We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable but no frills.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island

Save Saved
You added Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island to your Saves list
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   42629 E Mall Drive, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 18 hotels in Freeport
Asheville, NC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Affordable but no frills.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011 via mobile

Basic interior from 1982. Room was clean and the water hot. Staff only wants you to eat at the site restaurant. Don't waste your time.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    11
    0
    3
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sibiu, Romania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Poor service in the restaurant-about 2 hours to get the regular dinner on my table. After my complaint to the information desk, all restaurant staff was informed about my complaint. I have been told that a manager will contact me the following day for follow up-never happened. Friends/relatives/etc came over in the restaurant to get food in the plastic bags. Poor food, different dishes for the same food , same table, etc.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011 via mobile

I agree with most reviewers about cleanliness. The room was very clean and the bed was soft. I had interaction with security when I went in the gym with slippers. I would say it's a great hotel for sleeping only but really there is not much to do in area. I suggest staying in Port Lucaya

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

Had A great time their the water was very nice you can see the fish in it

Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

nice place. great food. friendly and accommodating staff. love it.

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2005

Just got back from a trip to Freeport.
Stayed at the Western Castaways.
Staff very friendly and helpful. Off the
beach, but a free shuttlebus will take you
there.
Quick taxi service to Port Lucaya.
Would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2004

I visited Freeport from Nov. 2-8 with a friend of mine. We had a blast, as the hurricane damage (minimal, by this point) seems to be keeping people away, so there are very few tourists on the island.

We stayed at the Best Western, got a $70/night rate through Orbitz (remember there is an islandwide 15% tax, so our 6-night total was about $560). You will find nowhere better for the money. It was clean, and you need card access to get just about anywhere, so it keeps out the stragglers. The pool was nice and very clean. They also have a pool bar, but I can't comment on that, because it wasn't open during our stay. They have also a free shuttle to the beach, which leaves several times a day.

Someone complained about the security "glaring" at them. However, they were nothing but friendly and helpful to us, as was the front desk.

The hotel restaurant leaves much to be desired. We ate most nights right around the corner in the Int'l Bazaar. For those who can't leave American food behind, there is a Papa John's directly across the street, and Burger King and McDonald's are a half-block away.

As far as the other reviewer complaining about "panhandlers," we encountered one single person in six nights.

All in all, we had a fantastic time. If you can deal with not staying on the beach, then I'd recommend the Best Western.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island

Address: 42629 E Mall Drive, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 hotels in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaways Resort and Suites is the closest full service hotel to the Grand Bahama Shipyard, Vopak Oil Storage Facility, The Freeport Harbor and The Grand Bahama International Airport. Freeport Town center and the Rand Memorial Hospital are within 1 mile. The Flamingo Restaurant offers mouth watering Bahamian and American dishes and sandwiches and drinks are served at the Flamingo Pool Bar. For the business traveler, we offer a complete business center, and high speed wireless internet is available FREE to all registered guests. For your next meeting or gathering, the Poinciana Boardroom can accommodate groups up to 50 persons theater style, and 35 classroom style. The Dolphin Gym provides state of the art equipment FREE to all registered guests. Guests can enjoy relaxing at large outdoor fresh water swimming pool. Tours can be booked at our Tour Desk conveniently located in our lobby. Take advantage of our FREE transportation to the William's Town Beach. Unwind with a good book in our cozy reading room. Our 24 hour front desk and security staff are always available for your assistance. Choose from 118 rooms and suites decorated in modern Caribbean flair, your choice of 1 king or 2 double beds. Our suites offer the extras of a 2nd bath, sofa bed, DVD/VCR and microwave. All rooms offer private balconies or terraces, air-conditioned, cable TV, FREE wireless internet, direct dial telephones, iron and board, blow dryer, clock radio with MP3 attachment, in-room safe, coffee maker and refrigerator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaways Resort And Suites Grand Bahama Island
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island Hotel Freeport
Best Western Freeport
Freeport Best Western
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island Bahamas/Freeport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.