We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5TH VISIT AND WE WILL BE BACK!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach to your Saves list
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Doubloon Rd. & Churchill Dr., Freeport, Grand Bahama Island   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Freeport
california
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“5TH VISIT AND WE WILL BE BACK!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We are former residents and have returned to Freeport several times during the last 20 years. For our past 5 visits we have stayed at Viva Fortuna. This past visit was a return family trip with two of our sons, who had attended Sunland Lutheran School from 1975 until 1981, and our four grandkids, two age 8 and two age 6.

What a wonderful experience for all. We were graciously greeted by hotel manager Mr. LcChapel and assistant manager Mr. Kendal Burrows. They did everything they could to make our family trip special and provided us with three beautiful ocean view rooms. What a beautiful beach!!

We also would like to commend the staff at Viva Fortuna, the trapeze team, especially Gustavo, the animation team, the bar staff and the beach bar staff. The beach bar staff were so very good with our grandkids. These kids could not believe they could be so independent and walk to the beach bar, order their drinks and food. The beach bar staff took such good care of them.

We would also like to commend the catering staff, the Junkanoo Buffett is vastly improved since our last visit in 2010. Great job.

The gardens are well kept, always someone working to keep Viva Fortuna beautiful.

We were at Viva at the onset of Hurricane Irene and have to applaud how well the staff were prepared for the arrival of Irene.

Again, already thinking of when our next visit to Viva Fortuna will be.

Thank you Mr. LaChapel and all your wonderful staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Dear Guest

We would like to say thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as your vacation destination.
We are thrilled to read how you enjoyed your experience here with us and all our staff.

We were pleased to read how you have enjoyed the food in our restaurants, as well the activities and entertainment. It is always a pleasure to receive the recognition of the hard work our animation staff makes for all the shows and activities we set up for our guest.

We are so proud that we could welcome you already five times and we hope to see many times more. It is the recognition we can get. We are glad that you see the improvement we do in our service and are thrilled that our staff made you feel so welcomed and comfortable.

We will be looking forward to your return. If there is anything we can help and assist you with, then please do not hesitate to contact us at the Guest Service desk.

On behalf of the staff and management, we would like to say thank you once more for your honest review and for your generous hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    928
    677
    421
    462
See reviews for
664
1,101
56
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I traveled with friends for a birthday on the Discovery Cruise and Stay. This hotel was all inclusive which made it so convenient. Everything you wanted, you could do right on site. We did the snorkeling, trapeze, theater shows, night club, etc! And, the dining options were great and all included in the price. The rooms were ok, but we did not spend much time at all other than to sleep. The beds were comfortable and our balcony view of the beach was beautiful! Staff members were very nice and helpful as well. The only downsides were that the pool was always packed and never any seats available, but I preferred laying on the beach. and, the line for lunch was very long and it seemed to take forever to get our food. But regardless of the, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort as your vacation destination for your birthday trip.

We are thrilled to read how much fun you had whilst staying here, especially to see that you enjoyed our amenities provided for you, such as the snorkeling, trapeze, theater shows and night club and the food in all our restaurants.

We regret the inconvenience for the long lines at our restaurant as well as the fact that the pool was always very full but we are glad to read that this didn't change your positive experience with us and that at the end the good memories will be the ones that you will bring back home.

We would love to welcome you again here with us.

On behalf of the staff and management here, we would like to thank you once again, for not only your generous hospitality, but for your positive review also, for all our upcoming guests to read. It is always appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

I have visit this resort 5 times this year with friend and family member. I would like to mention that your staff that does you events at this location are very professional and are very kind to you guess. But there is one of your staff member that is over professional and has a special way to inact with the guess his name is Capi, He is very kind to everyone and make you enjoy your time thier .This individual is one of a kind.. It so funny that once you leave your resort and you meet with other of the guess they alway have someone kind to said about Capi, he is a shinning star at the resort... He is very talented with all the languages he speak...wow, that why everyone enjoy him...."we loved it and we'll be back ! soon*)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort for your vacation destination.

It is always a pleasure to read how our guests enjoyed their vacation experience with us at our resort and the amenities provided for you all especially our shows and activities. It is always a pleasure to receive the recognition for the hard they do putting together all the shows and activities for their guests.

We really appreciate your honest and positive appreciation for our animation staff, especially for Capi, we are glad to see that he made your stay special and enjoyable.

We would love to welcome you back here with us. Please do not hesitate to contact us at the Guest Service if we can help you with anything for your next visit.

On behalf of the staff and management, we would like to thank you once more for your honest review and for staying here at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

First of all, on the day before we were set to fly out, the hotel did NOT have our reservation which was booked through Wyndham over three months prior to our trip. We spoke to Wyndham who had no answers. We tried to call the hotel directly and could not get through. When I finally did get through they simply said they didn't have our reservation and to call back. I did call back several times and either did not get through at all or left messages that were not returned. We finally got that issue resolved and we had a room, but it was NOT the room we booked. Instead of a king bed we had two beds, phones did not work (and they were not cordless as stated in the amenities), TV remote did not work and there was no way to manually change the channels on the TV as the buttons had been removed. We finally got switched to another room where everything worked, including our phones, but the phone for the room where our friends were staying did not work. There were only two bars, not three. The bar on the beach closed at 8. The pool closed at 8. One excursion we took was absolutely awful. It was supposed to be a cave tour and we saw one small cave then walked to a beach where there was no food/drink available. And they did NOT tell us this in advance. No information really provided or given at the excursion desk. The beach was beautiful, but besides that, it was not a good experience. I will NOT go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Dear Guest

We would like to start by saying thank you for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort for your vacation get away.

We regret not having an opportunity to meet with you while you were on property, not to mention systems in place to address each concern as they arise. More importantly, we believe that our invaluable clients are deserving of a worry-free vacation.

We would like to apologize for not meeting up to your expectations during you stay with us, yet we would like you to understand how grateful we are to read your review.

We truly regret that we only could offer you two out of our three bars, but would like you to understand that due to the low occupation during this season some facilities might not be available.

Also we would like to apologize for the discomfort you encountered during your excursion. Unfortunately, though, the excursion are organized and performed from local agencies and not by the hotel itself. Even though we apologize in their name for the bad experience you had.

In the meantime, we wish to again, sincerely apologize for any inconvenience or discomfort caused, and hope that you will consider returning for a true and positive experience as we have some wonderful developments on the way to better serve our invaluable guests.

On behalf of the staff and management, we would like to say thank you once more for your honest review and for your generous hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

My wife and I went to the resort 9/2 to 9/6/11 and had a great time. We traveled from Fort Lauderdale on a 25 minute flight and after clearing customs/immigration we were met by our transportation. We were at the resort in 15 minutes. We had paid for a Superior Room with the possiblilty of an upgrade to an Oceanview room if available. I asked the lady checking us in what the cost would be to upgrade to an Oceanfront room. She gave me a big smile and said the room was Oceanfront. After reading all of the negative reviews, my wife and I had a bad feeling that the room was not going to be in good shape. The bellman took our luggage and escorted us to the room. On the way, he made sure to point out where everything was located and explained many of the amenities. We were in one of the Bimini buildings on the second floor. As we entered the room we could see the ocean. We went out on the veranda and we had a panoramic view of the beautiful beach. The room was newly renovated with new furniture, mattresses, had cold air conditioning and hot water all day. The maid service changes towels and made up the room everyday without us leaving a tip. We did tip on the last day. All of this seemed to contradict a lot of the negative reviews.

We have been to nine all inclusive resorts in Mexico and the Domimican Republic, some multiple times. The resort was comparable to many of them. Some were not as good and some were better. The only concern was that the food in the buffet was alright but could have been much better. We managed to find things that we llked. We ate at the Chinese Restaurant twice and food was very good but the menu was very limited. On the second visit, I asked if I could have some extra shrimp. Wow, did I get extra shrimp and extra everything. We were very pleased. We were not happy that the two restaurants were not opened the first night and the Italian Restaurant was not open during the whole stay. We did complain to the resort manager and he was very apologetic. He explained that there were not enough guests at the resort to justify opening the large Italian restaurant. We still expressed that we still did not understand. He apologized again and explained tha they had to close last week before Hurricaine Irene hit and send all of the guests home as well as refund their money. We then understood the justification but we still expressed displeasure. I need to point out that the buffet was always 3/4 empty and we could always get a reservation at the small chinese restaurant. There were many empty tables available both nights.

The bar next to the pool was large with seating outside and inside. When I ordered my wife a vodka tonic, the bartender poured plenty of vodka in the drink. When I handed him my 34 oz Bubba Mug, he smiled and filled it up with tap beer. All of the staff were very pleasant, always smiling and remembered everyone names.

We did not understand the extremely negative reviews. If you want first class, you must pay first class. This resort is not first class nor did we pay for first class. We estimated we only spent 60% on the trip as we had for comparable resorts in Mexico and the Dominican. We will go back and we had a great time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort as your vacation destination.

We are thrilled to read how much you enjoyed staying here with us, especially to see that you enjoyed our amenities provided for you, such as your room with the beautiful view of the ocean and the housekeeping service, the food in our restaurants, especially in our Bamboo restaurant and the drinks from our bar.

Concerning our Viva Cafe restaurant, we truly regret that it was closed during you stay. We are open again with a new great menu so we would be very happy to welcome you again so that you would get the opportunity to taste the great food.

What makes us especially proud is that you enjoyed the service from our staff that we provided to you. It is our main goal to make you feel comfortable and welcomed during your stay. We are so glad that you brought a lot of good memories back from your vacation.

On behalf of the staff and management here, we would like to thank you once again, for not only your generous hospitality, but for your positive review also, for all our upcoming guests to read. It is always appreciated.

We will be looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

The hotel was marginal at best. As our taxi pulled into the drive and I saw the buildings, my stomach sank. Immediately after check-in we were accosted by a time share sales person, who badgered us for about 10 minutes telling us that we should help her 'make her paycheck' by spending 1.5 hours listening to the time share sales pitch. I was glad we were only going to be there 3 nights. We tried to think of it as though we were at summer camp instead of at a resort hotel. Once I got in that mind frame, it was tolerable.

The property was worn and shabby, the landscaping sub-par, and while the staff wasn’t what I’d call rude, they were indifferent. We had to pay $3 a night to use the safe in our room. The linens were clean but tattered, the walls were dirty, the a/c was never cold, they wanted you to reuse your towels for 3 days, the bathroom was moldy, not restocked, etc. Another unpleasant feature was that the window in the tiny bathroom faced the walkway, so as you walked past the rooms your ears were often assaulted by what should have been private sounds.

The food was awful. How can someone ruin French fries?? All the food was dried out, probably due to recycling last night’s dinner into the next morning’s breakfast, and the cocktails had virtually no alcohol in them. They told us they mixed the white wine with Sprite, since the wine was too dry on its own. The only good food was the fruit. The entertainment was about what you’d expect. They made all the announcements in 3-4 languages, which ate up most of the evening, so there was very little entertainment when it was all said and done.

The only saving grace (and it was a big one) was the beach and fish. The beach itself was nice deep white sand, but the chairs were worn out and broken, and the beach towels were thin and torn. In the shallow water there was broken glass and broken liquor bottles, so I swam out pretty far to escape that. In the deep water, there was a nice coral reef, so I spent most of every day out there. The water wasn’t crystal clear, but clear enough to see the reef and fish. The variety of fish was excellent, the colors were electric, and some fish would even follow you around as you swam around the reef. For as large and crowded as the hotel was, very few people ventured out to the reefs, so it was like having a private coral reef to explore.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the C building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We had several negative experiences at this hotel.

1) No water for an entire day due to them replacing water heaters throughout the buildings, and no notice given that they were planning to do this!

2) No AC one night, and into the next day, and no explanation as to why.

3) Snack bar at night was non-existent, except for some pizza.

4) On four separate occasions we had staff walk into our room without knocking. Various excuses were given when they saw our shocked looks, but no apologies were ever made.

5) Our room phone rang multiple times during the night and day. When we'd answer, no one would be there, or there was static on the other end. We contacted the Front Desk about this, and their response was, "We weren't trying to reach you.".

6) Rooms are very outdated. And our bathroom was in rough shape. Our patio door didn't even close all the way, which allowed insects in.

7) The all around attitude of the staff was very lacking. Most acted bothered if you asked anything about the resort, ocean, etc..

8) The only attention we seemed to receive was when the staff was attempting to sell us a timeshare. Not at all what was advertised.

Sadly, my husband and I chose this resort for our honeymoon. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Dear Guest

We would like to start with a thank you, for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach resort as your vacation destination.

We regret not having an opportunity to meet with you while you were on property, not to mention systems in place to address each concern as they arise. More importantly, we believe that our invaluable clients are deserving of a worry-free vacation.
We would like to apologize for not meeting up to your expectations during you stay with us, yet we would like you to understand how grateful we are to read your review.
Concerning the misstandings concerning your room, please be informed that we are now in the process of renovating a major part of the rooms, but of course this process needs time and is not immediate. We do apologize for the inconveniences caused.
We are in constant training with all our staff members in each department, by reading your review, this can help us to maintain and improve for the better in the future. Thank you for your candor and your patience with us. We appreciate and wish to retain our valued patrons.

In the meantime, we wish to again, sincerely apologize for any inconvenience or discomfort caused, and hope that you will consider returning for a true and positive experience as we have some wonderful developments on the way to better serve our invaluable guests.

On behalf of the staff and management, we would like to say thank you once more for your honest review and for your generous hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Address: Doubloon Rd. & Churchill Dr., Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Freeport
Viva Fortuna
Freeport Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort
Club Viva Fortuna
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.