We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful gardens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden of the Groves

Garden of the Groves
Midshipman Rd. and Magellan Dr, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
242-373-5668
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$44*
and up
Freeport Half-Day Tour
Ranked #3 of 17 Attractions in Freeport
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Twelve-acre garden full of tropical plants and animals: one of the most popular tourist attractions on the island.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stopped at the Garden of the Groves during a fantastic jeep tour of the island. We had a prepared lunch and toured these beautiful gardens, complete with waterfalls and some amazing flora and birds. There are some local artisans set up in small booths on site and I purchased some straw bags and a dress. She definitely made the bag as I watched, but I was disappointed to later find the "made in India" tag on my dress!!! Interesting fact that the garden was named for the couple who started it (the Groves) and not for any tree groves in the garden.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    122
    48
    19
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very Scenic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Beautiful botanical garden with a full restaurant/cafe'. We went for their Friday night special evening, with a musician playing in the background. Great evening on Grand Bahama Island! Go a bit early and stroll through the gardens first.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Beautifully maintain groves.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Lovely tour of the groves. The birds and the ducks are beautiful. Great time. Love the Bahamas. I always want to come back. Thank you. Rita Bennett

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful, relaxing, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you're looking for a couple of hours of tropical relaxation, visit Garden of the Groves. Great restaurant-cafe! Enjoy your walk!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great for LUNCH!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Nice garden to walk through. GREAT restaurant! Have lunch, Kalik beer (local) and enjoy some grilled fish!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garden of the Groves also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to Garden of the Groves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden of the Groves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.