We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room was not very clean, wouldn't classify it as 4 star” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Save Saved
You added Pelican Bay at Lucaya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Sea Horse Road at Port Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 hotels in Freeport
Tortola
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Room was not very clean, wouldn't classify it as 4 star”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I can put up with a lot but grime and past guest hair all over the place doesn't cut it. Room decor was a bit dated and the hotel has old televisions. And, it was $12 per day for internet and local calls 75 cents. Really? There was a group of us staying in 3 rooms and no one found the cleanliness to be stellar by any stretch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    308
    214
    58
    32
    19
See reviews for
90
221
29
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Connecticut, USA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife and I are from CT and we wanted to have a destination wedding that would also be affordable for our guests to attend. If that is also what you are looking for this is the place for you! We were married on April 20, 2012. From the time we contacted the wedding planner Marva Munroe to let her know we were interested in having our wedding at Pelican Bay to the wedding itself we never had to worry about anything at all. Marva was an absolute gem to work with. She also seems to be well known and respected in Freeport. (Just as a side note, I came down with an terrible eye problem the morning the day we left for the Bahamas and Marva got me in to see an optometrist the same day. They were very friendly and sympathetic and helped me greatly) Everything about the wedding was perfect (including the weather). The gazebo that we were married at has the bright blue bahamian water right behind it. The patio we had our reception on was right on the bay also. Everyone at the reception raved about the food. We picked the sirloin salad for an appetizer and grilled chicken/grouper for the entree so there was something for everyone and there was nary a crumb left on most plates. The passed hors d'oeuvres were excellent also (have to get conch fritters). The booze was plentiful and they had bahamian beers and coronas rather than the usual boring US domestics you would find at weddings. We didn't meet the DJ "Jose the Partymaker" until our reception but he did an awesome job. We had about 30 people there of varying musical interests and everyone was dancing the entire night. He maybe played one slow song after our intitial mother/son etc. dances. The waiters and bartender were great also and they even ended up dancing with all of us by the end. People in the balconies above us seemed to be having a great time too. All in all it was an absolutely perfect night.
The night before the wedding we had everyone go on the water taxi that the hotel has to go to a bonfire dinner as our "rehearsal dinner". This dinner is open to anyone so there were people there besides us and we all had a great time. They had some fun with me and my wife b/c they knew we were getting married. It was all you could eat (good food) and there were endless bahama mamas and just a wild party.
The hotel itself is wonderful and the staff was super friendly. It is also very affordable for your guests to attend. The rooms are big enough where you can comfortably fit 4 people in a room if people are looking to save some money by sharing rooms. They are eclecticly appointed and each room we saw seemed to be a little different but they were wonderful. They bring pastries and a piece of fruit to your door every morning but we also had hot breakfast included with our rooms (in a different building). The hot breakfast was pretty standard with bacon, eggs, cereal, pancakes, etc but it was prepared well enough. There are a few pools on the property and nobody seemed to mind if you were drinking your own booze by the pool as long as it wasn't obvious. We pretty much had the run of the place because we had a large group of people. There is also the water taxi that runs hourly that can take you to a beach. It's only a relaxing 10 minute ride. At the beach there is a pool and waterslide and a cave bar under the waterslide. The cave bar was great when it was open but there didn't seem to be any set hours of business. The Lucayan marketplace was a short walk away (2 minutes) and you could get your beers and alcohol there and bring them back to stock your fridge in your room. There were lots of different restaurants and the food was pretty good (including Domino's after a night of drinking). There was a lot of good energy between the hotel and the marketplace. Marva and the Pelican Bay staff made this an unforgettable wedding and vacation!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanBayHotel, Front Office Agent at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear David N,

Wow!! We thank you so much for your outstanding review. We are thrilled that you were able to experience an unforgettable wedding and that we were able to contribute greatly to that. We always try to provide our guests with memorable experiences that keep them wanting more and we are quite pleased that we were able to meet your expectations.

Thank you for your positive review and we look forward to seeing you again!

Dominique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff. South Wales
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

.It was a holiday that started out badly with terrible service by Virgin Atlantic Airways out of London and a big hiccup with our booked hotel - The Bell Channel Inn. It was so bad that we had to book into another hotel. But Pelican Bay Hotel came to the rescue. We arrived there very tired and somewhat fed up but Theron Smith came to our rescue and made what could have been a disasterous holiday into a great holiday. He was our knight in shinning armour. Everyone there at Pelican Bay made sure that we were comfortable and bent over backwards to ensure that our stay with them was memorable. The breakfasts were superb the staff were so friendly. Even down to shopping at the Colombian Emerald store Nadia Laing was the best. My thanks to everyone at Pelican Bay and everyone that we came into contact with in Grand Bahama we will see all you lovely people next year.

Room Tip: The suits at the Pelican Bay are great. Lovely lounge area looking out over the Bell Channel. Large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanBayHotel, Operations Manager at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear funbunny1,

We are very happy that we were able to turn a negative experience in to a positive one for you. Pelican Bay prides itself on the warm hospitality and friendliness that we give to all of our guest.

We thank you for your patronage and of course for the time you took to give us a review on tripadvisor. We hope that you would continue to spread the good word about us and visit us again on a future travel to Grand Bahama Island.

Della
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idyllwild, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Warm welcome. Big room. Very close to shopping and Radison Hotel across street with beach and casino. Biggest thing I didn't like was no beach. Three very nice pools and free water taxi to Taino Beach if you wanted. Would definitely stay there again. Theron Smith at front desk was very helpful with our check out and had a taxi ready for us at 6 am.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanBayHotel, Operations Manager at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear mtcowboy1011,

Thanks for your nice review of our hotel. It was a pleasure having you with us! Glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the near or present future.

Della
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We just got back and had a ball. We went Bone Fishing little gambling and lots of great eating. We would like to give a special thanks to Theron Smith on night duty at the desk who treated us with love
Donna and Bobby Z

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanBayHotel, Operations Manager at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Donnadiver!

We are very happy that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel and our beautiful island!

We appreciate the time you took to provide a review regarding your stay!

I'll be sure to pass on your good comment to Theron our Night Auditor, he will be pleasantly surprised!

Thanks for your patronage and we look forward to see you on a return visit to Grand Bahama Island!
All the best!

Della Bridgewater
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

I had an absolutely amazing Time at the Pelican Bay Resort & the staff was so friendly. I really enjoyed the complimentary continental breakfast served every morning & the beautiful pools overlooking the water. I would definelty recommend thus hotel to friends & family & also stay here again myself. Thank you Yvette Evans for finding my belongs in the room after I checked out & sending it out to me. You guys the best!!!! ;-)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanBayHotel, Operations Manager at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Nveronique,

Happy that you had a great stay with us! Yvette is certainly the best and I will be sure to pass on your compliment!

Thanks for choosing us as your venue while here on Grand Bahama Island!

We look forward to seeing you on a return visit.

Della Bridgewater
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed here because the airline messed up our flights and made us miss one day of our cruise. We flew into Freeport and the airport staff recommended this motel. We loved it. We were only there one night, but it is a beautiful property. The lady that checked us in was incredible! She was so accommodating and helped turn a disastrous day into a happy ending!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanBayHotel, Operations Manager at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Fosnut,

Thanks for providing such a pleasant review regarding your recent stay with us! I am happy that our front desk was able to make a disatrous situation into a happy one. It is certainly something we aim to do for all of our guest!

Your kind words are appreciated!

Della Bridgewater
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pelican Bay at Lucaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Address: Sea Horse Road at Port Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Bay at Lucaya 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Grand Bahama Island's most hospitable hotel, the Pelican Bay is a joyful mix of colorful Bahamian architecture and the finest guest service in the Caribbean. Unique waterside rooms and waterside state rooms enfold you in comfort, while offering special guest touches. Renowned standards of hospitality and attention to guest happiness assure you of a memorable stay in the Bahamas.Part of the Pelican Bay experience is located within steps of your room. In addition to our waterfront Sabor Restaurant and Bar, more than 30 restaurants, bars, shops, live entertainment, the Dolphin Experience, scuba diving, snorkeling, and deep-sea fishing trips are a short stroll away.Immediately across the street are two miles of white sand beach, a full service spa, four "Grand Slam" surface tennis courts and a casino. All this is the happy Pelican Bay experience, one you will remember with fondness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Pelican Bay at Lucaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Bay At Lucaya Hotel Freeport
Pelican Bay At Lucaya Freeport
Pelican Bay Lucaya
Pelican Bay At Lucaya Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Bay at Lucaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.