We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better in The Bahamas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach to your Saves list
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Doubloon Rd. & Churchill Dr., Freeport, Grand Bahama Island   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Freeport
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Better in The Bahamas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a one week stay at Viva Fortuna Beach and we loved it! A beautiful remote location, we enjoyed walking on the beach, the large clean pool and hot tub. The food was bland but lots of variety. The beach restaurant had tasty burgers, hot dogs and fries and there is a late night snack bar with very good pizza.
Very good value for the money! Clean, great staff, loved The Bahamas!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Customer,

We would like to thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as you vacation destination for your recent stay.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed the hotel and all the facilities, we also wanted to thank you for you great review, really helpful for our upcoming guest also.

Hoping to see you again in Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach!!

Kindest Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    909
    669
    419
    460
See reviews for
649
1,087
54
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Booked a last minute 4 day vacation here through Westjet. For the price we received I couldn't be happier with the resort. Food was good, although the al la carte restaurant basically had the exact same food as the buffet, only difference is that it was served to you. (the "two" a la carte restaurants are actually just one restaurant, and they alternate between Italian and oriental every other day). Still very happy with the resort and the food (I'm not picky). Best part is the beach! The resort also offers free sailing and trapezing which I was impressed with - we did both and they were a ton of fun.

Room Tip: "Vista" rooms have a good view of the ocean, and also tend to be closer to the rest of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, Vice-president of Operations at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as your last vacation destination.

On behalf of the staff and management, we would like to thank you for your honest review, we are glad to read that your holidays was enjoyable and you liked our beautiful beach.

We also would like to thank you for your comments, we definitely going to use them for improvement in the future.

Thank you for staying at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach.

Kindest Regards,

Vice-president of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Great beach area, beautiful water. Common facilities are average and adequate. Not fancy, but not bad. Food is average and plentiful. Alcohol was disappointing but rum punches were enough for me. Rooms are average to sometimes a little below average. Our shower valve was not working properly but they fixed right away. A wide assortment of activities. Are offered and all the staff were friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a high end exclusive resort you may be disappointed, but for the price this is a very good value. I plan to go back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you at the Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach during your recent vacations. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our services and facilities. Our customer’s feedback is very important for us.

We look forward to your return visit and again thank you for choosing to stay with us at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach.

Best Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

I honestly cannot believe some of the reviews on here, we booked our break last minute as a cheap family getaway. I was preparing myself for the worse so I wouldn't be disappointed if it was terrible. But I'm so pleased to say its a great hotel, the reception staff are not the pleasantest. But everybody else goes out there way to make your holiday enjoyable. The entertainment staff are constantly encouraging everyone to join in the activities. We are still currently here, and the only reason I'm writing this is because my little boys are asleep, and you have free wifi! The hotel is a three star hotel doing as it promises and more! The food is good for an all inclusive, the drinks are plentiful, the rooms are clean. I think we are lucky maybe that we came after the refurbishment as bathroom is great, although a bit small. Everything seems to have had a facelift!

Really come on how can these people not be enjoying themselves? They need to look over the small things and relax and enjoy themselves! I could lay on your beach all day watching the beautiful ocean!

Cheers Nichola, Gary, Maximus & Samson

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for posting a review of your current stay at the Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach.

It is with pleasure that I acknowledged your feedback that expressed your satisfaction over your experience of staying with us especially with regards to the rooms you have, the entertainment staff and also the food and beverage department.

We would like to thank you again for your beautiful review, it would be a pleasure to have you again visiting our resort one day!

Kindest Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Its not as bad as they say on here. Me and my boyfriend(gay couple) were there from novembre 11th to 15th (short stay - 5 days). It was awesome. The weather was good except for one day it was cloudy and windy but it was still a great time...walking by the beach and stuff.

The room was clean and freshly renovated (ask for room with ocean view).
The food was good and the drinks were okay like any other resorts.
I liked the bar and snackspot on the beach...they make hamburgers and hotdogs/pizza on the beach there.

The beach is great but theres a lot of rocks so u will want to walk to your left on the beach to get to this amazing point where u have water up to ur knees for a mile long...no rocks whatso ever. Its also the spot where they filmed Pirates of The Carribean. It was amazing (see pictures).

The people working there are very welcoming but i couldnt understand what they were saying to me cuz first of all im french and also their accents are very strong(sounds jamaican).
It was pretty calm when we went.

Overall it was great value/quality resort with everything u need...

I would go back anytime and i will recommend it to my friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach.

We truly appreciate your efforts in providing a review of what we offer our guests and more, thank you also for highlighting the areas that made your stay remarkable, your feedback is very important for us and is always a pleasure to read that our guests had a nice and relaxing experience in our resort.

We would love to welcome you again with us. Don't hesitate to contact us if we can assist you with anything, it would really be a pleasure to see you again.

Kindest Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Not much to do in Freeport, so it's nice to see them try to make their hotel fun.

Buffet is fair, all inclusive drinks are weak, but to be expected. Never had a problem getting food or drink.

Wouldn't recommend to anyone, but if you're on a budget and aren't picky. This will work!

Ps. Staff is great

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamRes0rts, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Customer,

We would like to start by thanking your for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as your vacation destination.

We do appreciate your review about your recent stay in our facilities and we are happy to read you enjoy your stay and our staff .

We really hope to see you again in our property.

Kindest Regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Hotel itself is a bit out dated but I have definitely stayed at way worse. The hotel property is pretty small but I never had a problem getting a drink or food. There really isn't anything to do but the good was good and service was friendly. If you are looking to lay by the beach all day this hotel definitely works, but don't expect fantastic.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamRes0rts, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Customer,

We would like to say thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as your vacation destination.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed your experience here with us and all our staff. We also would like to thank you for share your experience with all the other customers and that you also to put your personal opinions and suggestion.
We would love to welcome again with us in our resort. Don’t hesitate to contact us if we can assist you with anything, it would really be a pleasure to see you again.


Regards,



General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Address: Doubloon Rd. & Churchill Dr., Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Freeport
Viva Fortuna
Freeport Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort
Club Viva Fortuna
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.