We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Cool Place To Check Out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peterson Cay

Peterson Cay
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Improve this listing
Visit Peterson Cay like an insider
Top Rated
$50*
and up
Freeport Snorkeling and Catamaran Cruise to...
Ranked #2 of 59 things to do in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located a mile off the mainland shore, this small, often deserted island is a relaxing place for snorkeling and viewing birds.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Pretty Cool Place To Check Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We took a jet ski tour and stopped there. Awesome to hang out on a mini-island in the Caribbean with nothing on it except some picnic tables. Decent snorkeling off the beach.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    21
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meredith, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“bring underwater camera”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We kayaked out and snorkeled for hours. Awesome fish, sea turtle, sting ray, coral, sea cucumber and more. The tour guide was great. The water is so crystal clear that you just cant get used to it. Very warm water.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Washington
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
167 attraction reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
“Awesome Snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

You need to hire a boat to visit this snorkeling haven as it's a 1-mile swim to reach it from the beach (and 1-mile to return). The water shimmers with clarity so you can view all sorts of coral and tropical fish. Go at mid tide and head to the eastern end of the little island near the beach area. At low tide the rocks emerge from the water and you don't have enough water to keep you above the coral.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Ecotours to Peterson Cay a Highlight of our Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

This is a GREAT location to snorkel and our Tour guide was great and very knowledgeable. We would highly recommend!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Jet Ski destination Peterson Cay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

My daughter and I did the jet ski tour to Peterson Cay. We didn't stay long on the Cay, but it was such an amazing little ecosystem of coral, fish, and shells. We got to snorkel there for about 15 minutes. A definite highlight of our trip.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peterson Cay also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to Peterson Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peterson Cay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.