We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Layover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Pelican Bay at Lucaya to your Saves list
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Sea Horse Road at Port Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Layover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Had been on island for nine days and stayed at two different properties. Flight got cx and have never been treated better!!!! Check in at 10:30 am, no wait. Staff was so nice and would have done anything I needed. Food great, room was basic, first floor..nothing major, but if staying multiple nights would give it ago. Corners of room not so clean and safe didn't work, but I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanBayHotel, Operations Manager at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Lizzie56,

Thanks for taking time to write a review on your stay last month! Your brief remarks were noted and shared with our team. As for the safe, it is important for me to mention that you may have thought it was not working because the key block was missing. Those have to be requested at the front office, we apologize if this was not communicated.

Thanks again for visiting our island and giving us a review. We're happy you got home safely!

Della Bridgewater
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    258
    72
    35
    21
See reviews for
106
264
36
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very clean hotel, with friendly staff willing to go the extra mile for you. On site restaurant is terrific with fresh fish and meat dishes available. Three pools and walking distance to shops and other restaurants. On site breakfast is hearty and varied. Security staff is wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed at the Pelican Bay at Lucaya from for a few days in late June and early July 2013 and was very displeased overall with the entire experience. The room I had wasn't very nice (uncomfortable beds, paper-thin walls, crappy 19" CRT TV with fuzzy cable, etc.) The bathroom was not thoroughly cleaned (blood spots and stains on the walls). The staff are not very friendly either, besides a few folks who maintained the grounds there. It was very noisy from he surrounding rooms a lot of the time. I didn't get a good night's sleep the entire time I stayed there. The hotel's bar/restaurant "Sabor" is okay, butmthe staff there aren't friendly or accommodating either. They seem to do just enough to get by, but that seems to be the standard on Grand Bahama Island where rude, unfriendly, arrogant and generally un-hospitable people are the norm. I have to work on the island for now - unfortunately. One weekday night there was some event going on at Pelican Bay and there was absolutely no parking available for actual guests of the hotel. I had to park at the Lucayan Hotel and walk to my crappy room at Pelican Bay. I have stayed at other hotels on Grand Bahama Island and I will never stay at the Pelican Bay again. The crappy Wyndham at Fortuna Beach was a better experience, which is sad. It was a depressing experience for me to stay at Pelican Bay. I wish I never stayed there at all. The Lucayan Hotel is probably the best bet on Grand Bahama island but it isn't all that terrific either. I shouldn't even give the place 2 stars...

Room Tip: A suite on the east side of the property might be nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The hotel setting is welcoming with charming rooms located with views on the bay side of Port Lucaya and in close proximity to the marina. The staff are welcoming and accommodating. A nice touch is daily pastry delivery to room equipped with nespresso coffee for daily pick me ups. The beds are very comfortable. The only drawback to the facility is the deteriorated condition of the living room furniture. The couch which can serve as a pull out bed is totally unuseable and uncomfortable and borders on unhealthy to sit on much less sleep on.
An otherwise exceptional atmosphere is negatively impacted by this single shortcoming. I would definitely revisit and recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I don't think there's bad view from any room, however we like the more eastern rooms 31-38
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamosa, Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We checked in a day early, with out a problem. Checking in and out was fast and flawless Rooms were clean,I think the tile floors were cleaned with pinesole. I thought it smelled clean, wife not so much. everyone was friendly. Grounds clean and well groomed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelpiot65
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here and I was impressed how big and clean the room was. Great breakfast buffet. Very friendly staff.next to a cool shopping area too. Its takes about 15 minutes by cab to get there. The beach is about a block away.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Checked in before 9:00 pm was told by front desk the "on-site" restaurant served until 9:30pm (Sambo Room out by pool area). The Waitress gave the two of us a table and menu's then shortly thereafter returned and said the kitchen was not serving any more!!!
Next issue was the hot water valve in the shower was broken, therefore we took cold showers for two nights. We were there working on a boat all day so could not move during day.
The last night we were there Sat the 15th June 2013 in the middle of the night our door was broke into and people stated to enter, luckily we were able to "scare" them off. The rooms have a "trap door", maybe for room service, this can be opened easily, then they have nice access to your door knob on the inside to open door. Make sure you latch the top "hook style" latch.
The second day we had to go back to front desk after working all day as our plastic "credit card" slide key was now deactivated, could not open door. The front desk was helpful with this.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pelican Bay at Lucaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Address: Sea Horse Road at Port Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Bay at Lucaya 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Grand Bahama Island's most hospitable hotel, the Pelican Bay is a joyful mix of colorful Bahamian architecture and the finest guest service in the Caribbean. Unique waterside rooms and waterside state rooms enfold you in comfort, while offering special guest touches. Renowned standards of hospitality and attention to guest happiness assure you of a memorable stay in the Bahamas.Part of the Pelican Bay experience is located within steps of your room. In addition to our waterfront Sabor Restaurant and Bar, more than 30 restaurants, bars, shops, live entertainment, the Dolphin Experience, scuba diving, snorkeling, and deep-sea fishing trips are a short stroll away.Immediately across the street are two miles of white sand beach, a full service spa, four "Grand Slam" surface tennis courts and a casino. All this is the happy Pelican Bay experience, one you will remember with fondness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. and Priceline so you can book your Pelican Bay at Lucaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Bay At Lucaya Hotel Freeport
Pelican Bay At Lucaya Freeport
Pelican Bay Lucaya
Pelican Bay At Lucaya Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Bay at Lucaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.