We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alexander von Humbolt Windjammer Cruise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahama Nature Tours

Grand Bahama Nature Tours
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
1-866-440-4542 - (242) 373-2485
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Kayaking
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Alexander von Humbolt Windjammer Cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We booked this as an on-shore excursion while sailing on the Carnival Pride, which only stops in Freeport for about 5 hours. There are not a lot of tourist activities in Freeport. This was a great choice. I love to sail and this 106-year old tall masted sailing vessel was a great contrast to the Pride. The crew of the Alex was extremely friendly. They are proud of the ship and love to talk about her history and how to sail. They answered every question from every person onboard. They also gave everyone a tour below decks. The cruise is only a few hours, so you basically motor out of the narrow inlet, hoist sails, sail for an hour or so, turn around and return. The crew explains what they're doing as they do it. For non-sailors who may have read books about tall ships or the "age of sail," it is a good way to see how those ships operated.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    24
    13
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Tour of the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My son and I booked this tour directly from our resort while staying at the Grand Lucayan in May 2012. The day of our tour was the most rain that the islanders had seen in years, we were told. So we opted to postpone until the following day and they graciously returned us to our hotel.The next day was bright and sunny and the tour was great! My son drove while I enjoyed the scenery - but the tour was such that even the drivers were able to see everything as well. Our tour guide was knowledgeable of the island's history as well as the flora and fauna. He communicated via cb radio and we could ask questions via cb as well. We would stop at scenic points for pictures and throughout the tour. We ate a prepaid lunch at the Garden of the Groves (a beautiful garden area with shops, see my review of this attraction for more details) and had time to walk around. We visited Junkanoo Beach, which is an experience - it took us ages to get the music out of our heads lol. At Junkanoo we kayaked and swam until time to go. The best part was the off-roading especially since it had rained the day before! We went to one of the most outer-points of the island where turning around was precarious, which of course only added to the fun! I believe we paid $180 US for 2 plus a generous tip for our guide - but it was WELL worth it as we thoroughly enjoyed this excursion.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

My family and I chose this tour adventure after our snorkel trip was canceled due to weather. Afterward we were all glad our snorkel trip was canceled and we went on this tour. This tour is great for active people or nature lovers. Our tour consisted of kayaking in Lucayan National Park, a short hike in the park, lunch, beach time at a beautiful private beach area, and a driving tour of part of the island to and from Lucayan National Park. Although the tour includes kayaking and hiking it is by no means strenuous. There were people of all age groups in our tour group of 14 people or so.

During the tour we got to see wildlife on land and in the water, mangrove forests, lots of different plants, a beautiful beach, an area where part of the Pirates of the Caribbean movies were filmed, and a number of different sites during the driving tour.

The tour is private and secluded. Once we got to the park we didn't see anyone other than the people in our tour group. The park is in a secluded part of the island so from our cruise ship it was approximately a 35 minute drive to the spot where we put the kayaks in the water. Everything the tour company provided us from the kayak equipment to the transport vans were clean and in good condition. The lunch was lite (cold cut sandwiches, salad vegetables, different types of fruit, surgery snacks such as cookies, and several different kinds of drinks) and appeared to be freshly prepared.

The only complaints my family had about the tour was that it was to short. This tour could easily be an enjoyable all day adventure. Time flies when you are having fun and the time seemed to fly by on this tour. At times we seemed a little rushed but that was because everyone was taking their time to enjoy the scenery/activities and we had to get back to the cruise ship before it left port.

This tour was fun and the guide (Sam) was very knowledgeable, informative, and entertaining. We enjoyed this tour so much we would do it again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Jeep tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Wanting to get off resort, we decided to book a jeep tour with Grand Bahama Nature Tours. It was a wise decision. We were picked up at the resort and taken to the offices, where we registered and had our choice of jeeps. When the other tour clients came from the visiting cruise ship, we proceeded to head out. Our tour guide provided lots of interesting information via the CB radio which was in the jeep. The tour took us from the offices, to the breakwater which sits where the island was physically split in order to provide some property owners waterfront property. After this, we drove to a couple restaurant and beaches, each one with their own appeal. Another stop included the Garden of the Groves, which is a must-see. We ended the tour by driving through various communities, seeing how the different people live on the island. All in all, an interesting trip. Well worth it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALEDON EAST
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“exceptional guide”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have been on other jeep tours this was overpriced however the guide a Bahamian native named P.J.was very informative about the islands the geograp[hic content ,wildlife how the economy works etc My husband drove-- the jeeps were in good condition but for 85 dollars per person we feel it was overpriced

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Bahama Nature Tours also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to Grand Bahama Nature Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahama Nature Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.