We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shore Excursion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach to your Saves list
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Doubloon Rd. & Churchill Dr., Freeport, Grand Bahama Island   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Freeport
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Shore Excursion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We booked a day at this resort as a shore excursion while we were on a Norwegian cruise. 3 couples spent a mostly cloudy,breezy not so warm day there but we had a blast. Food was good,drinks plentiful and lots of varieties. We stayed mostly at the hot tub area due to the cool temperatures but the resort over all seemed nice. Definitely not 4 star, maybe 2.5 or 3.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for visiting us at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort for your Daily Excursion
We are pleased to read how much you enjoyed our Promises not only our beautiful beach and the all inclusive meals and drinks provided also due weather conditions that still have a great time here with us.
On behalf of the staff and management, we would like to thank you once more for your positive review and for your hospitality and for other future guests to read.
Kindest Regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    1,113
    823
    502
    502
See reviews for
838
1,328
67
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (710)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Spent the day at the Wyndham while on a carnival cruise. Beach was beautiful, lots of debris, but big with many chairs. Pool was large, but unheated, so difficult to swim in this time of year. Food was TERRIBLE!! This was the biggest let down of the day. Overall, good for a day excursion, but would not want to spend more time than that.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to start by saying thank you for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort for your Shore Excursion Experience.

Although we would like to apologize for not meeting up to your expectations during you stay with us, yet we would like you to understand how grateful we are to read your review and that after all you all had a good time enjoying our premises and beach and amenities.

However, concerning our food and beverage departments, we receive positives comments about our meals and beverages; yet each guest is unique and has different expectations. Our cuisine offers a great variety of options every day in meats, pasta, fish, salads, desserts and appetizers. Although we truly regret you could not find something of your preference.

On behalf of the staff and management here at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, we would like to apologize once more for your kind of experience you encountered with us, yet we would like to thank you for your hospitality and honest review.

Kindest Regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Just returned from from five nights at this resort. Had a wonderful time. A friend had a wedding on the beach which was beautiful. Rooms were spacious, clean, and had a Great View of rhe Ocean. The staff were more than willing to help with any need. My only complaints were that they had no shuttle service. $25 to and from the airport, $20 to shopping and Casino. All in All it is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Bring a large mug. They will fill it at the bar with any drink you like and you don't have to ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest
We would like to say thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as your vacation destination.
We are glad to read how you enjoyed your experience here with us and all our staff and were pleased to read how you have enjoyed the food and beverage and our Services in our Promises.
We also are happy about hearing that you enjoyed our rooms as well as what the beach and island offered to you, and of curse not to mention that we are glad that we could cover all the needs necessary for your friends to have the most amazing time on their wedding here with us.
We would love to welcome again with us in our resort. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.

Kindest regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester, new york
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Ok, the resort isn’t as bad as people say it is, My wife and I have been traveling to resorts over the last 18 years and know how to rate a resort pretty good. Sure there are a few issues but with all the hurricanes what can you expect and they are updating. I found everyone to be friendly especially Charlie when you first arrive. I had no trouble sleeping, the room was clean and everything in the bathroom worked. I didn’t have any trouble finding something to eat, my wife is pickier than I but she was never hungry, I found all the food and bar area’s nice and clean. There is a gift shop and a typical drug store, if you can’t find a t-shirt or something just go to the beach and find the woman selling those types of items, she is nice and will bring back your size or style the next day. The beach is huge, free of straws, cigarette butts and there were ample beach chairs even when the cruise ship people showed up which isn’t as bad as people made it out to be. The beach grill & bar you can help yourself except for booze. Breakfast and buffet dinner was also help yourself including coffee, juice and beverages but the ladies cleared your plates away quickly. For the money you can’t beat the resort and it’s always what you make of the vacation so have a few drinks and relax! This was the first time on this Island and I can tell you these are the friendliest and laid back people you’ll meet in a long time. Careful with the Goombay Smash drinks! I’m going to rate this property a 4 because I went with low expectations and I was happily surprised. Kurt- Travel dates 1/19-22/13.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort as your vacation destination.
We are thrilled to read how much fun you had whilst staying here, especially to see that you enjoyed our amenities provided for you, not only your room and the accommodation, the food in all our restaurants, the bar and pool and of course the service provided by all our staff.
Also were glad to see that we have covered and passed your standards and expectations, regarding that each guest is unique and we are grateful that you have trusted and enjoyed our products.
On behalf of the staff and management here, we would like to thank you once again, for not only your generous hospitality, but for your positive review also, for all our upcoming guests to read. It is always appreciated.
We would love to welcome again with us in our resort our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.
Kindest Regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We just returned from a 3 night stay (January 25-28). It is decent property - not fancy but for the price we paid it was well worth it. The beach is very nice and pretty private. The hotel staff was great - so friendly and happy to provide their service. We ate at the buffet for breakfast and lunch - they have a good selection. The made to omlet station was very good as were the cooked to order cheeseburgers. We had dinner two nights at Viva Cafe (Italian) and it was very good - service in here is exceptional. The alcohol is the bottom of the barrell - hard to get a decent drink although they will make them as strong as you want - just ask. We didn't do the entertainment at night but took a taxi into Port LUcaya - went to the casino each night for a bit and did okay - it was never crowded here. Ate one night in Port Lucaya at Pices Restaurant and the food was good although service was not. It was quiet everywhere we went. The weather was great with daily temperatures in the high seventies - the water was cold but we really just wanted to sit in the sun. $25 cab ride to and from the airport and $15 each way into Port Lucaya. As I said for what we paid it was fine but wouldn't plan to return as there are many places we prefer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Viva Wyndham blew my low expectations away. The place is clean, staff are great, and the food is fine. From talking to other people, seems some of the rooms have different amenities. Our room had two comfortable double beds and ample storage space. The new flatscreen tv picked up lots of english speaking channels from the U.S., and CBC from Toronto for all you Canadians wanting your Saturday night hockey fix. The higher channels also had a variety of galaxy music. The bathroom was ok and the shower had great pressure and lots of hot water daily. Only complaint is there were no holders in the shower for soap and only one little towel rack. No hooks on the back of the bathroom door either. FOOD and DRINKS: The buffet was good overall. Theme nights are Monday (Mexican), Wednesday (Bahamian), and Friday (Italian). Lots of fresh fruits and veggies in the buffet (I had my daily banana). Usually had some kind of a roast and you could get things cooked fresh from the grill. We enjoyed both of the a la carte restuarants. Make you reservation at the Guest Service Desk in the lobby. The spring rolls were a great appetizer in the Asian. Caesar salad was enjoyable in the Italian. The Italian also brings you fresh bread and butter. Had the breaded pork (a little salty but good) and my girlfriend loved the eggplant parmigiana. The house red wine was more than adequate and the three beers (sands, sands light, and (something) lager) were all quite drinkable. The spirits were all low branded versions and I found them ok. The vodka, gin, and rum were all fine. Coca-cola fountain pop (coke, diet-coke, orange etc. is self serve and located in the buffet, beach, and the main bar. The bar has a posted closing time of 12:30 a.m., although it usually stayed open longer. The bar at the beach stays open much later during the weekly beach party. The snack bar at the beach (11:00-5:00) has burgers, hotdogs, fries, pizza, sandwhiches, nachos and chesse, and chicken nuggets??(at least that's what they called them). Late night pizza is served from 10:30 p.m. until 1:30 at the pizza bar located by the Italian a la carte. Other: The staff is very friendly and professional. I enjoyed chatting with several of them during my stay. There is one short, skinny and creepy staff member whose job it is apparently to hit on EVERY woman there. Other than him I can't express how great these people are. The beach was absolutley beautiful and there are many loungers available to guests. Towel hut is located by the pool where the blaring music comes from. Nightly entertainment was as expected. There apparently is a weekly trapeeze show which was cancelled when we were there due to weather. Wifi at the resort worked well. The signal was strongest in the bar area but also worked from our room. There is no duty free at the airport. Only a bar where a beer will cost you $5.20 U.S.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort for your vacation destination.
First of all it is always a pleasure to read how our guests enjoyed their vacation experience with us at our resort and that you like your companion had a great time in Grand Bahama.
Also we are thrilled to read that we blow you expectations in our products, not only in our food and beverage variety regarding as well that each guest is unique and also we have a very large variety of guest from all over the globe also about our Bar and special menus in Themes nights at the Main Restaurant like in our Specialty Restaurant.
Mentioning about our Staff members we are please to read and is always nice to get recognition from the big part of them, and not least we have in progress our Staff members training in Hospitality for all international Guests in all our Departments in our Resorts, and your review help us to improve and do better in a future knowing that our guest should have 100% stressed free vacations and we would like to let you know that we have passed the matter to the personnel responsible, making sure that every little concern is been taking care of.
Ending on behalf of the staff and management here, we would like to thank you once again, for not only your generous hospitality, but for your positive review also, for all our upcoming guests to read. It is always appreciated.
We would love to welcome again with us in our resort thinking that there is lots more to explore in different locations in our Grand Bahama Island. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.
Kindest regards


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My boyfriend and i just came back from this extended weekend getaway last night. After booking the trip and reading hotel reviews we were both fairly nervous about what to expect when we arrived. I had read everything that a traveler doesnt want in a hotel- dirty, unfriendly staff, bad food. From the moment we arrived every negative review was put to rest. For a 4 day/3 night stay, we experienced nothing but a genuinely friendly staff looking to make your stay comfortable, nice selections of food from the buffet area, and an overall clean and updated atmosphere. Our room overlooked the beach and our balcony gave us amazing views of the ocean. There are several places to eat thru out the resort and each place was good. The outdoor beach bar serves grill style food which was great when we were on the beach. The buffet had something for everyone. People saying there are flies or birds or food was subpar should get off their high horse. You aren't eating at Wolfgang Puck's 5 star dining. You are at an all inclusive where food is not going to be gourmet filet mignons for lunch with truffles. The pool overlooks the beach and had a nice off set hot tub right behind it. My only negative was wifi was only in the lobby and main lounge areas so you couldnt be on your phones or laptops from the rooms. Overall i thought this was a great place for the money and offers alot for anyone on a budget.

Room Tip: we chose to upgrade our room to the vista room and had a balcony overlooking the beach. Definitely w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort for your vacation destination.
First of all we are glad to read how our guests enjoyed their vacation experience with us at our resort and that you like your boyfriend had a great time in our Property.
Also we are thrilled to read about your opinion in our food and beverage variety regarding as well that each guest is unique and there always going to be different standards and expectations and we are glad we have cover them all upon your arrival and through out your stay.
Yet we would like to let you know that we will be working on a new WIFI System where guest can also enjoy from rooms and other areas of the Resort.
Ending on behalf of the staff and management here, we would like to thank you once again, for not only your generous hospitality, but for your positive review also, for all our upcoming guests to read. It is always appreciated.
We would love to welcome you all again with us in our resort. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.
Kindest regards


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
3.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 16 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
2.9 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
3.4 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#4 of 16 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 stars 2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Memories Grand Bahama Beach and Casino Resort
3.3 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#2 of 16 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 stars 764 reviews
5.4 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#9 of 16 in Freeport
3.0 of 5 stars 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Address: Doubloon Rd. & Churchill Dr., Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Freeport
Viva Fortuna
Freeport Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort
Club Viva Fortuna
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.