We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great time! Everyone is amazing and makes you feel special!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   48-60 Bahama Reef Blvd. | PO Box F-42695, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Freeport
Delray Beach, Florida
2 reviews
“We had a great time! Everyone is amazing and makes you feel special!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had a great time at the Ocean Reef. Everyone there is amazing and really make you feel special...from the front desk (in particular Ms. Janelle), to the concierge desk, security, Hayward the preferred driver of the resort, the cleaning service..their big smiles and polite ways made our trip special. The resort is an older resort...but it is reasonably priced relative to what you are getting. It isn't the Ritz, nor do they charge like the Ritz! The island offers a lot - our favorite restaurants are Flying Fish, Sabor and Pier 1 (shark feeding while you eat on the pier - amazing sushi). We also like the buffet breakfast at Willy Broadleaf at the Grand Lucayan resort. Our favorite activity is the horseback riding on the beach with Linda and Chris at Pine Tree Stables - magical experience - twice in two years for us! I recommend Banana Bay beach and Paradise Cove in terms of beaches. Hope this is helpful! You really need to rent a car to drive around the island...the resort has great rental deals. If you don't, you are stuck at the resort and will not be happy with the experience. Place is perfectly fine, but wouldn't want to be there all day as there is not enough to do and beach is a few miles away.

Room Tip: Ask for the recently renovated units for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    79
    52
    32
    21
See reviews for
76
54
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
limavady,Northern Ireland.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We booked this resort for a week through our own holiday membership of Access2 Leisure in Malta. We have family living in Nassau and my wife and I visit regularly. We just wanted a week to rest,swim and relax before returning to Northern Ireland. This we achieved at Ocean Reef.
On arrival we were disappointed by feeling pressurised into attending a Timeshare presentation the next day.We made it clear to the lady concerned that we were not interested as we already owned timeshare through Access 2 leisure. The lady concerned on the tour desk wouldn't take no for an answer and insisted that we should attend. She even tried the sympathy angle that we would be helping her to get commission if we attended and all she needed was payment of a 10 dollar deposit which would be refundable. My normally quiet natured wife walked away in frustration and I had to be VERY assertive to get our opinion across. This was not a very pleasant initial introduction to Ocean Reef and rather coloured the rest of our week as we had to pass this lady on almost every occasion we left our apartment.
Afterwards ,when we settled in ,our experience really improved and we met some lovely people from the US. There were also a few very loud guests who seemed to be unaware of others around them.
Our apartment was very suitable with a very comfortable kingsize bed,excellent catering facilities,lovely sitting area and a large balcony with a beautiful view of the marina. in brief our accommodation was very good albeit a little "tired".
We loved having an early morning swim in the pool at Grouper's restaurant but it was difficult to relax at this pool during the day without overhearing the timeshare sales discussion.
The service at Ester's cafe at the small pool area was extremely slow. It took 45 minutes to get a Club sandwich when we arrived and we were hungry. The quality was excellent when the food eventually arrived.
We quite enjoyed the ambience of Grouper's Restaurant in the evening but rather tired of the prominently fried food menu after the third day.
The complimentary bus shuttle bus to the local supermarket twice a week and daily to the beach was a superb facility and the young driver was always helpful and courteous. I think he was called Dave.
Generally speaking we enjoyed our week and we would recommend Ocean Reef to others. We would urge prospective guests to avoid the Timeshare presentation unless,of course,they are interested in purchase.
We enjoyed the availability of excellent free wifi throughout the Resort and would have appreciated the availability of at least one UK TV channel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest thank you taking time to complete a review of our resort. It is our goal that each guest enjoys his/her Ocean Reef Experience. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to be apart of your vacation experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

This is an older resort but in good condition. It offers beautiful rooms views and hospitality! The island is beautiful ans full of things to do! You must do the banana boat rides from Port Lucaya that will take you on an adventure into the canals to a ghost ship you can explore and jump off into the pristine waters! Take the cave tour and see the beach where Pirates of the Caribbean was filmed! Snorkle at Paradise cove all day! This was a great home base for us and we really enjoyed our time!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest thank for taking the time to complete a review. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

When I first saw the resort, I wasn't expecting much inside but was pleasantly surprised. Was there for my girlfriend's birthday celebration. Her room was awesome --a 3 bedroom suite with bathrooms in 2 of the bedrooms and a washer/dryer in 1. The terrace was large w/grill on it but you should probably bring an extension cord to work it. My hubby and I stayed in a 2 bedroom with Jacuzzi in our bedroom. We thought the T.V. didn't work in the living room area but learned from front desk you needed to turn it off/on twice and then it worked. The staff and visitors (worldwide) were all friendly. The fish burger in the onsite restaurant was Excellent. Haywood Forbes is a gem, gave us a great tour that included meeting his 85 year old dad and visits to a few spots that made Excellent breads/cakes and dinners (like curry chicken). We had to leave early so didn't get to the fish fry or the other beaches Haywood told us about. I highly recommend staying here and ignoring any negative reviews. I liked the message board in lobby area that outlined various daily events and loved the pool (nice warm water) with hot tub. Had fun and would definitely return !! P.S. and yes they try to sell a timeshare --all you have to do is decline!!

Room Tip: I understand the rooms we were in were renovated, so be sure to ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We are so happy, that your stay with us was a memorable one! It is our goal that each guest enjoys his/her Ocean Reef Experience.
We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Ocean Reef Resort & Yacht Club is an excellent place to stay. It is conveniently located, clean and the hospitality from Nina and her staff is superb. They have two pools and activities on site. Everyone was most courteous and food was excellent. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank You! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My family and I travel internationally on a regular basis and have for years. This is the worst place we have stayed. I have never written a review online before but have to after our one week stay at Ocean Reef. The staff is nice however will take advantage in an extreme way financially. The "shuttle service" is a rip off. They quote everyone a different price based on what they think you will pay. Once they discover you are willing to ride the City bus; the rates get chopped by a fraction of the price. The TV was cut off every single night with a message that covered the screen saying the bill needed to be paid to continue service. There was one restaurant on site that was open daily, we were very disappointed that they did not offer fresh fish, only fried food. We were offered a "complimentary" breakfast at the other restaurant on site that was only open 3 of the 7 days we stayed there. After we had our breakfast, which was surprisingly good, we presented the "tickets" we were given. The "owner of the restaurant" said she didn't know what we were talking about and charged us full price. We went back to the front desk to let them know of the "confusion" when we were told we misunderstood, it was free LUNCH at a DIFFERENT restaurant on site that we didn't even know existed. They walked us over where we had to fill out a card and a 1 1/2 hour presentation started for timeshare. We weren't hungry, we had JUST had breakfast. We were harassed when we tried to casually leave and were told that in order to get lunch we had to stay for the 1 1/2 hour presentation which we were never told about. Regardless, we left. We did not travel to the Bahamas to sit inside and listen to a pitch about time share, especially for a free lunch on a full stomach. And we SURE as heck weren't going to purchase a timeshare after our experiences. Unfortunately, I put my email on the card as asked to "qualify" for a fun prize. My email has been overloaded with spam and hacked for the first time. I have had to change my email account which is extremely inconvenient and irritating. Grrr. On the day of check out the cleaning people were outside our door 45 minutes prior to regular checkout time with an old shopping cart of cleaning supplies hanging around looking confused. HOWEVER the people at the dive shop were very friendly despite their boat not starting on the day of our dive. They were sincerely nice however seemed to have unpredictable equipment. We spent our trip wishing we were in Florida :(

Room Tip: Read reviews and be wise. Don't make the same mistake we did. It was a waste of money and a BI...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest, It is most unfortunate that you did not enjoy your Ocean Reef experience. The Shuttle provided by the Resort to the beach and the grocery store is 100% complementary. We do not offer shuttles to any other part of the island. Taxis and buses on the property are operated independently, their rates may vary.

Our guests are offered the opportunity to attend a sales presentation with a choice of either complimentary breakfast or lunch. In most cases it is made clear during sign up, that the presentation is held in the sales room. We regret all confusion. We are currently working on ensuring that all guest information disseminate by the resort is made clear. Ocean Reef Resort does not have a mailing list, nor do we offer guests email addresses to third parties. Other issues pointed out have been addressed, thank you for your time.

Once again we do regret that your stay with us was less than expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

You get what you pay for with Ocean Reef Resort. The townhouses aren't too bad, however, the beds are awful. They make a lot of noise, the mattresses are hard as a rock and are too low to the ground. The on site restaurant Groupers is serviceable. Try their namesake dish. Most of the staff are very polite and helpful, while others give you a dirty look if you mention you booked any activities ahead of time (they get a sales commission). That really rubbed me the wrong way. The pool and hot tub are excellent and Hayward the cab driver is awesome. The resort is a pretty good distance from the beach, but that can be a good thing if you prefer to get away from the excitement from time to time. If you are on a budget and don't mind sacrificing a little bit of luxury then this is the way to go.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your kind words.

Our sales/activities team can be a little over zealous, it is not our intention to offend. We have completed renovations to all the two bedroom suites, we are in the process of renovating all the one bedrooms. 2014 we will begin the townhouses!

It is hoped that you will have the opportunity to visit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort

Address: 48-60 Bahama Reef Blvd. | PO Box F-42695, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Yacht Club And Resort
Ocean Reef Yacht Club Hotel Freeport
Ocean Reef Yacht Hotel
Ocean Reef Yacht Resort
Bahamas Ocean Reef Yacht Club
Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.