We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average Resort... You can do better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island

Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island to your Saves list
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   42629 E Mall Drive, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Freeport
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Very Average Resort... You can do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights due to plane breaking in Freeport.

Plus:
Close to airport (less than 10 min drive)
Hotel has free wifi
AC worked well

Cons:
VERY outdated
Dirty towels in room
No restaurant in Hotel

Overall the hotel was very old and dated. The dirty towels in all my co-workers rooms as well as mine was gross.

The pool area was small but ok.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha T, Manager at Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Good Day We appreciate all reviews. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay to the fullest. The Castaways Resort and Suites take pride in our customers and their concerns. If a guest has a complaint such as they dont feel the towels are clean we would love to know so that we can take care of it immediately. We do not put dirty towels in rooms and we are very sorry our towels did not meet your stamdards. We wish you give us another opportunity in the future so that we can fulfill your accomodation needs. We do have a restaurant on property THE FLAMINGO RESTAURANT that serves delicious breakfast and dinner open daily as well as a pool bar and grill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

This was my second stay at this hotel, both times on business. I doubt that there were more that a dozen guests on this night. The reception staff are friendly and efficient. My room was clean and comfortable. There were 2 beds, an old CRT TV and a fridge. The rooms do have a/c although I didn't need it. The bathrooms appear to have been renovated and are quite ok. Overall the room was dated but fine for my one overnight stay.
If I had booked the hotel for a vacation I guess I would have been a little disappointed, it is ok but just that. There are open but covered external walkways giving access to the rooms. Half the hotel faces the road and half a garden area at the rear although my end room had a nice view of a service yard.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I have been attending meetings in the Bahamas for well over 30 years, and keep coming back to the Castaways.

The Caribbean as a whole has a laid-back, easy-going way of life, and the Bahamas is no exception. Hotels can be extremely expensive, especially from Christmas-Easter. This hotel has always been business-like, clean, and surprisingly affordable. I have stayed on this island, with some of the finest beaches and scuba diving for 30+ years.

It is not in a great location, being about 1/2 mile away from the beach, but they can get you a decent rental car deal (offsite) pretty quickly. Watch out for rental cars, which have the steering wheels on the wrong side! They drive on the left, but the cars are all made for the American market. Watch out for American tourists who are unsure where the cars should be!

The restaurant is not luxurious but food is fine, and ice-cream is wonderful!

Best weather and best value is usually Nov 1st - Dec 15th. It is too humid between Jun-Sep.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room, facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha T, Front Office Manager at Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
We at the Castaways Resort and Suites thank you for taking the time to post this review. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011 via mobile

Basic interior from 1982. Room was clean and the water hot. Staff only wants you to eat at the site restaurant. Don't waste your time.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibiu, Romania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Poor service in the restaurant-about 2 hours to get the regular dinner on my table. After my complaint to the information desk, all restaurant staff was informed about my complaint. I have been told that a manager will contact me the following day for follow up-never happened. Friends/relatives/etc came over in the restaurant to get food in the plastic bags. Poor food, different dishes for the same food , same table, etc.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011 via mobile

I agree with most reviewers about cleanliness. The room was very clean and the bed was soft. I had interaction with security when I went in the gym with slippers. I would say it's a great hotel for sleeping only but really there is not much to do in area. I suggest staying in Port Lucaya

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

Had A great time their the water was very nice you can see the fish in it

Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island

Address: 42629 E Mall Drive, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaways Resort and Suites is the closest full service hotel to the Grand Bahama Shipyard, Vopak Oil Storage Facility, The Freeport Harbor and The Grand Bahama International Airport. Freeport Town center and the Rand Memorial Hospital are within 1 mile. The Flamingo Restaurant offers mouth watering Bahamian and American dishes and sandwiches and drinks are served at the Flamingo Pool Bar. For the business traveler, we offer a complete business center, and high speed wireless internet is available FREE to all registered guests. For your next meeting or gathering, the Poinciana Boardroom can accommodate groups up to 50 persons theater style, and 35 classroom style. The Dolphin Gym provides state of the art equipment FREE to all registered guests. Guests can enjoy relaxing at large outdoor fresh water swimming pool. Tours can be booked at our Tour Desk conveniently located in our lobby. Take advantage of our FREE transportation to the William's Town Beach. Unwind with a good book in our cozy reading room. Our 24 hour front desk and security staff are always available for your assistance. Choose from 118 rooms and suites decorated in modern Caribbean flair, your choice of 1 king or 2 double beds. Our suites offer the extras of a 2nd bath, sofa bed, DVD/VCR and microwave. All rooms offer private balconies or terraces, air-conditioned, cable TV, FREE wireless internet, direct dial telephones, iron and board, blow dryer, clock radio with MP3 attachment, in-room safe, coffee maker and refrigerator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island Hotel Freeport
Castaways Resort And Suites Grand Bahama Island
Best Western Freeport
Freeport Best Western
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island Bahamas/Freeport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.