We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely take a tour!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rand Memorial Nature Center

Rand Memorial Nature Center
E. Settlers Way | Directly across from Grand Bahama Catholic High School, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
242-352-5438
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 59 things to do in Freeport
Activities: Birdwatching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 100-acre wildlife reserve featuring many tropical birds in their native habitat.
Denver, CO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Definitely take a tour!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Very nice to see the natural unkempt beauty of this island. Not as much walking as I had hoped. The pond was very interesting with an abundance of turtles and fish.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    13
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Take the tour.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

At 10:30 each morning, a guided tour is given. We were the only two on this trip, and our guide, Cecilia, was fabulous. We learned so much about the local use of the various plants. Best to call ahead to see if the tour is on. We loved it. But without the tour, it would have just been a walk in the woods. Oh, and if you are coming from Lucaya, take Jonathan's taxi from the back of the straw market and he will give you a great deal of info alonf the same lines.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Very interesting to see all the different trees that are native....other than pines and palms! I wish the hawk would have a larger aviary !

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST KINGSTON
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Art and nature”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Attended a fabulous art show that featured many local artists with a variety of mediums! Plus, was able to wander around the nature center that seemed to have a lovely opportunity to learn about local nature on the Bahamas.The staff were so friendly and accomodating!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver CO
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A Nice walk through wilderness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I guess this place was much more interesting in years past when there were flamingos but they were chased away after a hurricane. We had a nice walk through either way. A nice break from the busy shops. My wife wants to add that the little bird in the bird house is not real :) I caught her trying to be sneaky to get some pictures of what turned out to be a wooden bird! Not going to miss much if you have other things to do.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rand Memorial Nature Center also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to Rand Memorial Nature Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rand Memorial Nature Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.