We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfied group” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Save Saved
You added Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Doubloon Rd. & Churchill Dr., Freeport, Grand Bahama Island   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 hotels in Freeport
Estherville, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Satisfied group”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I really do not know where those with the bad reviews stayed. Obviously they expected 5star for the price of a 3 star! We ,along with 10 other people, are currently at this resort. The rooms are clean,maid service great, the staff very friendly! We are having a great time. granted the food is typical buffet food but good. Lacks a little in flavor at times. The Italian restaurant was a little, no a lot, deceiving. We were asked if we wanted the surf and turf and of course 10 of said "yes" !
Come to find out it was $32.50 per person! They had a small sign near the door that was supposed to alert everyone to that fact. Big hit to all of us. Now after all our complaints they have a much larger sign and tell the patrons of the extra charge. Other than that, it's a very nice place. Beautiful beach!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest
We would like to say thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as your vacation destination.
We are thrilled to read how you enjoyed your experience here with us and all our staff and were pleased to read how you have enjoyed the food in all our restaurants, as well the activities and entertainment.
We also are happy about hearing that you enjoyed our rooms as well as what the beach and island offered to you.
We apologyze for the inconvenience in the Viva Cafe italian restaurant, but we are having a special offer right now in both a la cart restaurant with an upgrade (which is extra charge) for lobster or steak instead of the normal menu.
We would love to welcome again with us in our resort. Don’t hesitate to contact us if we can assist you with anything. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.
On behalf of the staff and management here, we would like to thank you once again, for not only your generous hospitality, but for your positive review also, for all our upcoming guests to read. It is always appreciated.

Kindest Regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,804 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    427
    886
    650
    400
    441
See reviews for
627
1057
51
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach for 7 days, Feb 12 to 19, 2013. We found the room very clean, the maids very friendly, the food in the buffet restaurant was great, the staff was very friendly. The beach was beautiful with lots of chairs. The sea was cold, but once in, it was o.k. The pool was cold. The weather was very nice. Entertainment was Excellent. Way to go Hector and friends. Overall, if your looking to relax or go out and see it's sights, it is the perfect place. We would come back again. The price was right. GREAT BANG FOR YOUR BUCK ROBOCOP! I LIKE MY BEAT FAST AND MY BASS DOWN LOW!!! THANKS FOR THE FREE RUM...ALL INCLUSIVE!!!

Room Tip: Tip: Get a room away from the pool. 7204 is a great choice. Jeannie was a great housekeeper. Rentin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort as your vacation destination.
We are thrilled to read how much fun you all had whilst staying here, especially to see that you enjoyed our amenities provided for you, such not only your room, the food in all our restaurants, the bar and pool and of course the service provided by all our staff.
On behalf of the staff and management here, we would like to thank you once again, for not only your generous hospitality, but for your positive review also, for all our upcoming guests to read. It is always appreciated.
We would love to welcome you all again with us in our resort. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.


Kindest Regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just got back from an amazing week stay at Viva Wyndham! A great value for the money! Packed with activities, tasty, healthy food, and great nightly entertainment. We were honestly scared to go and almost cancelled based on some previous reviews. What a mistake that would have been! We are a family of 5 with 3 children ranging from 6-11 yrs. The kids were constantly busy with all the activities and hanging out with all the other kids. They especially loved the trapeze, kayaking, and the readily available virgin pina coladas. The kids club was very nice also. The staff played games with all ages and kept the pool area a lot of fun. I loved the trapeze, archery, and daily beach side yoga. My husband was happy to able to go diving right off premise. The drinks are very good. Although it is not top shelf liquor, we never got a headache from it. The food is plentiful and varied. The Italian restaurant was very good and the brick oven pizza available till 2am was really delicious. We spent very little money besides the all inclusive as everything was included. The nightly entertainment that we saw was really very good and varied. We didn't make it to the entertainment every night as the day is filled with activity and we were tired. Our room (Bldg A) was very close to the beach, trapeze and main bar and you could hear the music while we tried to sleep. Most nights we were too tired to let the music keep us from sleeping. The kids slept through it all. The rooms were very nice and clean. The housekeeper was very pleasant and always had the room smelling like bleach, and had clean towels for us. The only thing in the room that needed better cleaning was the base of the toilet bowl. I am a clean freak and that was the only thing that could have been better with the room. The beds were very comfortable and linens were a crisp white. We had a problem with the room safe and they sent someone up to the room to fix it immediately. Most of the staff was very nice and all of the guests we interacted with seemed to love the place as much as we did. You will know all the staff by name before you leave as they are ever present and very much responsible for the good time we had. I don't think they sleep or ever get a day off. Their energy is always high though. I felt very safe there but security is plentiful as well. You do have to get up to go get yourself a drink so this is not the place to stay if you need to be waited on hand and foot. As for the vendors on the beach, as soon as you said no, they went away. There was a local woman named Jackie on the beach that braided hair and she overcharged and argued with people. Use the ladies at the table who are part of the resort. They were very nice.
We came home relaxed and refreshed. We rarely go to the same destination twice,as we love to travel and try new things, but we honestly loved this place and can't wait to go back.
To the entertainment staff - Robocop thanks you for a great time!

Room Tip: Building A is very close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort for your vacation destination for you and your family.
First of all it is always a pleasure to read how our guests enjoyed their vacation experience with us at our resort and that you like your husband and kids had a great time in Grand Bahama Island not only our premises with all the daily and nightly activities water sports, trapeze and of curse glad to hear about the Diving experience.
Also we are thrilled to read about your opinion in our food and beverage variety regarding as well that each guest is unique and also we have a very large variety of guest from all over the globe.
Mentioning about our Staff members we are please to read and is always nice to get recognition from the big part of them, and not least that we have in progress our Staff members training in Hospitality for all international Guests in all our Departments in our Resorts, and your review help us to improve and do better in a future knowing that our guest should have 100% stressed free vacations.
although we apologize for the vendors and the way they disturbed you and your husband, however, unfortunately they are allowed up to a certain amount in distance between the shore line and the beach. We have security on call 24/7, so if there does become an issue we contact our security and they deal with the situation
Ending on behalf of the staff and management here, we would like to thank you once again, for not only your generous hospitality, but for your positive review also, for all our upcoming guests to read. It is always appreciated.
We would be honoured to welcome you and your family again with us in our resort thinking that there is lots more to explore in our islands with the most amazing Diving Experience for your husband and lots more activities for your children; plus our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.


Kindest regards


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I just returned from a five night stay at the Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach resort in the Bahamas. As a family who travels extensively and in fact, have been to quite a few three-star all-inclusive resorts, this sadly did not live up to even our expectations.

First, I think it is misleading to think of this as a Wyndham property. It is clearly a local property that Wyndham purchased but they brand name does not help strengthen its offerings. It is tiny! Although there are a lot of rooms and it initially appears spacious, there are only a few people there and we knew everybody within the first day of being on the resort. There is also only one dining room, one main bar, one pool bar/pool buffet and two (need reservation) restaurants. That is slim pickings for food and drink. The food is bland and lacks variety. We saw the same food out there everyday and it was very unappetizing. We only went to the Cafe Viva, the Italian restaurant, which was better than the dining hall. The buffet of food at the pool is even less appetizing and tasty. They offer the same things everyday: hamburgers, hot dogs, nachos (with a cheese sauce), chicken nuggets (seriously dry and gross!), french fries and pizza slices. In theory, this sounds great as snack food, but in reality, it really was sub-par.

Rooms: We stayed in a Vista room, recently renovated, but even that seems to be incomplete. The bathroom had missing tiles, uneven ledges and plumbing that clearly needs to be updated. Not enough to complain about on its own, but when you factor that in with the fact that we were cooped up in the room for extended periods of time due to the weather, it was noticed. If you stay in the A wing and have an ocean front view, you will likely hear the DJ and loud music kick up from 11-1 am, after the nightly shows. It didn't bother us but you could hear everything.

February: If you are considering traveling this month, do not travel in February. Of our five nights there, we lost three days to cold weather and rain. Even when it was sunny, it was not warm. The pool is unheated and COLD and the ocean is cold as well. Our one-year-old could not go into the water at all which seriously dampened our experience.

For Parents:
- Milk: Ask any of the waiters or waitresses in the dining hall to fill up your baby bottles with milk and they will be able to help. We didn't have any problems with this.
- Water: The resort gives you one bottle of water when you check in and then you have to get it filled in either the bar or the dining hall.
- Bathrooms: Our bathroom only had a standing shower, no tub. This is a pain in the butt when you have a one year old who needs a shower. Might have to ask if there are other room types with tubs.
- Food: There really is a lack of variety of food, but the basics for kids (cereal, pizza, sandwiches) are available.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to start with a thank you, for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach resort as your vacation destination for you and your family.

We apologize for not meeting up with your standards and expectations. However, concerning our food and beverage departments, each guest is unique and has different expectations. Our cuisine offers a great variety of options every day in meats, pasta, fish, salads, desserts and appetizers not to mention that we always have a Supervisor and Main Chef in area to elevate any concerned as may arise to assist any guests and special needs. Although we truly regret you could not find something of your preference

Also, we apologize if you encounter any situation with your room and our Room services, yet as well we regret not having the opportunity to meet you and take care of your needs as unique and making sure you have a great experience here with us.

Although we cannot change what has happened in the past, we will utilize your comments for improvement in the future.

On behalf of the staff and management here at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, we would like to apologize once more for the uncomfortable experience you encountered with us, yet we would like to thank you for your hospitality and honest review.


Kindest Regards,



General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We travel alot.We've car camped,stayed at Hostels,5 star resorts,and everything in between. We are NOT overly picky or critical but this place does not deserve a 3 star rating.The check in staff was rude, unfriendly and not helpful and the lobby was full of people who did not look like they were very happy. Now to the room....They put us in a room over looking the trapize and very close to the main bar/night club.The linens were stained/dirty, the mattresses were VERY used and old and uncomfortable, the closet didn't have both doors, only one, and the one it had was broken off it's runner so you couldn't even hang up your clothes, the floors were dirty, the furnature was very beat up, the mini fridge was rusty and dirty and the door wouldn't stay shut at all.They give you one bottle of water with a note to go to the bar to refill it if you want more frest water, the curtains were falling off. The bathroom was bad, bad...There was mold, the sink basin had cigarette burn marks on it, the sink itself was all cracked, there was no toilet paper roll holder, so the TP was just sitting on the counter, there was urine all over the toilet from top to bottom, just gross! And this was just getting in the room, so we called the front desk to tell them what we found and ask for another room and got put on hold and instantly transfered to a voice mail(never got a call back or anyone to check on the room).So my husband went down to the desk to ask for another room only to get the "we don't have any availble" speech, but check with us maybe tomorrow. So we had no choice but to stay in that room. So right outside the balcony was the trapize, pool and very loud speakers with music and constant entertainment people trying to get people to do activities. VERY noisey day and night. So we threw on our suit's and decided to get a snack and drink and go to the beach where we were instantly accosted by people wanting to braid hair, buy this and that, go on a paid boat ride.This is just not relaxing to us at all. So nite came and we went to sleep only to be awaoken by this glass door and walls ratteling from the booming loud music at the club. By the third nite we demanded a different room that was more quite, and it was, but when we got to it, it hadn't been cleaned from the previous people's stay, but once it was cleaned and we could re unpack, we finally got the peace and quiet we had wanted in the first place. The food, when available, was, at best, ettable, very cheap ingredients The high lite to our whole trip was that my husband got a rental car and we were able to leave the resort. I know this is all very negative but it's true. On the positive, the beach was very pretty and the water was warm, some of the bar tenders were very nice and had great personallities and the coffee bar in the mornings was worth waiting untill 8:30am to get a cappachino. We are in our early forties but not big partiers, but not old fuddy duds either, but what we really wanted was to just relax and get some sun.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep in peace, request a room away from the night club, or you will be woke up EVERY...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to start with a thank you, for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach resort as your vacation destination.

First of all we would like to apologize for not meeting up to your standards and expectations. However, concerning our food and beverage departments, each guest is unique and has different expectations. Our cuisine offers a great variety of options every day in meats, pasta, fish, salads, desserts and appetizers. Although we truly regret you could not find something of your preference.

And we regret not having an opportunity to meet you and your husband while on property, not to mention that we have systems in place to address each concern as they arise. More importantly, we believe that our invaluable clients are deserving of a worry-free vacation.

We Apologize also the experience you both had not only at check in, with the room situation and beyond but through your stay, although we cannot change what has happened in the past, we will utilize your comments for improvement in the future.

Also, we apologize for the vendors and the way they disturbed you and your husband, however, unfortunately they are allowed up to a certain amount in distance between the shore line and the beach. We have security on call 24/7, so if there does become an issue we contact our security and they deal with the situation.

On behalf of the staff and management here at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, we would like to apologize once more for the uncomfortable experience you encountered with us, yet we would like to thank you for your hospitality and honest review.

Kindest Regards,


Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I was surprised at the good value for money this hotel offers in the Bahamas. The rooms are basic but clean... the food is good though lacking in variety if compared to other all-inclusive hotels I visited. Overall the food and drinks are free if considered the all-inclusive rate is lower than other hotels that doesn't offer all-inclusive.

The day before I arrived they installed a WiFi system to cover all the rooms... Prior to this internet was only available in the common areas... THIS IS A GREAT IMPROVEMENT and elevates this hotel to position number 1 of my list of preferred places to stay while working in Grand Bahamas island!

For business travelers you have to deal with the additional distance to travel daily but its well worth it in the end.

Though this hotel isn't the most luxurious its definitively the best value for money I have found in the Bahamas this far..

Room Tip: Book on internet for best prices. The beach rooms are not much more expensive.. well worth the extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to say thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as your vacation destination.
We are glad to read how you enjoyed your experience here with us not only the amenities that we provide also the services that we are implementing in all our resort we new and renew WIFI System and more activities also for guest to enjoy, and make their experience unique in Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach.
Once again we would like to say thank you for your opinion and comments for others future guests to read about our Facilities amenities and services. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.


Kindest regards,



General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach for 6 days, Feb 11 to Feb 16, 2013. The rooms were clean and some staff where friendly. The food at the buffet was not bad but they took to long to replenished any of the food. If you wanted beer they had to go to the bar to get it. They have two La carte restaurants one was Italian and Asian. The Italian was good but the Asian one was horrible the shrimp was rotten. The beach was nice and to walk on. We made the best out of the time that we were there. I won't recommend this to anyone I know and I wouldn't recommend this to others as well. This is what you get for when your staying at a 3 star resort. You get what you paid for. I have learnt my lesson.

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to start with a thank you, for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach resort as your vacation destination.

We apologize for not meeting up to your standards and expectations. However, concerning our food and beverage departments, each guest is unique and has different expectations. Our cuisine offers a great variety of options every day in meats, pasta, fish, salads, desserts and appetizers; and we have never received any other type of call about our Beverage either. Although we truly regret you could not find something of your preference.

We regret not having an opportunity to meet with you while you were on property, not to mention systems in place to address each concern as they arise. More importantly, we believe that our invaluable clients are deserving of a worry-free vacation.

Also, we apologize for unfortunate situation that may occurred wilts your stay in our Beach property yet we do have security on call 24/7, so if there does become an issue we contact our security and they deal with the situation.

Although we cannot change what has happened in the past, we will utilize your comments for improvement in the future; Yet we would like to mention that its has been plenty of changes since Nov. 2012 to date, starting from our Main Restaurant and they speciality nights with more variety and more update also in breakfast and Lunch menus between others.

On behalf of the staff and management here at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, we would like to apologize once more for the uncomfortable experience you encountered with us, yet we would like to thank you for your hospitality and honest review.
Kindest Regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Address: Doubloon Rd. & Churchill Dr., Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Freeport
Viva Fortuna
Freeport Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort
Club Viva Fortuna
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.