We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still has a good conch salid” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Da Conch Man

Da Conch Man
Count Basie Square | Port Lucaya Marketplace, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 99 Restaurants in Freeport
Cuisines: Caribbean
Restaurant details
chelsea,me
Top Contributor
356 reviews 356 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“still has a good conch salid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

stoped buy when I was was at count basey sq.good fresh sea food at a good price worth the trip had the salid and ferters both were verey good and the price was right

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    15
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Best deal on conch fritters anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

After sampling conch fritters from different restaurants on the island, nothing beats Da Conch Man when it comes to his fritters. Found in a small kiosk/shack right off the square in Port Lucaya Marketplace, one of his greatest specials are 4 conch fritters for $1 USD. And if your like me, and by that I mean a fat kid, you get two orders for $2. Not only are they good, but you will not find them anywhere else on the island cheaper then that. I have yet to try the fried lobster and fries special he offers but look forward to doing that the next time I am in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Bargain in Market”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The conch salad is fresh and tasty. It is the perfect blend of sweet, sour, and hot. Fresh conch right at the docks. You can't beat $1 for 4 conch fritters and the sauce they came with. Best bargain place to eat at Port Lucaya.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great snack stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Loved the conch fritters and my husband loved helping get the conch out of the shell! Definitely somewhere we would go again!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fresh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We liked the conch fritters as well as watching him make fresh conch salad, different. There was no seating, but price was good.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Conch Man also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to Da Conch Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Conch Man, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.