We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down hill from 3 years ago!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach to your Saves list
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Doubloon Rd. & Churchill Dr., Freeport, Grand Bahama Island   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Freeport
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Down hill from 3 years ago!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The positives: Food was very good-great variety but always on the cold side. The hotel staff were very friendly and the kitchen staff deserve recognition.
The negatives...DJ started at 10pm and lasted until 3:30 am non-stop with bass pounding!! We and out friends did not sleep for the entire 4 nights...it was sleep deprivation torture. Upon arrival, we upgraded to a beach view right across from the bar (temporary disco). The resort has gone down hill from 3 years ago and caters to time share people. The nightly entertainment was a joke and so bad only a few people attended since it starts at 9:30pm. They rely solely on staff to entertain at night and it was elementary school level! Let them do their job and get quality entertainment! The value would be excellent if they worked on the above.
No shampoo, conditioner, soap and coffee unless you ask the maid. She never did fill the shower containers and you will wait forever for hot water in the shower.. It took 3 coffee pots to get one that worked. The appliances are rusted and some outlets didn't work. Complaint to front desk on 3rd night 11/14/2012- night desk girl had and attitude and told us to get used to it, as it will be louder on the weekend with more customers coming. They did offer to move us on the 3rd night to an area way in the back of the resort...If you are a party animal and like a lot of noise & drinking, Viva is for you. We will not go back or recommend this resort. The beach is beautiful, very clean and a joy! If you don't enjoy the sun there is nothing to do during the day except Bingo & volleyball. The pool is freezing and few used it-spend a buck and heat it! They do keep the alcohol going and again, the staff and bartenders were all very friendly.
Management needs to address the lack of good entertainment & worn out appliances. Management needs to listen after 10PM to early morning from room 2201 & 2202- Abaco building to understand the horrific noise & experience our sleepless nights. Oh, the Archery only has two good arrows, all the rest are broken! We experienced two black-outs from 8pm to 2 am for two of the 4 nights and was told this is normal. The generators go on from 8pm-10pm and you can't open your windows because of noise and fumes. Sadly, we never got to listen to the waves or enjoy our balcony until 7am when it was finally quiet! Restful vacation-not!!! Can't imagine how people bring their children to this party resort.

Room Tip: Change rooms the first night if you can't stand the loud music from 10pm to 3:30 am. We were in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    1,109
    820
    501
    501
See reviews for
834
1,324
67
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (706)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Most of the staff was fantastic, especially the bartenders and housekeepers. It was an all inclusive resort although the alcohol was the lowest grade (Aristocrat liquor). The bahamian beer was tasty. Do NOT do the 90 minute presentation! We did not take the offered package and the guy, Robert, was VERY rude. Our room hadn't been upgraded like the rest but we were able to check in early. Our bathroom door looked like it had been outside and weatherd, shower curtain too short and the drain was positioned so the water pooled in the shower because it had the wrong slant (away from the drain). The views were great but it was a bit chilly. The food was O.K. I will be contacting Wyndham tyring to find out why a resort with their flag looked in shambles the way it did. The beach had broken glass and broken beer bottles...people asking to trade a shell for a cheeseburger and fries...

Room Tip: Ask for a beach front and/ or upgraded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We have been going here for the past Five years. The pictures you see about the hotel are true..Clean room, enough great food all day and the beach is perfect.Shopping, boat trips you name it you can do it here love Grand Bahamas , OH the Sun every day!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest

On behalf of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Team, I would like to thank you for posting your marvelous review about your experience with us. Your comments give us the satisfaction to discover that we were able to meet your expectations and that we offered you a pleasant stay.

We sincerely hope to have the honor to be again at your service,

Warmest Regards,

Guest Service Dep
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I got married at this resort in October of 2011. We had such a great experience the first time we decided to return for our 1 year anniversary! My family also had such a good time they planned a trip overlapping when we would be there this year. The staff is so friendly and accommodating, especially Guillermo, the general manager of the resort!!! The food and drinks are always plentiful as they are available all day and night!!! The rooms are very clean along with the rest of the resort. I think my family and I have found a permanent vacation spot, we will absolutely be back!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort as your vacation destination.
We are thrilled to read that you all enjoyed and decided to return to the place where that most special day happened, and how much fun you and your family had whilst celebrating your Year Anniversary.
Especially we are happy to see that you enjoyed our amenities provided for you, not only the room and their cleanness, also the food in all our restaurants, the bar and pool and of course the service provided by all our staff.
On behalf of the staff and management here, we would like to thank you once again, for not only your generous hospitality, but for your positive review also, for all our upcoming guests to read. It is always appreciated.
We would love to welcome again with us in our resort. Don’t hesitate to contact us at guestfortuna@vivaresorts.com if we can assist you with anything. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.
Kindest Regards,


Guest Services
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We arrived right after Hurricane Sandy. Despite all the negative reviews we decided to try it out. We were pleasantly surprised by all the negative reviews. We arrived and were greeted by friendly staff immediately We stayed in building B which I would recommend It was away from the noise. The room was very clean and everything worked properly . The ocean view was spectacular. My husband and I traveled with our twin 8 year old boys. We were all well treated by everyone there. They went over and beyond to make our vacation wonderful. Always made us feel welcome and were great with our boys. The trapeze was the highlight of the trip with our kids. Alana and the other young man(i forgot his name) were absolutely great with our boys. They taught them a new trick daily on the trapeze and were funny and very patient with our boys. The beach was amazing. Snorkling was great, they provide the gear although I did bring our own water shoes and I do suggest bringing them. You can walk for miles in either direction and we always felt safe. The food in the buffet was good and plentiful, I never did see any flies around the food all week and it was covered. As with any buffet food it does get tiresome mid week but they do theme dinners every other night. The beach fast food was good. The late night pizza was delicious. Oriental restaurant was delicious. The Italinan was good. The drinks were yummy and the size of the cups were fine. I don't know why people thought they were small. I did bring my own insulated cups which I would suggest for the beach. The entertainment was good. Again, I was very pleased with our overall experience with the resort. It's a shame for all the negativity they have because we truly had a wonderful experience. We own timeshare property in Hawaii and this beach at the Wyndham rates second on our favorite beaches and weve traveled to many. Give it a try. Some people just cannot be satisfied. Don't expect five star but do expect four. It's a great value for the money and the staff are truly wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort for your vacation destination.
First of all it is always a pleasure to read how our guests enjoyed their vacation experience with us at our resort and that you like your family had a great time in Grand Bahama Island.
We are please to read about your opinion in our food and beverage variety regarding as well that each guest is unique in standards and expectations and you like your family found always meals options to be satisfied.
Mentioning about our Staff members we are glad and is always nice to get recognition from all of them, not only desks Staff also Staff around Restaurants, Bars and of curse all our Activities Crew.
Ending on behalf of the staff and management here, we would like to thank you once again, for not only your generous hospitality, but for your positive review also, for all our upcoming guests to read. It is always appreciated.
We would love to welcome you and your family again with us, so please don’t hesitate to contact us at guestfortuna@vivaresorts.com if we can assist you with anything. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.

Kindest regards


Guest Services
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We just got back from our 10 day trip and LOVED it. We went for my brothers wedding which was at the Viva Wyndham so we were not able to choose our hotel. After reading plenty of reviews we were a little worried about the resort. NO REASON TO BE!!!! It more than met our expectations for a beautiful vacation spot! There were about 45 of us that went for the wedding and they were very accommodating and moved us all to the same building. The wedding was absolutely breath taking!! Im pretty jealous about how perfect it was!
Hotel property was beautiful, clean, and pretty well maintained! BEAUTIFUL beach!!
The staff were all wonderful, the front desk, concierge, bar tenders, security, house keeping, buffet cooks, cleaning crew, the dive shop staff! Everyone was VERY friendly especially the bartenders(take your own large plastic cup and they will fill it for you!). The dive shop employees were awesome! I had just gotten scuba certified right before my trip and they made my 1st diving experience one that I will never forget! Shark alley is a MUST!
The food wasn't bad but definately got old after 10 days. We ate once at the asian restaurant and once at the italian (which is the same place they just alternate the nights) the asian food wasn't very good and the italian was about the same stuff you can get at the buffet. The atmosphere in the restaurants was nice for us to sit and have a nice family dinner. If you do want to eat at the restaurants you need to make reservations as soon as you check in! The late night pizza was TO DIE FOR! Even if you aren't up and out late (open from 11pm-2am) its worth getting out of bed for!!!!!!
Nightly entertainment wasn't great but they try and it gives you something to do at night rather than just sit and get drunk.
The rooms were not fancy but were just fine and clean! We had room B1113.......In my opinion rooms B2113-2115 and B1113-1115 have the BEST view of the beach! We were able to sit on the beach and put our daughter down for a nap leaving the patio door open to hear her, thats how close we were to the ocean!
I can't think of any major complaints, this place is pretty close to perfect as long as you arent expecting the world on a silver platter!
If you want to go explore the island check out The Garden Grove is very pretty! Also take about a 10 minute walk down the beach facing the water to the right to Berthas....$25 for lobster tail, chicken, salad and rice! They were sooo nice and the food was delicious!!! Dee the bartender was AWESOME we loved her!

Room Tip: B building is further away from the night time music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Our group of 11 just returned from the Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach. We had an outstanding 4 days there. (We are couples/friends in our forties & fifties)
Everyone there did a great job in making our stay there an enjoyable experience.
Kendall coordinated our initial activities and put everything into motion. Stacy and her staff handled the check in (and out) efficiently and cheerfully.
The bartenders at both bars were excellent. We enjoyed the shows.
We all had a great time with the activities team after the shows dancing and partying at the bar.
The rooms were in excellent condition (appeared recently renovated), being in the Bimini 5 building. The facilities were well maintained. (Some areas are a little “tired”, however you can see there is a lot of renovating and updating going on now.) Beach and pool area are outstanding.
Food was good, not “5 star gourmet’, but good with a wide variety.
We enjoyed both the Italian & the Asian restaurant. The group’s opinion was that the Italian food was better. The overall feeling with our group is that we are looking forward to returning to the Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort for your vacation destination.
First of all it is always a pleasure to read how our guests enjoyed their vacation experience with us at our resort and that you like the hole group had a great time in Grand Bahama Island.
Also we are thrilled to read about your opinion in our food and beverage variety regarding as well that each guest is unique and also we have a very large variety of guest from all over the globe and Viva Wyndham Resorts like our sisters Island we are open for all Markets.
Mentioning about our Staff members we are please to read and is always nice to get recognition from all of them, and not least we have in progress our Staff members training in Hospitality for all international Guests in all our Departments in our Resorts.
Ending on behalf of the staff and management here, we would like to thank you once again, for not only your generous hospitality, but for your positive review also, for all our upcoming guests to read. It is always appreciated.
We would love to welcome you all again in our resort, so please don’t hesitate to contact us at guestfortuna@vivaresorts.com if we can assist you with anything. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.

Kindest Regards...

Guest Services
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
2.9 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
3.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 16 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
3.4 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#4 of 16 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 stars 2,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Memories Grand Bahama Beach and Casino Resort
3.3 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#2 of 16 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 stars 763 reviews
5.4 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#9 of 16 in Freeport
3.0 of 5 stars 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Address: Doubloon Rd. & Churchill Dr., Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Freeport
Viva Fortuna
Freeport Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort
Club Viva Fortuna
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.