We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Save Saved
You added Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Doubloon Rd. & Churchill Dr., Freeport, Grand Bahama Island   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 hotels in Freeport
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This resort falls right in the Middle of places I have been to...The Accomidations were adequate. The food was good, not great. The beach is nice for long walks.
The good parts. Check in was friendly and efficient. The drinks were awesome. The food was good but could be livened up a little bit. Laverne the omelet lady is very independant, but a great cook.A very safe resort and Island in General. Very nice Beach.
The bad parts. The pool is not heated. The resort itself is not that far south...It is cold at night.
The entertainment is not the best. The food at the buffet is good, but it rarely changes...Hamburgers,fish and pork...everyday. Housekeeping does the bare minimum to get by.
We were sweeping up dead bugs ourselves. This place could use some renovating.
We booked 2 rooms...one for my wife and I and another for my teenage kids.
You can't beat the price I got for the trip.... you get what you pay for. Overall it was a good vacation. If you are looking to be pampered, this is not for you. If you are looking to go to a decnt place with your kids at a reasonable price, this is it. We have been to other countries, with Cuba
being at the bottom and Turks and Caicos being at the Top...This is right in the middle.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to start with a thank you, for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach resort as your vacation destination for you and your family.

To you all we apologize for not meeting up with some of your standards and expectations in our Services. However, concerning our food and beverage departments, each guest is unique and has different expectations. Our cuisine offers a great variety of options every day in meats, pasta, fish, salads, desserts and appetizers. Although we truly regret you could not find something of your preference; also about our rooms and Service we will be starting a big project of renovation in all main areas, rooms and surroundings.

We regret not having an opportunity to meet with you while you were on property, not to mention systems in place to address each concern as they arise. More importantly, we believe that our invaluable clients are deserving of a worry-free vacation.


Although we cannot change what has happened in the past, we will utilize your comments for improvement in the future, yet we are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your vacations here with us with your family.

On behalf of the staff and management here at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, we would like to apologize once more for the uncomfortable experience you encountered with us, yet we would like to thank you for your hospitality and honest review.
Kindest Regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,799 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    429
    890
    649
    399
    432
See reviews for
622
1050
51
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

A great spot for an unbeatable price-we got a great deal on cheapcarribbean.com which included airfare and could not have been a better bargain- We went for just 4 days, budget was tight from the holidays and this was perfect. We never go anywhere during major holidays or school break times---but going skightly off-peak is perfect. Staff was great. the entertaners poured their hearts out on stage, yoohga poolside(Really easy for lazy people like me) food and drinks all day long! I think all-inclusives are the only way to go and this was a great bargain. The only drawback was upone check=in, a salesperson poyunced on us to consider a timeshare--it was intrusive and pushy,we just had a long flight and didn't settle in yet. But othere than that--you have to see and try the trapeze--a major highlight-and you can take it off your bucket list. Had an amazing view and a really nice room. After reading some of the other reviews, I must admit-I was a little nervous, But I was very happily surprised and I would reccomend it highly. It's not a 5-star place, but we didn't pay for a 5-star place. I'd go again anytime!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bracebridge
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

this place is paradise. With friendly staff and awesome tourists i had a blast. Although our first night West Jet accidently booked the party of four that arrived there for one room, we got it straightened out the next day. all the drinks are included, and they were delicious. as well as the food, for somewhere so exotic the food was exceptionally good and fresh. The rooms were clean, comfortable beds, and fresh towels. Our sliding door was broken but a staff member was sent to fix it as soon as we called. I met some amazing people i'll never forget- and hopefully will reconnect with soon. Viva Wyndham is the perfect location for a desirable vacation. i would return in a heart beat. The only complaint i have about the hotel is some of the locals walk along the beach line and harass you asking you to buy things such as shells, bracelets and drugs. They usually get chased off the beach though.

Room Tip: i was in room b1112. rooms b1112, b1113,b1114, and b1115 are very desirable, they are right on the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to start with a thank you, for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach resort as your vacation destination for you and your family.

To you all we apologize for not meeting up with some of your standards and expectations in our Services. However, concerning our food and beverage departments, each guest is unique and has different expectations. Our cuisine offers a great variety of options every day in meats, pasta, fish, salads, desserts and appetizers. Although we truly regret you could not find something of your preference; also about our rooms and Service we will be starting a big project of renovation in all main areas, rooms and surroundings.

We regret not having an opportunity to meet with you while you were on property, not to mention systems in place to address each concern as they arise. More importantly, we believe that our invaluable clients are deserving of a worry-free vacation.


Although we cannot change what has happened in the past, we will utilize your comments for improvement in the future, yet we are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your vacations here with us with your family.

On behalf of the staff and management here at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, we would like to apologize once more for the uncomfortable experience you encountered with us, yet we would like to thank you for your hospitality and honest review.
Kindest Regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

got a last minute deal to this property and read all the reviews....the beach was tremendous, clean and good snorkeling....Bimini 2602 was a clean room if a little tired....some noise from disco but it did not bother us...the food at the buffett was just ok, we found something we liked every meal...no name booze and decent Sands beer to drink...a self serve Bloody Mary bar each morning was a plus...service was very good and the people friendly...Grand Bahama is a clean safe place to visit...with some upgrading this could be a top notch resort....all this being said we had a great time and met some great people .I rated this as an average place but if a good box was available I'd pick that...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort as your vacation destination.
We are thrilled to read how much fun you had whilst staying here, especially to see that you enjoyed our amenities provided for you, such as your room, the food in all our restaurants, the bar and pool and beach area and of course the service provided by all our staff.
We will be honoured to welcome again with us in our resort. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.
On behalf of the staff and management here, we would like to thank you once again, for not only your generous hospitality, but for your positive review also, for all our upcoming guests to read. It is always appreciated.

Kindest Regards,

Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Branch, Michigan
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I read other reviews and they were all over the place so I went because I needed a cheap vacation. the place is a mess. pros are the pool and beach, could always find a place. room was do able but i had 2 fridges and 2 microwaves in my room. 1 of which worked. real bad lights in room. my maid was good but it was just me and i didn't make much of a mess. so she was only in there 10 minutes. the hotel did more activities when the cruise ship people came, which i thought was wrong as we payed to stay the whole week. Cons: food was awfull!! same food day after day lunch and dinner and everything I tried was cold or undercooked, unless like an omlette i had them make it in front of me, the do have 3 themed nights but it was cheap, cold food. as for the Italian or Asian resturants, they were better but could only eat at them 3 times in a week total between the 2. and it was the cheapest dishes they could serve. the pizza place was never opened when i checked during their open hours (10pm-1am). The bar sucked, watered down drinks, and very limited on what type of drink they serve. and cheap alcohol. and the staff were very rude(i cleaned up my own table and got hollered at cuz I put it on the bar). and tons of bees by pop machines. (I asked the bar guy to pour me a coke from his tap he said he couldn't and get my own from machine, i told him i was allergic to bees, he said he couldn't help me) Glad i didn't get stung. you could only get lobster or steak if you let them know a day ahead and only at Italian place and was more expensive than what I pay in Michigan. if you want to use computer you have to pay. and only one works. This place needs new management and friendly people. I would not recommend and I have stayed in huts on the beach that was way better than this place

Room Tip: I was in ABACO i had a partial ocean view very noisy at night no mater where your room was
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We went on a family vacation during Christmas 2012. We were supposed to arrive on 12/21 but could not travel due to weather and we not able to arrive until 12/23. The staff was EXTREMELY accommodating to our situation, slipped our reservation 48 hours and were not charged any additional cost! The resort is fine. The food wasn't great, but it was adequate. Honestly, for an all inclusive at the price we paid, the food was what we expected. It was nice to have the beach bar for pizza and snacks. The resort had arranged a special visit from Santa on Christmas morning which was a nice touch for all. The entertainment was good and beach volleyball was fun. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a nice stay and would go again. A family friendly resort!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We love this resort! We've been before and plan to go again. The resort itself is a traditional hotel with 3 restaurants, snack bar, nice pool, etc. The beach here is absolutely gorgeous! As far as rooms, go with the Vista or ocean view room. These rooms are newly renovated and far better than the standard rooms. This resort is a fantastic value!

We're already planning a Summer trip.

Room Tip: Always choose the Vista room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest
We would like to Thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as your vacation destination.
We are thrilled to read how much you enjoyed once again your experience here with us in Grand Bahama Island not only we are pleased to read how you have enjoyed the food in our restaurants, also all our Service in the premises from activities to the beauty of our extension of our beach.
We were honoured to welcome you in our Resort and most gladly we are for continuing trusting in our products and services for a great Vacation for the whole family and friends.
We would love to Host you all again with us in our resort. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.
Kindest regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Address: Doubloon Rd. & Churchill Dr., Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Freeport
Viva Fortuna
Freeport Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort
Club Viva Fortuna
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.