We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 4 day stay for group” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Save Saved
You added Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 9 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Doubloon Rd. & Churchill Dr., Freeport, Grand Bahama Island   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 hotels in Freeport
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent 4 day stay for group”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Our group of 11 just returned from the Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach. We had an outstanding 4 days there. (We are couples/friends in our forties & fifties)
Everyone there did a great job in making our stay there an enjoyable experience.
Kendall coordinated our initial activities and put everything into motion. Stacy and her staff handled the check in (and out) efficiently and cheerfully.
The bartenders at both bars were excellent. We enjoyed the shows.
We all had a great time with the activities team after the shows dancing and partying at the bar.
The rooms were in excellent condition (appeared recently renovated), being in the Bimini 5 building. The facilities were well maintained. (Some areas are a little “tired”, however you can see there is a lot of renovating and updating going on now.) Beach and pool area are outstanding.
Food was good, not “5 star gourmet’, but good with a wide variety.
We enjoyed both the Italian & the Asian restaurant. The group’s opinion was that the Italian food was better. The overall feeling with our group is that we are looking forward to returning to the Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort for your vacation destination.
First of all it is always a pleasure to read how our guests enjoyed their vacation experience with us at our resort and that you like the hole group had a great time in Grand Bahama Island.
Also we are thrilled to read about your opinion in our food and beverage variety regarding as well that each guest is unique and also we have a very large variety of guest from all over the globe and Viva Wyndham Resorts like our sisters Island we are open for all Markets.
Mentioning about our Staff members we are please to read and is always nice to get recognition from all of them, and not least we have in progress our Staff members training in Hospitality for all international Guests in all our Departments in our Resorts.
Ending on behalf of the staff and management here, we would like to thank you once again, for not only your generous hospitality, but for your positive review also, for all our upcoming guests to read. It is always appreciated.
We would love to welcome you all again in our resort, so please don’t hesitate to contact us at guestfortuna@vivaresorts.com if we can assist you with anything. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.

Kindest Regards...

Guest Services
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,683 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    420
    862
    619
    375
    407
See reviews for
593
994
48
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
california
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We are former residents of Freeport, now residing in California. This trip to Viva was our 7/8th visit. Each visit gets better and better. We were with a party of eight travelers, traveling from California and UK. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary. We were a little concerned how our friends would find Viva after them reading some bad reviews. We think those people writing bad reviews must be staying somewhere other than Viva!!!! What a wonderful place. Beautiful beach, clean rooms, and the most courteous General Manager, Mr. LaChapel, along with his entire team. We have seen so many improvements at Viva during the years we have been visiting and Mr. LcChapel keeps on improving the property. Commendations to Viva, Mr. LaChapel and the entire staff/ Thank You and we will be back home soon!!!

Room Tip: Room in Bimini Building overlooking the ocean. What a beautiful scene to wake up to each morning!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort as your vacation destination.
We are always glad to receive returning guests to our property, yet we are thrilled to read how much fun you had whilst staying here again and that you have found much of improvement making sure that each experience is unique for all guest all over the world.
Also we are great to hear about our Viva Members and how much they count for all guest to make sure they have a great time here in our Property.
On behalf of the staff and management here, we would like to thank you once again, for not only your generous hospitality, but for your positive review also, for all our upcoming guests to read. It is always appreciated.
We would love to welcome again with us in our resort so please don’t hesitate to contact us at guestfortuna@vivaresorts.com if we can assist you with anything. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.
Kindest Regards,


Guest Services
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My sister joined me from England and we joined friends at Viva. It was great, I work at a 5 star hotel, and was not disappointed by the Hotel. Warm greeting at reception, clean rooms, beautiful views from room. Fabulous beach, good variety at the Buffett and plenty of good drinks. The very best staff I have ever had the pleasure of meeting, I loved the fact that everyone greeted you, and were all friendly. The energy and fun of the staff when they put on the evening shows were very impressive, I know how hard it is to keep staff motivated and happy. It takes a great Manager, and this has to be the case at Viva as the staff were amazing. Besides the wonderful beach and water, staff made this vacation incredible. I will be back best value for money I have EVER experienced. Thank you

Room Tip: Get a room with a view, nothing like that view to start the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort as your vacation destination.
We are thrilled to read how much fun you and your sister had whilst staying here in Grand Bahama Island, especially to see that you enjoyed our amenities provided for you, not only your room, also what we offer in food in all our restaurants, the bar regarding that each Guest is unique and has different expectations and standards.
Also we are glad to hear how much you enjoyed the attention in all our Staff Members in Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach from all over the world.
Please we would love to welcome you all again with us in our resort so don’t hesitate to contact us at guestfortuna@vivaresorts.com if we can assist you with anything. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.
On behalf of the staff and management here, we would like to thank you once again, for not only your generous hospitality, but for your positive review also, for all our upcoming guests to read. It is always appreciated.

Kindest Regards,

Guest Services
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed in the resort from 19 - 23 Sep 2012. The pictures in the resorts website are awesome enough to get you go for booking! (Specially all inclusive package) Don't get tricked! All inclusive has nothing but some cheap quality local drinks, worst food ever and yes, IF YOU HAPPEN TO VISIT THIS PLACE, DO NOT SIGN UP FOR THE COMBINATION TOUR or ANY OTHER PACKAGE OFFERED BY TOUR DESK! THEY WILL CANCEL THE TRIP N WILL NOT REFUND THE MONEY!

Room Tip: Choose rooms on 2nd floor, b'caz if it rains, first floor rooms will be flooded!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

my husband and stayed ther sept 7 through 14 it was the most terrrrrrible trip we ever took the people were misserable the beach was filthy cig butts all over the sand no tables to but your drinks on so you have to put your drink in the dirty sand you have to drink out of plastic cups (if i wanted to drink out of plastic i could stay home) no ice machines no snack machines no music (in the bahamas???) nothing to do nothing it was so bad please dont waste your money as we did please it was the worse vacation in 35 years and i told them and they did nothing they dont care once your gone your gone

Room Tip: do not go the bed were old the rooms were dirty the air cond dont work
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest

We would like to say thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as your vacation destination.
There are certainly no excuses for any for the challenges your experienced during your September visit with us, and we have addressed with each department to ensure that they have been corrected for future guests.
In regards to your concern about there not being no ice machine the hotel does not have this service however the bar and restaurant always accommodate the guests in the matter; yet also the hotel do have a drug store on property where sodas and snacks can be bought at all times between 9am - 8 pm. We do have a beach bar where we do serve more than just pizza we do serve hot dogs , hamburgers, chicken nuggets , fruits between others.
Please note that we do serve in the main bar and beach bar area in plastic tumblers reason being glass could be a healthy risk to the person drinking and the beach area regarding that our Resorts is part of a Green Globe Program and TravelLife Environmental Program aswell; yet to our beach, we do have our daily clean hour for all trash and what the ocean could drag into the shore line.
In the meantime, we wish to again, sincerely apologize for any inconvenience or discomfort caused, and hope that you will consider returning for a true and positive experience as we have some wonderful developments on the way to better serve our invaluable guests.

So please don’t hesitate to contact us at guestfortuna@vivaresorts.com if we can assist you with anything. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to assist you again.

Kindest regards,

Guest Services
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feasterville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I just got back from spending a week at The Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort. I have to admit that some of the past reviews I read prior to going down had me a little nervous, but we were so pleasantly surprised once we got there! For those of you that expect to see gaudy decorations and complete luxury, no you won't find it here. But who needs all that? We certainly don't, and we enjoyed each and every moment we spent and this wonderful place.

First of all, the staff is AMAZING! Everyone is so very friendly, from the cleaning people and maintenance guys right on up to the GM who made it a point to ask us how our stay was at who sat and talked to us for quite a while. We have been to many all-inclusive resorts and NEVER even saw a manager, let alone be greeted by the GM. We went during the off season and felt as though we almost had he place to ourselves! The weather was gorgeous and the beach at this location is probably THE MOST beautiful I have ever seen. The water was warm, calm and oh so inviting. There are plenty of chairs on the beach and also plenty of healthy palms to keep you shaded. The pool area also had plenty of chairs and the staff would keep everyone entertained with fun games and activities that anyone of any age would enjoy. We tried all 3 restaurants and the food was delicious and plentiful. The rooms were clean and luckily for us, we had one facing the beach so we had an amazing view of turquoise water every day. If I could describe this place it one word it would be Homey. No wait, i want one more word - Welcoming :) It truly was both.

We had no issues whatsoever at check-in, as many people had complained about. We did find the service at the restaurants was a bit slow, but who cares - we weren't in a hurry! We were on VACATION! The entertainment was great too!

Seriously people, if you are looking for a resort that is considered complete luxury, this is not the resort for you. Its smaller and older than some of the other Wyndham properties, but the one thing we noticed was that every single day they were doing something to make the property even better and the GM explained to me that they have great plans for the place. I could see in his eyes that he was truly committed to doing this. Plus, the price was GREAT for what you received. We are simple people - Give us a beach, a clean room, good food and good people and we are happy as clams. This is what you will find at Viva Fortuna Beach....no glitz and glamour, just relaxing surroundings in a beautiful setting. We felt part of the place while we were there - it was THAT welcoming. Don't listen to the nay-sayers on this site. I have a feeling most of them are just chronic complainers. Open your eyes to the beauty around you at this place and you will find a little gem. I have only been gone a little over 24 hours and I miss it already. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to an Ocean view - You will be so glad you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

t of we did not stay at the hotel overnight. What i was able to view of the rooms and facility looked very nice. We were there for a day trip only. Our problem was that the locals were allowed to sit on the beach directly in front of us and the ocean and harass the guests all day long. It started with asking to buy shells or braid hair etc.and for the most part they were nice.As the day proceeded the locals began to ask for drinks and food all while sitting on the beach staring at you. The day was capped off by one of them getting arrested for selling conch shells with drugs hidden inside. During this time the most that hotel security did was chase down the dealer after it was screamed at them that drugs were being purchased.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort as your Daily trip for your Vacation on Grand Bahama Island.
We are glad to read how you enjoyed our premises whilst staying in one day ship Trip, Yet we would like to mention that "Shore Line" is the closest part of the beach to the ocean starts and that is a public area, although we have security in Place 24/7 for any matter that may occurred during your stay to take control of the situation right away, we apologize for the vendors right of our property regarding that each guest should be 100% guaranteed worry-free vacations.
We would love to welcome again with us in our resort for a truly Bahamian and Island experience. So please don’t hesitate to contact us at guestfortuna@vivaresorts.com if we can assist you with anything. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.
On behalf of the staff and management here, we would like to thank you once again, for not only your generous hospitality, but for your review also, for all our upcoming guests to read. It is always appreciated.
Kindest Regards,

Guest Services
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Hotel
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Freeport
Viva Fortuna
Viva Wyndham Fortuna
Freeport Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort
Club Viva Fortuna
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Address: Doubloon Rd. & Churchill Dr., Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Venere, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.