We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Resort Needs Some Serious work” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort

Save Saved
You added Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   48-60 Bahama Reef Blvd. | PO Box F-42695, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 hotels in Freeport
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“This Resort Needs Some Serious work”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is our second trip to Grand Bahama Island and we stayed here at the ORYC 10 years ago. At the time, the three story condo complex was brand new. I'm not sure if they have done much maintenance since, but it is in desparate need of repaire.

If you are coming down from the US and you want to cook a few dinners, you should pack and bring your own meats. The groceries here on the island are very expensive and the meats will not be up to the standards you are used to in the US.

If you are bringing steaks, don't plan to grill them - they have some charcoal grills at the resort, but charcoal on the island is very expensive and they don't have starter fluid (that we could find).

The water supply in our condo is very slow (a trickle much of the time in the kitchen) and the hot water takes forever to get warm - I haven't gotten hot water yet.

Plan your vacation and try to rent a car. The cars available at the resort are older and not well maintained, so it might be worth the difference in price to rent from the airport. If you stay here you will need a car for everything unless you want to spend a lot for taxies.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    67
    48
    26
    19
See reviews for
62
51
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We had a three bedroom villa that was in desperate need of renovation or perhaps should have been demolished. We left one rainy day to go explore Gold Rock Beach and came back to soaked pillows on our bed. Every night, we had to clean off the pillows of ceiling rubble as the ceiling was clearly rotten and disintegrating. I was worried it would cave in and didn't have much faith that they had better units to move us to! The sinks were full of beard stubble (none of us shaved while we were there). We were asked about our arrival time prior to the date of arrival and we waited five hours for our room to be ready. They desperately wanted us to come to the orientation and got very angry when we weren't responsive. This place was so disgusting that I considered paying for a week's stay somewhere else. I sure didn't want to go to a presentation to hear them try to sell us on Ocean Reef! After this trip, I have decided to stop the timeshare trades with RCI! Very gross and very disappointing!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I just got home from staying here last week. The resort itself appears to be getting a face lift. Our room was nice and relaxed but the beds were TERRIBLE. Both my husband and I have terrible back pain from them still. The pools are less to be desired, both are very hot and hardly cool you down and have damage in them. Groupers grill's food is sub par. I got sick one night from some of their fish, and the prices weren't worth it. Happy hour is decent, drinks are strong. The staff is friendly and willing to help, we only had one bad waitress while there, but never returned to the restaurant after I got sick. The resort is about 3/4 mile from a beach, which doesn't offer any chair or umbrella rentals, so if you have young ones and need shade you will need to bring your own. The resort did offer a lot of activities and transportation to the grocery store, but all the activities were very "touristy" so we chose to do none of them and all were HIGH in price. You can rent a car and do your own exploring for the 1/4 of the cost you would have to pay to do trips with the hotel. Overall I wouldn't return to this resort but gave it three stars because the staff was pleasant and besides the beds, the rooms were very nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We had a great time here. The staff was very personable and very accommodating. You just need to know who to make friends with. Ester is my girl! There are a lot of other people that make up the Ocean Reef family. Preston, your night security guard is always there to keep your restless teenagers safe while wondering around the complex. Charles will always keep the party hoping with all his corney antics and Linda the bartender will keep the bahama mammas flowing. We had a two bedroom renovated unit. It was very spacious. Couchs were very comfortable and the massage chair was never empty if we were in the unit. Sunday breakfast at Groupers was very good. We did not rent a car but never had a problem getting where we needed to go. The Forbes family was always at hand to get us there and Hayward would throw in a dance lesson if needed. We found a great out of the way place on a beautiful beach....Bernie's. It is just down the beach from Island Seas. Great food and wonderful hospitality. Go for the Tuesday night BBQ and bonfire. Bernie and Bernard are what Bahamian hospitality is all about. We did the East end tour with JC. I don't think you will find anyone from the East end that knows more about the area than JC. You will go into the Caves and visit the Lucayan National Park. Then on to a beach front restaurant that is owned by his family (so is the beach..btw). Great insight to how real Bahamians live. Port Lucaya is good for shopping, night life and restaurants. You're on vacation, relax and enjoy. If you are in a hurry don't come to the Bahamas, stay in California.

Room Tip: From everything I've read....make sure you ask for a renovated unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downey, ca
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Family of 4 stayed for 2 very long weeks in June 2012 in a 3 bedroom, 3 bath. Layout of townhouse was very good but needs updating. Combo Safe in master bedroom. Washer/Dryer and ceiling fans. Full kitchen. 2 pool areas. Rented a new 2012 SUV at Avis!! We were expecting the Bahamas, the people, the island, the accommodations, the vibe to be that of Hawaii or Cancun or the Grand Cayman -- Save your money and spend it somewhere else. I'd never go back or recommend it to anyone. The island is definitely a run down place overall. There's a definite "Island" vibe with staff and servers and locals throughout this resort and everyplace we went too (except places listed below) that basically said "we don't care if your hungry, want to buy something, are standing there...you are an annoyance and we could care less about being nice or accommodating". The RESORT: Has wifi but it doesn't reach throughout the entire townhouse so had to place computer by patio glass door to get wifi. Two restaurants where you'll go there once and never go back...always empty except for new arrivals cuz' service is slow 45 min-1 hour for basic hamburger/chickens strips/fries for family of 4 and that's after standing in front of 3 waitresses for 5 minutes before they stop talking amongst themselves, ignoring you, etc, and take your order. The other outside restaurant Esther's is swarming with flies while she cooks and it takes even longer, she can't remember what you ordered and she's just plain rude. GOOD Things: Deserted white sand beaches, ONE GREAT Americanized restaurant Cappucino Italian at Port Lucaya -waiters are sharp, likable, nice and food is excellent; a great place to get scuba certified Grand Bahamas Scuba (onsite at Ocean Reef) costs $399 and included all gear and 5 dives, Lil B's reef fishing charter (onsite at Ocean Reef) costs $60 per person for 4 hours ...but that's about all. Definitely rent a car as we explored the island and weren't stuck staying there. The island is small, run-down, inefficient, and lacks systems and support.. doesn't have much as the Int'l Bazaar hasn't recovered from hurricanes from 7 years ago and the only other place to go is Port Lucaya. It was a very long 2 weeks so here are somethings to do that were good and reasonably priced: National Park $5.00 has bat cave which is cool and beach and mangroves; Radisson Grand Lucayan $10.00 day pass to go to their beach/pool; Pizza Hut and Sav-Mor Drug Store is brand new with good prices and high standards; rent a car and stop at every beach all the way to East End of Island; China Beach Restaurant at Radisson Grand Lucayan has $70 sushi boat that really feeds 4 people--great deal; Zorba's at Port Lucaya has good food and sells BTC calling cards (.25 cents to call US); Franks Ice Cream at Port Lucaya, Taino Beach Club/Junkaroo $5.00, Sabor Restaurant at Pelican Bay Resort has good prices and nicer staff; play tennis at Radisson Grand Lucayan for $25 hour on grass or us court; bring your own fishing pole from home and fish off the pier or beaches. LOTS of mosquitos so bring repellant!! Huge, itchy, red bites from small black mosquitos.

Room Tip: try to ask for a remodeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hays, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed at ORYC from June 2 thru June 9, 2012. We were housed in a three bedroom town house. The layout of the townhouse was perfect for our needs and we were very excited when we first arrived. Unfortunately, it went down hill from there. I could use a lot of space and elaborate on the shortcommings of the unit, in fact, my wife left a hand written, full sheet of paper on the coffee table outlining the problems. It included everything from broken blind slats and cords, to the three legged refrigerator, to the disconnected dryer vent hose, to the unvacuumed stair carpet. The place wasn't that clean when we arrived so we did what we could to make it livable. It was really very much in need of both minor and major repair. In their defense, they are in the process of redoing the units but in this case they should have started the process long before they did. I read reviews that indicated others felt like they constantly had their hand in your pocket and we felt the same way. I think the last straw was upon checking out we discovered that when we handed "stamped" postcards to the folks in the office to mail for us there was a fifty cent charge per postcard added to our bill for the convenience of an on-site mail service. The sign in the front of the resort says the restaurant was open from 8:00 a.m. until 10:30 p.m. That is not so. We arrived hungary about 9:30 p.m. on Saturday night and even the bar had closed so we were unable to eat until Sunday morning. We also discovered the restaurant and bar closed at 6:30 on Wednesday evening. Not sure why. There was also another bar and grill called Esther's near the other pool but as far as we could determine it was not open the entire time we were there. ORYC did offer a shuttle to the grocery store on Monday at 10:00 a.m. which, we were told by the lady at the information center, was the only grocery store in Freeport only to find out later that there was another grocery which was said to be much less expensive. In fact, we were told many things by the lady at the information center that later proved to be quite a stretch of the truth. They do offer gear and bait for fishing off the docks which we were told the gear was free and the bait was $5 but the truth is, the gear is $8 per pole per day and the bait is $3 per bag. They also offer a shuttle from ORYC at 10:00 every morning to Port Lucaya Market and from there you are within a short walking distance to the beach. However, that shuttle will not return until 2:00 in the afternoon. So, if you want to get back to ORYC you can pay $16 plus an additional fee for additional passengers or as we finally discovered, you can take the public transportation bus, which is over by the Police Station, for $1.25 per person.
I guess our greatest disappointment was the inconvenience of the location of the resort to Freeport and, other than Haywood's on site $16.00 taxi ride, the resort made little effort to alleviate that inconvenience.
For the last ten years we have used RCI many times to provide us with many beautiful and convenient vacations but they really dropped the ball when they rated this one as a four star resort. It was truly disappointing.
On a positive note, the on site dive shop, Grand Bahama Scuba, was much more than we expected and well worth the experience. We also got to know a few of the folks who were docked there and were living on their boats. For that reason they had a lot of good things to say about the mooring accomodations and the priviledge of being able to use the ORYC shuttle to get them to Port Lucaya.
All-in-all, I really liked the layout of the room and the resort grounds were well kept. It is a gated resort and IF they would make Freeport more convenient, get their hands out of the guest's pockets, clean and remodel all of the units, I think this could be a really pleasant place for a laid back vacation.

Room Tip: From what we could tell by talking to other guests the one and two bedroom units were remodeled but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montross, Virginia, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Ocean Reef Yacht Club is a very nice place to stay. It is simple, clean, the staff is very friendly and the atmosphere is quiet and relaxed. We swam in the pool, cooked out on the grill almost every night, sat on the porch, walked the docks and of course sat at the bar. We even enjoyed the events they hosted. I don't have a single complaint, other than the fact we didn't have spoons in our unit. lol :)

Room Tip: Definitely get a corner unit on the ground!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort

Address: 48-60 Bahama Reef Blvd. | PO Box F-42695, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Yacht Club Hotel Freeport
Ocean Reef Yacht Club And Resort
Ocean Reef Yacht Hotel
Ocean Reef Yacht Resort
Bahamas Ocean Reef Yacht Club
Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.