things you will do fine. i think many people expected more and that is why were disappointed but we would be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, January 25, 2011
Dear Guest

We would like to start by saying thank you for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort for your vacation get away.

It is always a pleasure to read how our guests enjoyed their vacation experience with us at our resort and the amenities provided for you all as well as the activities, food, drinks and room facilities.

On behalf of the staff and management, we would like to thank you once more for your honest review and for staying here at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach.

Kindest Regards,
Elizabeth Ulloa
Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

Let me start off by saying I read EVERY review online before we booked this hotel. We were VERY skeptical after reading the reviews but the deal we got with Cheapcaribbean was too good to pass up. The trip was a combined gift from my parents and boyfriend for college graduation and so it was important that we had a good time.

Let me start with the shuttle to the hotel. DO NOT book it when you book your hotel, pick up a taxi at the airport, it should be around $30 one way. we paid $80 round trip with the prepaid option. We arrived and did not have to wait to check in, we arrived early and they gave us wristbands so we could grab lunch, we left our luggage in the lobby and went out to check things out.

Yes as people have mentioned the locals do try and sell you stuff, Mike was one such interesting guy, yes he tried to sell us pot but we told him we were not interested and he left us alone. yes the locals will be around during the day, but if you sit up higher towards the resort they cant bother you.

We were in the B wing, which I was very nervous about after reading the reviews. However, we had a GORGEOUS view of the beach. We checked when we first got it to make sure all of our doors were working and locked (read horror stories online), had no problems there. Our bathroom was outdated and had some mold on the shower curtain but we asked our housekeeping lady (meoshe) to change it and she did without complaint (she was wonderful!). I dont know why people complain about wearing shoes in the shower, I NEVER go to a hotel and walk around barefoot in the room even at a 5 star place in the states-- COMMON SENSE! Yes the tv was small but we only watched it the one day it rained and before bed, we were there to get some sun!

The beach is amazing, you can walk a half and hour each way and find two small bars (both very over priced but neat to go to once). There is a great sandbar if you walk to the left of the beach. Lots of water sports, we kayaked, snorkeled, played volleyball, etc. The water was a bit cold for me, but on the last day it was hot enough that we got to enjoy it a little more. Loved the hot tub, spent a great deal of time there chatting with other guests. We found the staff and other guests to be very friendly and found a couple of people to hangout with while we were there.

The food-- ok we are recent college grads so for us food was not a huge concern. When you book a budget hotel (which those people who are spending $1000 a person need to do more research, there are better deals here than that) you cant expect awesome food. We loved the omelets for breakfast, found lunch to be ok, opted out of the Italian after our first time there, and the oriental was not horrible but I recommend just doing appetizers there. The salad is ok and we got some decent mahi mahi one night & nachos another night.

We ventured to freeport one night to check it out, made a deal with the taxi guy for a $30 round trip ride. Ask for ricky ricardo as your cab driver, he is great, knows a lot about hte local population too. Ate at Rum Runners which was nice, got 2-$5 coronas and my boyfriend had the best pina colatta of his life. Also met some nice people from the states and bought some gifts at the shops. I suggest going during the day since there isnt too much to do there at night. Wednesday nights they have a fish fry that came highly recommended, although we didnt check it out.

Yes the drinks are not strong, this is true, but i stuck to wine (its carlo rossi) and beer (kalik a local beer) and my boyfriend drank jim bean and coke (they didnt seem to water the jim beam down). The issue is not that the alcohol is watered down, it is not normal proof, it is half proof (the kind you can buy at cvs) We brought our own cups, which I highly recommend, you can buy them at the hotel but they are expensive. We had no problem being un=sober, something we kind of regretted when we were really sunburnt and dehydrated!

A couple of things to be aware of- The hotel is in need of some renovations, yes, but if you are looking for a nice beach with great weather (at least when we were there) and to relax then this is the place for you. The pictures are kind of deceiving sure and there is no spa whatsoever so if you want such amenities, pay more and go to freeport. The timshare people were like hawks when we were leaving but we had literally not one problem with them our whole stay. When we arrived I knew immediately which ones they were, we avoided them, when they asked if we were 25 we said no and they left us alone the whole trip. Also when i went to take a shower we did not have hot water, when I called the front desk they said they would send maintenance, who never showed up. Luckily our hot water went back on. Also, there was a pipe break right next to our room so listening to construction at 9am one morning was less than pleasing, but we went to bed early enough that waking up at 9am wasnt so bad.

Would I go back here? no, but only because we want to travel around and see different stuff, Jamaica, south america, europe, etc. Be realistic about what to expect and you will be pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

From the moment we stepped into the lobby and saw the long line and overheard a staffer talking about 'the property tour ie: timeshare opportunity' to check in knew we thought we may have made a mistake. When I saw the room that confimed it and it got worse. The local staff were rude, disinterested and non-existant. Our room although it had a good view, was dark, dirty, sand on the covers, sink was cracked and rusted and there were ants everywhere in the bathroom. The shower wasn't much better and the on/off valve needed to be replaced. No towels, we had to call for those and were told not to lose them or there was a $20 fee. No throw carpets on the floor, 2 small lights in the room and an even smaller tv - think camp or hostel. When it rained the sliding doors didn't close so the rain came in the room, the AC unit was so loud, seriously it woke us up when it kicked on and the beds were very old and needed to be replaced. It did have a programmable safe however...
Upon our arrival after dropping our luggage in our room we found out the 'cantina/food hall' was closed and went to the beach to get a burger. We waited 45 mins and the hot dogs were raw in the middle, we also found out we needed to make reservations at the one restaurant that was open but shucks, the reservation desk was closed so we were out of luck...Overall the food was TERRIBLE, the restaurants were just dressed up versions of the cantina food...no fish, if you got there early you might get a chix breast..but we all lost weight on this holiday...you will go hungry unless you are used to bland, mass produced, tasteless and often cold food. Load up on salad.
The game room was adequate, I never played so much pingpong and our son enjoyed himself with the games and then seriously informed us that the bartender gave him an adult pina colada so he gave it to me. Drinks are very watered down...you are really just drinking punch but the espresso coffee that they make is awesome!
The beach was beautiful and you had to get past the annoying vendors but the sports ammenities were good and the non-local staffers were great, they had kids games and the trapeze instructors were wonderful. And thank goodness for the free wifi if you brought your laptop!!! That saved me...
The hot-tub was very dirty and because of the overflowing trash bins the bees were swarming...
My husband cut his foot on some coral but they couldn't find a first aid kit, then the night before we left one of the staffers spilt hot coffee all over our son (who is 9) and then after cursing up a storm disappeared....the manager wasn't working and at this point we just wanted to go home.
I could go on, but I think you get the picture: this was a complete waste of 4 days and a few thousand dollars.....
We really thought this being a wyndham we would be safe for our first time in the Bahamas but we were wrong...when I called corporate they infomed me it was an independent hotel and could refund us one night stay...
Please, learn from our walk in the minefield....go somewhere else...

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Address: Doubloon Rd. & Churchill Dr., Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Freeport
Viva Fortuna
Freeport Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort
Club Viva Fortuna
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.