We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bell Channel Inn

Save Saved
You added Bell Channel Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Bell Channel Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kings Road, P.O. Box F-43817 | Lucaya, Freeport 43817, Grand Bahama Island   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off Fun in the Sun
Ranked #2 of 18 hotels in Freeport
Cardiff. South Wales
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Bad Experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Arrived at Bell Channel Inn in September for a ten day holiday Stayed approximately 20 minutes and left.The rooms were not up to standard,air con not working fridge rusty and door hanging off furniture falling apart, noisey and all in all not a good place to stay for extended holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellChannelInn, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Channel Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Funbunny1,

As the supervisor of Bell Channel Inn I am very sorry to hear that our hotel did not live up to your expectations.

After a long transatlantic flight I can understand that you were looking forward to some peace and quiet, however, the "noise" you are referring to was the music from "Upstairs Restaurant & Bar" located on the 3rd floor, where we have Live Entertainment with Bahamas' famous entertainer Jay Mitchell every Friday and Saturday nights from 8pm-11pm.

I do apologize that your room was not up to your standard. We are continuously upgrading and appreciate your feedback.

I am sorry that you only stayed 20 minutes. We did not get a chance to introduce you to our friendly staff who will happily go the extra mile for our guests.
You did meet our manager, who went with you to your room and when you decided to move to a 4 star hotel, she gladly made the arrangements for you and gave you a full refund.

We may not be a 4 star hotel, but we do feel that we have a 5 star staff, which is why our motto is: Bell Channel Inn - Where We treat You Like Family!

Best Regards,

Susie Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    55
    19
    10
    7
See reviews for
16
55
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed here as the price was exceptional. The property was extremely well maintained, rooms were clean and extremely spacious. All the rooms have a beautiful view of the harbour. There is a restaurant in the hotel that overlooks the waterfront and has amazing food and service that is second to none. There is a dive shop on the [property as well that I found to be awesome as the group sizes were small and they tailored each dive to meet your needs. Its extremely close to the major tourist area (port lucaya) and I routinely walked there talking about 10 min at the most. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Bell Channel Inn for our one year anniversary. We were skeptical at first but cannot rave enough about our stay! Genie made our trip so memorable. She will help you with anything and know everyone on the island. She found us a personal taxi out to Gold Rock beaches and had to jump thru some hurdles to make it happen for us. She also took us to a bonfire on Taino beach. Awesome! The hotel is a small walk into town and beside Red Beards Pub. Best restaurant on the island. Huge portions and owner is really personable. Local hot spot. Bell channel has its own restaurant and bar upstairs that we frequented often. The hotel offers a free shuttle to Sea Island resort daily. Nice resort bit the real gem here is Cunningham the taxi driver. He was great and even gave us history lessons on the island. All room at bell channel are waterfront with a personal balcony with a gorgeous view of the water. Nice huge rooms. Only negative thing is no coffee pot in rooms. The restaraunt upstairs serves tiny saucers on fancy doilies. Adorable but were big coffee drinkers and a Togo is an extra 2.00. We will definetly be staying again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bredsten, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We have just returned from a 4-day trip to the Bahamas, where we stayed at Bell Channel Inn, and it was really good! Rooms are very big, and they all have the view of Bell Channel Inn, which means you can sit on the terrace in the evenings and listen to the water in the background as well as enjoy the beautiful view!
If you want a room with a terrace, ask for rooms on 2nd or 3rd floor, and if you want a room with direct access to pool area, ask for a room on 1st floor!

We also had the pleasure of eating in the restaurant at several occasions - and please make sure you do that, as the food is really nice!

Please also make sure that you use the on-site trip advisor Jeanie, who can help you with arranging all sorts of trips, and the hotel offers discount to many of these trips! If you have the time, participate in Fish Fry and also Bonfire activities, as you get to see the locals and feel the atmosphere!

All in all, a wonderful hotel, which I certainly hope we will be able to come back to again and again!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is a very quaint and comfortable Inn. The rooms are comfortable, clean and spacious. The staff is very friendly full of inormation to help you enjoy your stay on the Island. Also, some of the best food on the Island is cooked at the restaurant in the hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and on our next trip we will stay at the Bell Channel Inn.

Room Tip: If you get a room in the center of the Inn your view of the Channel from your terrace is breathtakin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellChannelInn, Public Relations Manager at Bell Channel Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Tina S,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with Bell Channel Inn and UPSTAIRS Restaurant & Bar. We are delighted to hear that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful.

It is always wonderful to hear that the food you had in our restaurant “UPSTAIRS” was to your liking. We serve both American and Bahamian dishes and we are known to serve some of the best seafood on the island!

Thank you once again for taking the time to write about your positive experience and we hope to see you soon at Bell Channel Inn – Where We Treat You Like Family!

Best Regards,

Susie Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Everything we heard about the restaurant was dead on - food was excellent and reasonably priced. Conch fritters. Try them. Drinks were reasonably priced and also quite good. Our room was clean, large, well-kept and had a gorgeous view. The pool was small but nice and the deck area large and comfortable. It was about a 20 minute walk to the beach, but there is a free shuttle that runs round trip once a day that we never felt that we needed. We ended up not seeing the famous Genie (she was on vacation), but we still felt very well served. The staff was very helpful when it came to organizing and booking events and transportation. They were always available for a friendly chat as well. Possibly the highlight of the trip insofar as the hotel was the pleasant and friendly staff - the owner and her family were particularly kind and accommodating, and on more than one occasion were nice enough to personally provide transportation for us, once in a tight situation. On the fourth of July we got to see a great fireworks show right outside our balcony. We saw no creepy critters, only lots of polite lizards. All in all, this is an excellent value. We were working on a very tight budget, but we never felt like we were staying at a cheap place, despite the great deal we got on it.

Room Tip: If a king-sized bed is important to you, reserve it early - they're in short supply, although ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellChannelInn, Public Relations Manager at Bell Channel Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear JacquelynnB,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with Bell Channel Inn. We are delighted to hear that you had a great time and that you found the hotel and restaurant to your liking. We understand that people travel on a budget, so we aim to keep our prices low, and the service high.

Bell Channel Inn is a small family operated hotel & restaurant – run by 3 generations. We have large clean rooms, delicious and well priced food, a beautiful view and a 5 star staff, that will go out of their way to accommodate any requests that you may have. We take great pride in providing excellent service, with a personal touch. This is why our motto is: “Bell Channel Inn – Where We Treat You Like Family!”

We thank you once again for sharing your positive experience here on Trip Advisor, and we sincerely hope to see you back at Bell Channel Inn again!

Best regards,

Susie Stuart (3rd generation)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport MN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This hotel was great! Amazing staff and super cute. It is a smaller hotel but it also has a resturaunt above it which has great food bahamian and american food. The staff is super friendly and help you out with any type of question. This hotel is also only a 10 minute walk to Port Lucaya so much better than spending money on a taxi or bus. But if youd rather take the bus there is a bus stop right outside the hotel only $1.50 for a ride to town. I loved our king size room it was so big and they have all the channels that we have on tv back in the US! Love it here would definately return to the Bell Channel Inn.

Room Tip: Id recommend if there is one to two people get the King size room its a lot better and bigger than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellChannelInn, Public Relations Manager at Bell Channel Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Dear TawneyLynne,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with Bell Channel Inn and UPSTAIRS Restaurant & Bar. Your description of Bell Channel Inn is spot on. We are a small family operated hotel with only 32 rooms. This allows us to give our guests a more personal experience and a feeling of being part of the Bell Channel family. When you stay with us you will find that everyone is very friendly and always has time for a chat. When you walk through the lobby you are likely to hear laughter and you will be asked: how was your trip to the beach or if you enjoyed the tour you just came back from.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Bell Channel Inn - Where We Treat You Like Family!

Best Regards,
Susie Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bell Channel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Channel Inn

Also Known As:
Bell Channel Hotel Freeport
Bell Channel Hotel
Bell Channel Hotel Bahamas
Hotel Bell Channel
Bahamas Bell Channel Hotel
Bell Channel
Bell Channel Inn Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Address: Kings Road, P.O. Box F-43817 | Lucaya, Freeport 43817, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 hotels in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bell Channel Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bell Channel Inn is a family operated hotel, run by 3 generations. It has once again achieved the prestigious " Certificate of Excellence" awarded by Trip Advisor for its 4 star rating reviews.Bell Channel Inn is a small hotel with 32 spacious rooms, equipped with air-condition, dining room area, cable T.V., free wireless internet access, telephone, refrigerator, hairdryer, alarm clock, daily housekeeping, private balcony with a view over the water and Port Lucaya or a direct exit to the pool deck and your choice of king size or double beds. Should you need: coffee maker, kettle, shampoo, iron & ironing board or a roll away, laundry service or maybe a cab or a shuttle to the beach, then just call the front desk and they will be happy to assist you.Friendly and knowledgeable staff are available at the front desk 24 hours-a-day and the tour desk assistant, Genie, will give you a welcome drink and an orientation after you check-in regarding how to get around and which tours are being offered and she might even be able to find a discount or two on selected tours! The lobby has been newly updated and fitted with a comfortable sofa and a TV so you can catch up on all the news or get a chat with the ladies in the lobby while you wait for a taxi. You will also find a safe at the reception for your valuables. Bell Channel Inn also has its own restaurant & bar/lounge known as "Upstairs" where guests can enjoy drinks in the "No Stress Zone" after a long day in the sun. Upstairs is located on the top floor and has a beautiful view over the water, it is open from 7:30am -11pm, with Happy Hour from 5p.m.-7p.m. There is LIVE entertainment on Friday nights. Upstairs is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and has a good selection of both Bahamian and American dishes - they are especially famous for the fresh seafood! Don't forget to pack your swimwear as this hotel features an outdoor pool and a free shuttle to and from the beach. Free wireless Internet access is also provided so you can check your in-box whenever you like! Other amenities include non-smoking rooms, air conditioning in public areas, currency exchange, beach/pool umbrellas and free parking.Located on the waterfront, Bell Channel Inn is a hotel in the area of Lucaya, Freeport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Bell Channel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bell Channel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.