We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad but needs help.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Islander

Save Saved
You added Royal Islander to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Islander
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Mall Drive, Freeport F-42549, Grand Bahama Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 18 hotels in Freeport
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not too bad but needs help.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is nice but needs minor repairs. If not done, things will only get worse. Safety is of concern based on no active phone in the rooms that work. This has been going on for some period of time. If you need the front desk or security, you have to walk up to the front desk. The rooms need little items repaired that are visible but not taken care of.

The resturant has a very limited menu due to lack of customers and is not real food but boxed and put in a microwave for some items. Not a bad breakfast special though.

Staff is very friendly and supportive. They do act on request quickly.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    15
    13
    7
    10
See reviews for
3
10
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Abaco Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The price is cheap...the room not so clean.I stayed here before and will never go back the place is a mess and there is a club next door where there is always some party going on,we stayed one night and had to move the next day.if you're looking for a place to lay your head and worried if your sheets are clean this is the place for you

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North America
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We found ourselves 'stuck' in Freeport while our boat was being repaired so needed a place to stay. The Royal Islander is basically a standard motel but the price was excellent and we found it to be well cared for and clean with friendly staff. It is located in the downtown area near the International Bazaar, which lacks much in the way of nearby restaurants or amenities. A restaurant on site serves a good breakfast at a very reasonable cost. There is a nice pool but the hot tub was not hot--not even lukewarm. A coffee maker in the room would have been a nice addition to the mini fridge. Free wi-fi was great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg, TN
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

This is my fourth trip to Freeport and my fourth stay at the Royal Islander. As you may guess by the fact that I keep coming back here, I am well satisfied with the property. They are not on the beach and therefore have a better price and are quieter. There are a lot of kids in Freeport now for spring break. But, the hotel is quite with just a few other guests, mostly couples. They have a great pool and hot tub. The restaurant is convenient and moderately priced. When you are ready to go shopping, dining, or to the beach, you can get a taxi for $14 one way to Port Lucaya.

Room Tip: A ground floor room is always my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg, TN
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

This used to be in a busy section of town. But now, most everything is shutdown around it. Howere it is still a very nice clean place to stay is you don't want on the beach. You can get a taxi to where all the action is happening, I have stayed here twice and I would do it agian.

Room Tip: I always stay on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ressa23
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

i went to this hotel 5 years ago and it was nice and clean i didn't have no problem with it. because i was too late in booking my hotel at the raddison i took that hotel. my trip started off bad. i was suppose to arrived on thursday and because of bad storm in miami i had to wait until sat. i called the hotel to tell about my flight was cancelled and the lady tells me that she didn't have a resoration for me. i would have to call the next morning. i called the company and they told me that my resoration was done and they have reschedule to sat to wed. sat i get to the hotel i was told that they didn't have me on there list for a room. i told them that i paid for my room i had to give them my credit card for hold until monday until they can go in the office to see if it is on the fax machine. i was not going to let this stop me for having fun. i get to my room look ok and everything. later that night. i went to bed and woke up the next day my legs was itching. later that day my legs had big waps. that monday i went to the doctor with my friend and while she was her doctors office she ask her doctor to look at my legs and arms. he told me that i had bed bugs bite. he gave me a list of stuff to get and told me to tell the hotel. i went back and told the front desk and she told me that i had to talk to the manager and she switch my room. the next morning i told the manager and she tells me she never heard of that happen. it was like she didn't care. it's been over a month i still have big sores all over my legs from these bed bugs bites. all my friends that seen my legs said should sued them. i advise anyone not to go there. it's dirty. next time i am going to go back to the raddison in our lucauya i know they are clean.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

I found the hotel to be clean, and the staff friendly. The location of the hotel is horrible. It is to far away from any of the attractions on the island, and the shuttle service to the beach does not run often enough.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Islander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Islander

Address: The Mall Drive, Freeport F-42549, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 hotels in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Islander 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Royal Islander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Islander Freeport
Royal Islander Hotel Freeport
Royal Islander Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Islander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.