We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Try, But Needs Help” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach to your Saves list
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Doubloon Rd. & Churchill Dr., Freeport, Grand Bahama Island   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Freeport
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Good Try, But Needs Help”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I just returned from a five night stay at the Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach resort in the Bahamas. As a family who travels extensively and in fact, have been to quite a few three-star all-inclusive resorts, this sadly did not live up to even our expectations.

First, I think it is misleading to think of this as a Wyndham property. It is clearly a local property that Wyndham purchased but they brand name does not help strengthen its offerings. It is tiny! Although there are a lot of rooms and it initially appears spacious, there are only a few people there and we knew everybody within the first day of being on the resort. There is also only one dining room, one main bar, one pool bar/pool buffet and two (need reservation) restaurants. That is slim pickings for food and drink. The food is bland and lacks variety. We saw the same food out there everyday and it was very unappetizing. We only went to the Cafe Viva, the Italian restaurant, which was better than the dining hall. The buffet of food at the pool is even less appetizing and tasty. They offer the same things everyday: hamburgers, hot dogs, nachos (with a cheese sauce), chicken nuggets (seriously dry and gross!), french fries and pizza slices. In theory, this sounds great as snack food, but in reality, it really was sub-par.

Rooms: We stayed in a Vista room, recently renovated, but even that seems to be incomplete. The bathroom had missing tiles, uneven ledges and plumbing that clearly needs to be updated. Not enough to complain about on its own, but when you factor that in with the fact that we were cooped up in the room for extended periods of time due to the weather, it was noticed. If you stay in the A wing and have an ocean front view, you will likely hear the DJ and loud music kick up from 11-1 am, after the nightly shows. It didn't bother us but you could hear everything.

February: If you are considering traveling this month, do not travel in February. Of our five nights there, we lost three days to cold weather and rain. Even when it was sunny, it was not warm. The pool is unheated and COLD and the ocean is cold as well. Our one-year-old could not go into the water at all which seriously dampened our experience.

For Parents:
- Milk: Ask any of the waiters or waitresses in the dining hall to fill up your baby bottles with milk and they will be able to help. We didn't have any problems with this.
- Water: The resort gives you one bottle of water when you check in and then you have to get it filled in either the bar or the dining hall.
- Bathrooms: Our bathroom only had a standing shower, no tub. This is a pain in the butt when you have a one year old who needs a shower. Might have to ask if there are other room types with tubs.
- Food: There really is a lack of variety of food, but the basics for kids (cereal, pizza, sandwiches) are available.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to start with a thank you, for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach resort as your vacation destination for you and your family.

We apologize for not meeting up with your standards and expectations. However, concerning our food and beverage departments, each guest is unique and has different expectations. Our cuisine offers a great variety of options every day in meats, pasta, fish, salads, desserts and appetizers not to mention that we always have a Supervisor and Main Chef in area to elevate any concerned as may arise to assist any guests and special needs. Although we truly regret you could not find something of your preference

Also, we apologize if you encounter any situation with your room and our Room services, yet as well we regret not having the opportunity to meet you and take care of your needs as unique and making sure you have a great experience here with us.

Although we cannot change what has happened in the past, we will utilize your comments for improvement in the future.

On behalf of the staff and management here at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, we would like to apologize once more for the uncomfortable experience you encountered with us, yet we would like to thank you for your hospitality and honest review.


Kindest Regards,



General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    908
    669
    419
    460
See reviews for
649
1,087
54
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We travel alot.We've car camped,stayed at Hostels,5 star resorts,and everything in between. We are NOT overly picky or critical but this place does not deserve a 3 star rating.The check in staff was rude, unfriendly and not helpful and the lobby was full of people who did not look like they were very happy. Now to the room....They put us in a room over looking the trapize and very close to the main bar/night club.The linens were stained/dirty, the mattresses were VERY used and old and uncomfortable, the closet didn't have both doors, only one, and the one it had was broken off it's runner so you couldn't even hang up your clothes, the floors were dirty, the furnature was very beat up, the mini fridge was rusty and dirty and the door wouldn't stay shut at all.They give you one bottle of water with a note to go to the bar to refill it if you want more frest water, the curtains were falling off. The bathroom was bad, bad...There was mold, the sink basin had cigarette burn marks on it, the sink itself was all cracked, there was no toilet paper roll holder, so the TP was just sitting on the counter, there was urine all over the toilet from top to bottom, just gross! And this was just getting in the room, so we called the front desk to tell them what we found and ask for another room and got put on hold and instantly transfered to a voice mail(never got a call back or anyone to check on the room).So my husband went down to the desk to ask for another room only to get the "we don't have any availble" speech, but check with us maybe tomorrow. So we had no choice but to stay in that room. So right outside the balcony was the trapize, pool and very loud speakers with music and constant entertainment people trying to get people to do activities. VERY noisey day and night. So we threw on our suit's and decided to get a snack and drink and go to the beach where we were instantly accosted by people wanting to braid hair, buy this and that, go on a paid boat ride.This is just not relaxing to us at all. So nite came and we went to sleep only to be awaoken by this glass door and walls ratteling from the booming loud music at the club. By the third nite we demanded a different room that was more quite, and it was, but when we got to it, it hadn't been cleaned from the previous people's stay, but once it was cleaned and we could re unpack, we finally got the peace and quiet we had wanted in the first place. The food, when available, was, at best, ettable, very cheap ingredients The high lite to our whole trip was that my husband got a rental car and we were able to leave the resort. I know this is all very negative but it's true. On the positive, the beach was very pretty and the water was warm, some of the bar tenders were very nice and had great personallities and the coffee bar in the mornings was worth waiting untill 8:30am to get a cappachino. We are in our early forties but not big partiers, but not old fuddy duds either, but what we really wanted was to just relax and get some sun.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep in peace, request a room away from the night club, or you will be woke up EVERY...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to start with a thank you, for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach resort as your vacation destination.

First of all we would like to apologize for not meeting up to your standards and expectations. However, concerning our food and beverage departments, each guest is unique and has different expectations. Our cuisine offers a great variety of options every day in meats, pasta, fish, salads, desserts and appetizers. Although we truly regret you could not find something of your preference.

And we regret not having an opportunity to meet you and your husband while on property, not to mention that we have systems in place to address each concern as they arise. More importantly, we believe that our invaluable clients are deserving of a worry-free vacation.

We Apologize also the experience you both had not only at check in, with the room situation and beyond but through your stay, although we cannot change what has happened in the past, we will utilize your comments for improvement in the future.

Also, we apologize for the vendors and the way they disturbed you and your husband, however, unfortunately they are allowed up to a certain amount in distance between the shore line and the beach. We have security on call 24/7, so if there does become an issue we contact our security and they deal with the situation.

On behalf of the staff and management here at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, we would like to apologize once more for the uncomfortable experience you encountered with us, yet we would like to thank you for your hospitality and honest review.

Kindest Regards,


Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I was surprised at the good value for money this hotel offers in the Bahamas. The rooms are basic but clean... the food is good though lacking in variety if compared to other all-inclusive hotels I visited. Overall the food and drinks are free if considered the all-inclusive rate is lower than other hotels that doesn't offer all-inclusive.

The day before I arrived they installed a WiFi system to cover all the rooms... Prior to this internet was only available in the common areas... THIS IS A GREAT IMPROVEMENT and elevates this hotel to position number 1 of my list of preferred places to stay while working in Grand Bahamas island!

For business travelers you have to deal with the additional distance to travel daily but its well worth it in the end.

Though this hotel isn't the most luxurious its definitively the best value for money I have found in the Bahamas this far..

Room Tip: Book on internet for best prices. The beach rooms are not much more expensive.. well worth the extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to say thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as your vacation destination.
We are glad to read how you enjoyed your experience here with us not only the amenities that we provide also the services that we are implementing in all our resort we new and renew WIFI System and more activities also for guest to enjoy, and make their experience unique in Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach.
Once again we would like to say thank you for your opinion and comments for others future guests to read about our Facilities amenities and services. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.


Kindest regards,



General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach for 6 days, Feb 11 to Feb 16, 2013. The rooms were clean and some staff where friendly. The food at the buffet was not bad but they took to long to replenished any of the food. If you wanted beer they had to go to the bar to get it. They have two La carte restaurants one was Italian and Asian. The Italian was good but the Asian one was horrible the shrimp was rotten. The beach was nice and to walk on. We made the best out of the time that we were there. I won't recommend this to anyone I know and I wouldn't recommend this to others as well. This is what you get for when your staying at a 3 star resort. You get what you paid for. I have learnt my lesson.

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to start with a thank you, for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach resort as your vacation destination.

We apologize for not meeting up to your standards and expectations. However, concerning our food and beverage departments, each guest is unique and has different expectations. Our cuisine offers a great variety of options every day in meats, pasta, fish, salads, desserts and appetizers; and we have never received any other type of call about our Beverage either. Although we truly regret you could not find something of your preference.

We regret not having an opportunity to meet with you while you were on property, not to mention systems in place to address each concern as they arise. More importantly, we believe that our invaluable clients are deserving of a worry-free vacation.

Also, we apologize for unfortunate situation that may occurred wilts your stay in our Beach property yet we do have security on call 24/7, so if there does become an issue we contact our security and they deal with the situation.

Although we cannot change what has happened in the past, we will utilize your comments for improvement in the future; Yet we would like to mention that its has been plenty of changes since Nov. 2012 to date, starting from our Main Restaurant and they speciality nights with more variety and more update also in breakfast and Lunch menus between others.

On behalf of the staff and management here at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, we would like to apologize once more for the uncomfortable experience you encountered with us, yet we would like to thank you for your hospitality and honest review.
Kindest Regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

after Nassau, Freeport is really the perfect location to slow down and to enjoy Bahamas. the Viva Wyndham is great pace to stay. food is ok, people are nice, beach is perfect, water activities like snorkeling possible (and inclusive). only one thing: beds are not stable enough for honey moon couples ;-)

Room Tip: if you are not happy with the room you got, ask for another one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

So for weeks prior to going to viva fortuna beach, I read the reviews. I do believe that most people are just too picky and maybe a bit spoiled...you know, want a lot for nothing. We had rainy weather and not very warm temperatures...no fault at all of viva wyndham. The beach was absolutely gorgeous which was the whole reason for our vacations.....to get away from snow and go to the beach! Our first room was a garden view room but we had paid for an ocean view room. The telephone did not work in the room nor did the hot water in the shower (although the hot water did work in the sink). They changed our room to an ocean view and it did have working hot water and working phone. We had to wait 2 hours for clean washcloths and towels as our new room had just been vacated. The food was what one should expect from a buffet. A decent selection, not everything was great but not one of us ever left a meal hungry. The burgers are great and the pasta salad was a huge hit. I found the drinks sufficient...after all we went there to enjoy the beach, not to get drunk. The coffee in the main bar was fantastic! The entertainment staff did a great job. They were very good at keeping everyone entertained and laughing. My kids loved it. I found all of the staff to be incredibly friendly. All in all, a great little getaway although now I hear march and April are the best months to come...warm and dry. I would go back especially for the price and because its not too far of a trip.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for ocean view room....you can hear the ocean best that way
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Arrived by cruise to stay at the "all inclusive" hotel for 2 days an even though it wasn't a bad place to stay it could be a lot better if it was more put together and freshened up.

This is the first time I ever thought about reviewing anything and believe me I'm always positive Peggy so even writing this should say something.

Cons:
Bathrooms- they were in need of the most work, the shower head was broke, the sink had a huge crack that was just glued back together, the fixtures didn't match at all, everything was poorly fixed. Our toilet stopped working 3 times, and the phone in the room didn't work at all which isn't ideal when your in the furthest building from the main office an cant call to take advantage of the free room service or ask any questions. The view we had was of a chain link fence with a broke down car on the other side with tons of trash all around.
Not to mention the coffee maker was in the bathroom less than half a foot from the toilet which is a little gross lol

Time management-
We arrived at 9:30 by shuttle from the cruise ship an had to wait till 3:00 pm exactly before we could check in, which is very frustrating. especially when you only have a day an a half at the hotel, It was nice that they put our luggage in storage for us an allowed us to use all the hotel amenities but if we needed clothes to change into after using the amenities, like the pool etc we had to go check out luggage from storage room (if you could find the bell man) then get it out open it on the sidewalk get clothes, go change, then come out clothes back in, it was just a hassle so me an my husband basically did nothing for 5 1/2 hours but walk around an look at the beautiful waters so it was more frustrating then horrible, but still.

Excursions:
Not many to choose from that are considered fun or reasonable, swimming with the dolphins is almost $200 a person an you only get a very very small amount of time with them. Also if you came by cruise usually you only have the day an half there and most of the excursions are only offered a certain day of the week and by the time you get to check into your room the first day the excursions are over for the day.

Shows & activities: there is not much to do after dark an the stuff there is to do like the shows, aren't that kid friendly, even though we didn't bring our young son I saw many parents that did bring their children, getting up an leaving due to the sexual and inappropriate things being done an said over an over again which would make me think twice about bringing our son back when he got older.

Food: you get what you pay for I guess. The "all inclusive" resort title made us excited and quick to upgrade and pay the extra $400 dollars that we did because we thought it would be more beneficial considering the food, drinks & activites were "included". The buffet food is the same foods over and over everyday an kind of got old and didn't really taste that great but it wasn't the worse either I guess. The restaurants they do offer you have to make reservations for and they book fast. We got reservations for one night bc we were tired of the buffet food an the Italian food restaurant was the same stuff as the buffet mostly, the pizza was the same an the stuff that was different, like the ravioli I got was only 5 small ravioli pieces in a huge plate so I left hungry anyways...and last but not least the "free" drinks were nothing great they were all premade with only a little bit of alcohol added on top an mixed in and they are served in a cafeteria plastic cup that makes it feel nothing like a fun relaxing vacation.

All in all the beautiful sand an water make up for most of the little annoying and frustrating parts of the stay here and most of the people were really outgoing an nice, the area outside of the hotel is pretty run down an under developed but like I said its wasn't horrible & we made the best of the alone time together but would I go back? Probably not.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to start with a thank you, for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach resort as your vacation destination.

First of all we apologize for not meeting up to some of your standards and expectations. However, concerning our food and beverage departments, each guest is unique and has different expectations. Our cuisine offers a great variety of options every day in meats, pasta, fish, salads, desserts and appetizers. Although we truly regret you could not find something of your preference; and regarding about our rooms we would like to let you know that we have in progress a renovation system for near future to make sure that each guest has the greatest and unique experience in their most waited vacations.

We regret not having an opportunity to meet with you while you were on property, not to mention systems in place to address each concern as they arise. More importantly, we believe that our invaluable clients are deserving of a worry-free vacation.

Also, we apologize for any situation that may occurred whilst in our property, like the your opinion about the nightly shows and excursions yet we would like to let you know that we have fallowed with our procedures and make sure to let the personnel responsible aware of for due better for guest to enjoy fully.

Although we cannot change what has happened in the past, we will utilize your comments for improvement in the future.

On behalf of the staff and management here at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, we would like to apologize once more for the experience you encountered with us, yet we would like to thank you for your hospitality and honest review.


Kindest Regards,


General Manager.
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Address: Doubloon Rd. & Churchill Dr., Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Freeport
Viva Fortuna
Freeport Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort
Club Viva Fortuna
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.