We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Ready to Return"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Save Saved
You added Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Doubloon Rd. & Churchill Dr., Freeport, Grand Bahama Island   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 hotels in Freeport
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“"Ready to Return"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Just returned from from five nights at this resort. Had a wonderful time. A friend had a wedding on the beach which was beautiful. Rooms were spacious, clean, and had a Great View of rhe Ocean. The staff were more than willing to help with any need. My only complaints were that they had no shuttle service. $25 to and from the airport, $20 to shopping and Casino. All in All it is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Bring a large mug. They will fill it at the bar with any drink you like and you don't have to ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest
We would like to say thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as your vacation destination.
We are glad to read how you enjoyed your experience here with us and all our staff and were pleased to read how you have enjoyed the food and beverage and our Services in our Promises.
We also are happy about hearing that you enjoyed our rooms as well as what the beach and island offered to you, and of curse not to mention that we are glad that we could cover all the needs necessary for your friends to have the most amazing time on their wedding here with us.
We would love to welcome again with us in our resort. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.

Kindest regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,818 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    428
    892
    653
    405
    440
See reviews for
623
1056
51
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
rochester, new york
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Ok, the resort isn’t as bad as people say it is, My wife and I have been traveling to resorts over the last 18 years and know how to rate a resort pretty good. Sure there are a few issues but with all the hurricanes what can you expect and they are updating. I found everyone to be friendly especially Charlie when you first arrive. I had no trouble sleeping, the room was clean and everything in the bathroom worked. I didn’t have any trouble finding something to eat, my wife is pickier than I but she was never hungry, I found all the food and bar area’s nice and clean. There is a gift shop and a typical drug store, if you can’t find a t-shirt or something just go to the beach and find the woman selling those types of items, she is nice and will bring back your size or style the next day. The beach is huge, free of straws, cigarette butts and there were ample beach chairs even when the cruise ship people showed up which isn’t as bad as people made it out to be. The beach grill & bar you can help yourself except for booze. Breakfast and buffet dinner was also help yourself including coffee, juice and beverages but the ladies cleared your plates away quickly. For the money you can’t beat the resort and it’s always what you make of the vacation so have a few drinks and relax! This was the first time on this Island and I can tell you these are the friendliest and laid back people you’ll meet in a long time. Careful with the Goombay Smash drinks! I’m going to rate this property a 4 because I went with low expectations and I was happily surprised. Kurt- Travel dates 1/19-22/13.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort as your vacation destination.
We are thrilled to read how much fun you had whilst staying here, especially to see that you enjoyed our amenities provided for you, not only your room and the accommodation, the food in all our restaurants, the bar and pool and of course the service provided by all our staff.
Also were glad to see that we have covered and passed your standards and expectations, regarding that each guest is unique and we are grateful that you have trusted and enjoyed our products.
On behalf of the staff and management here, we would like to thank you once again, for not only your generous hospitality, but for your positive review also, for all our upcoming guests to read. It is always appreciated.
We would love to welcome again with us in our resort our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.
Kindest Regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We just returned from a 3 night stay (January 25-28). It is decent property - not fancy but for the price we paid it was well worth it. The beach is very nice and pretty private. The hotel staff was great - so friendly and happy to provide their service. We ate at the buffet for breakfast and lunch - they have a good selection. The made to omlet station was very good as were the cooked to order cheeseburgers. We had dinner two nights at Viva Cafe (Italian) and it was very good - service in here is exceptional. The alcohol is the bottom of the barrell - hard to get a decent drink although they will make them as strong as you want - just ask. We didn't do the entertainment at night but took a taxi into Port LUcaya - went to the casino each night for a bit and did okay - it was never crowded here. Ate one night in Port Lucaya at Pices Restaurant and the food was good although service was not. It was quiet everywhere we went. The weather was great with daily temperatures in the high seventies - the water was cold but we really just wanted to sit in the sun. $25 cab ride to and from the airport and $15 each way into Port Lucaya. As I said for what we paid it was fine but wouldn't plan to return as there are many places we prefer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Viva Wyndham blew my low expectations away. The place is clean, staff are great, and the food is fine. From talking to other people, seems some of the rooms have different amenities. Our room had two comfortable double beds and ample storage space. The new flatscreen tv picked up lots of english speaking channels from the U.S., and CBC from Toronto for all you Canadians wanting your Saturday night hockey fix. The higher channels also had a variety of galaxy music. The bathroom was ok and the shower had great pressure and lots of hot water daily. Only complaint is there were no holders in the shower for soap and only one little towel rack. No hooks on the back of the bathroom door either. FOOD and DRINKS: The buffet was good overall. Theme nights are Monday (Mexican), Wednesday (Bahamian), and Friday (Italian). Lots of fresh fruits and veggies in the buffet (I had my daily banana). Usually had some kind of a roast and you could get things cooked fresh from the grill. We enjoyed both of the a la carte restuarants. Make you reservation at the Guest Service Desk in the lobby. The spring rolls were a great appetizer in the Asian. Caesar salad was enjoyable in the Italian. The Italian also brings you fresh bread and butter. Had the breaded pork (a little salty but good) and my girlfriend loved the eggplant parmigiana. The house red wine was more than adequate and the three beers (sands, sands light, and (something) lager) were all quite drinkable. The spirits were all low branded versions and I found them ok. The vodka, gin, and rum were all fine. Coca-cola fountain pop (coke, diet-coke, orange etc. is self serve and located in the buffet, beach, and the main bar. The bar has a posted closing time of 12:30 a.m., although it usually stayed open longer. The bar at the beach stays open much later during the weekly beach party. The snack bar at the beach (11:00-5:00) has burgers, hotdogs, fries, pizza, sandwhiches, nachos and chesse, and chicken nuggets??(at least that's what they called them). Late night pizza is served from 10:30 p.m. until 1:30 at the pizza bar located by the Italian a la carte. Other: The staff is very friendly and professional. I enjoyed chatting with several of them during my stay. There is one short, skinny and creepy staff member whose job it is apparently to hit on EVERY woman there. Other than him I can't express how great these people are. The beach was absolutley beautiful and there are many loungers available to guests. Towel hut is located by the pool where the blaring music comes from. Nightly entertainment was as expected. There apparently is a weekly trapeeze show which was cancelled when we were there due to weather. Wifi at the resort worked well. The signal was strongest in the bar area but also worked from our room. There is no duty free at the airport. Only a bar where a beer will cost you $5.20 U.S.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort for your vacation destination.
First of all it is always a pleasure to read how our guests enjoyed their vacation experience with us at our resort and that you like your companion had a great time in Grand Bahama.
Also we are thrilled to read that we blow you expectations in our products, not only in our food and beverage variety regarding as well that each guest is unique and also we have a very large variety of guest from all over the globe also about our Bar and special menus in Themes nights at the Main Restaurant like in our Specialty Restaurant.
Mentioning about our Staff members we are please to read and is always nice to get recognition from the big part of them, and not least we have in progress our Staff members training in Hospitality for all international Guests in all our Departments in our Resorts, and your review help us to improve and do better in a future knowing that our guest should have 100% stressed free vacations and we would like to let you know that we have passed the matter to the personnel responsible, making sure that every little concern is been taking care of.
Ending on behalf of the staff and management here, we would like to thank you once again, for not only your generous hospitality, but for your positive review also, for all our upcoming guests to read. It is always appreciated.
We would love to welcome again with us in our resort thinking that there is lots more to explore in different locations in our Grand Bahama Island. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.
Kindest regards


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My boyfriend and i just came back from this extended weekend getaway last night. After booking the trip and reading hotel reviews we were both fairly nervous about what to expect when we arrived. I had read everything that a traveler doesnt want in a hotel- dirty, unfriendly staff, bad food. From the moment we arrived every negative review was put to rest. For a 4 day/3 night stay, we experienced nothing but a genuinely friendly staff looking to make your stay comfortable, nice selections of food from the buffet area, and an overall clean and updated atmosphere. Our room overlooked the beach and our balcony gave us amazing views of the ocean. There are several places to eat thru out the resort and each place was good. The outdoor beach bar serves grill style food which was great when we were on the beach. The buffet had something for everyone. People saying there are flies or birds or food was subpar should get off their high horse. You aren't eating at Wolfgang Puck's 5 star dining. You are at an all inclusive where food is not going to be gourmet filet mignons for lunch with truffles. The pool overlooks the beach and had a nice off set hot tub right behind it. My only negative was wifi was only in the lobby and main lounge areas so you couldnt be on your phones or laptops from the rooms. Overall i thought this was a great place for the money and offers alot for anyone on a budget.

Room Tip: we chose to upgrade our room to the vista room and had a balcony overlooking the beach. Definitely w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort for your vacation destination.
First of all we are glad to read how our guests enjoyed their vacation experience with us at our resort and that you like your boyfriend had a great time in our Property.
Also we are thrilled to read about your opinion in our food and beverage variety regarding as well that each guest is unique and there always going to be different standards and expectations and we are glad we have cover them all upon your arrival and through out your stay.
Yet we would like to let you know that we will be working on a new WIFI System where guest can also enjoy from rooms and other areas of the Resort.
Ending on behalf of the staff and management here, we would like to thank you once again, for not only your generous hospitality, but for your positive review also, for all our upcoming guests to read. It is always appreciated.
We would love to welcome you all again with us in our resort. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.
Kindest regards


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Staff was great , we arrived early for our 20th anniversary, they put our luggage in a locker for safety and started enjoying our vacation from early on.
Food choice is great always something on the grill, Fish, Steak, Chicken..
Liquor isn't top shelf but you can bring your own and they will hold it for you.I never got a hangover on their stuff anyways, the house wine (red is great) didnt try others...In case of hangovers fresh stand of do it yourself bloody mary's...

Room Tip: ocean view is great, they allow up to two hours for late checkout for free and if you want to saty l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest
We would like to say thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as your vacation destination.
We were glad to read how you enjoyed your experience here with us in Grand Bahama Island, and all service provided for you not only enjoyed the food in our restaurants concerning that each guest is unique and have different standards and expectations; also our bar selections and our All inclusive products.
We also are happy about hearing that you enjoyed your Vista room with the most amazing ocean sight and breeze every morning, as well as what the beach and all what the island has offered to you.
We would love to welcome again with us in our resort. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.
Kindest regards,


Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

I literally just stepped off the airport and just had to shut down all these negative reviews from other travlers! Food was great ( Italian,Oriental) and even the buffet was great. Hot and fresh and nice selection!

They even have a food station on the beach where they will make you hamburgers and hot dogs and nachos.

Drinks are not watered down..
Beach is clean and very beautiful

many different activities can be done

Night time dancing and music in the bar is fun. With a seperate lounge area to sit and talk and drink

Rooms are clean and neat and all new air conditioner units will freeze u.

Cons.... at this point the only thing I can think of is the WiFi is not resort wide but just in the lobby and bar area..

Overall a great time. Go!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest
We would like to say thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as your vacation destination.
We are thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your vacation experience here with us in our Property, and pleased to read how you have found a great quality in the food not only in our restaurant, also our both a La Cart Viva Cafe and Bamboo; regarding as well that each guest is unique and that you all find the best of our products, as well as the activities managed by our entertainment team, from the nightly shows to the after party themes.
We also are happy about hearing that you enjoyed our rooms as well as the great extension of the beach and all what the island has offered to you; yet we would like to let you know that we will be working on a better WIFI service to be reachable to our main areas and rooms.
As per ending we would love to welcome again with us in our resort. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.
Kindest regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Address: Doubloon Rd. & Churchill Dr., Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Freeport
Viva Fortuna
Freeport Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort
Club Viva Fortuna
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.