We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bell Channel Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bell Channel Inn to your Saves list
Bell Channel Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kings Road, P.O. Box F-43817 | Lucaya, Freeport 43817, Grand Bahama Island   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct & Save!
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Linköping
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Our stay at the Bell Channel Inn was nothing but fabulous. The whole atmosphere is utmost familiar and very friendly which makes you wanna stay (even longer than we did - 4 nights). The kindness and warmth from the staff alone easily compensates the fact that the Bell Channel Inn is somewhat scruffy/wornout.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart0704, Public Relations Manager at Bell Channel Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Kalle J,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I am glad you got to experience the warmth and friendliness of our staff. As Genie our hostess always says: "We may not be a 5 star hotel - but we have a 5 star staff!".

Bell Channel Inn is the perfect place, if you are on a budget and looking for a nice, clean place to stay while you are in The Bahamas. We are always renovating and thinking of ways we can improve our guests experience with us and if you should ever have any concerns - big or small we are happy to help.

We hope you will share your experience with your friends and family, so that maybe one day they too can experience why our motto at Bell Channel Inn is: "Where We Treat You Like Family!".

Best regards,

Susie Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    66
    22
    11
    8
See reviews for
22
65
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This was our first time at the Bell Channel Inn. Very comfortable and relaxing place. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are clean and spacious. We are divers, so It was great having Caribbean Divers right there on the property. The Inn is within walking distance of Port Lucaya Marketplace, which is a must see. The restaurant on the property has great food. Be sure and take advantage of the complimentary welcome drink!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor get a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Bell Channel Inn is excellent. Rooms are clean, staff is exceptional and Genie was the best. She got us involved with the Island, making suggestions and taking care of our tour needs. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellChannelInn, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Channel Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear HLMorgan,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed stay and that you found our staff to be friendly and attentive to your needs.

Thank you for choosing Bell Channel Inn and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Best Regards,

Susie Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was our first time. The employee's here made us feel so at home. The service was great. Everyone had a smile on there face. We will be back again.The Bell Channel Hotel was a dream come true. We enjoyed been in a private area with everything we needed at our finger tips.
A special thanks to (Jennie ) she makes everything come together
Thanks
Kenney & Tressa Smith
Mobile, Alabama

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellChannelInn, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Channel Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Kenney & Tressa,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review - I love your caption: "Home away from home".

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and experienced our happy and helpful staff, who always strive to make our guests feel at home.

We want to thank you for choosing Bell Channel Inn and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Best Regards,

Susie Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed there for second time this past week. Hotel is clean as a pin, nicely maintained, diving right outside lobby. Can catch fish off of pool deck. Staff was as friendly and helpful as they come. Maintained with Tender Loving Care. Not a 5 star but absolutely wonderful if you want a place to chill and still have access to the Port Lucaya Marketplace and all it's assorted activities and quire economical as well. Live music Friday and Saturday in the Upstairs Restaurant is really good. Try their cherry martini.

Room Tip: Rooms on C level are most quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Very friendly, attentive staff makes sure your trip goes as planned. It is an older hotel on a river not the beach, but is a solid and clean building. Likewise the restaurant doesn't look fancy but the food is made fresh and with care. The pool was immaculate. The dive outfit in the parking lot was very convenient and friendly.

It is a 15 minute walk to town which is healthy.

Grand Bahama has gotten a lot pricier lately and it was nice not to have to overpay for a hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor closest to the beach and we were happy with this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff. South Wales
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Arrived at Bell Channel Inn in September for a ten day holiday Stayed approximately 20 minutes and left.The rooms were not up to standard,air con not working fridge rusty and door hanging off furniture falling apart, noisey and all in all not a good place to stay for extended holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellChannelInn, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Channel Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Funbunny1,

As the supervisor of Bell Channel Inn I am very sorry to hear that our hotel did not live up to your expectations.

After a long transatlantic flight I can understand that you were looking forward to some peace and quiet, however, the "noise" you are referring to was the music from "Upstairs Restaurant & Bar" located on the 3rd floor, where we have Live Entertainment with Bahamas' famous entertainer Jay Mitchell every Friday and Saturday nights from 8pm-11pm.

I do apologize that your room was not up to your standard. We are continuously upgrading and appreciate your feedback.

I am sorry that you only stayed 20 minutes. We did not get a chance to introduce you to our friendly staff who will happily go the extra mile for our guests.
You did meet our manager, who went with you to your room and when you decided to move to a 4 star hotel, she gladly made the arrangements for you and gave you a full refund.

We may not be a 4 star hotel, but we do feel that we have a 5 star staff, which is why our motto is: Bell Channel Inn - Where We treat You Like Family!

Best Regards,

Susie Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bell Channel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Channel Inn

Address: Kings Road, P.O. Box F-43817 | Lucaya, Freeport 43817, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bell Channel Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bell Channel Inn is a family operated hotel, run by 3 generations. It has once again achieved the prestigious " Certificate of Excellence" awarded by Trip Advisor for its 4 star rating reviews.Bell Channel Inn is a small hotel with 32 spacious rooms, equipped with air-condition, dining room area, cable T.V., free wireless internet access, telephone, refrigerator, hairdryer, alarm clock, daily housekeeping, private balcony with a view over the water and Port Lucaya or a direct exit to the pool deck and your choice of king size or double beds. Should you need: coffee maker, kettle, shampoo, iron & ironing board or a roll away, laundry service or maybe a cab or a shuttle to the beach, then just call the front desk and they will be happy to assist you.Friendly and knowledgeable staff are available at the front desk 24 hours-a-day and the tour desk assistant, Genie, will give you a welcome drink and an orientation after you check-in regarding how to get around and which tours are being offered and she might even be able to find a discount or two on selected tours! The lobby has been newly updated and fitted with a comfortable sofa and a TV so you can catch up on all the news or get a chat with the ladies in the lobby while you wait for a taxi. You will also find a safe at the reception for your valuables. Bell Channel Inn also has its own restaurant & bar/lounge known as "Upstairs" where guests can enjoy drinks in the "No Stress Zone" after a long day in the sun. Upstairs is located on the top floor and has a beautiful view over the water, it is open from 7:30am -11pm, with Happy Hour from 5p.m.-7p.m. There is LIVE entertainment on Friday nights. Upstairs is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and has a good selection of both Bahamian and American dishes - they are especially famous for the fresh seafood! Don't forget to pack your swimwear as this hotel features an outdoor pool and a free shuttle to and from the beach. Free wireless Internet access is also provided so you can check your in-box whenever you like! Other amenities include non-smoking rooms, air conditioning in public areas, currency exchange, beach/pool umbrellas and free parking.Located on the waterfront, Bell Channel Inn is a hotel in the area of Lucaya, Freeport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bell Channel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Channel Hotel Freeport
Bell Channel Hotel Bahamas
Hotel Bell Channel
Bahamas Bell Channel Hotel
Bell Channel Inn Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bell Channel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.