We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach, snorkeling” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peterson Cay

Peterson Cay
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #1 of 22 Attractions in Freeport
Type: National Parks
Activities: Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Located a mile off the mainland shore, this small, often deserted island is a relaxing place for snorkeling and viewing birds.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great beach, snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We took a private boat tour out to this Island. Great snorkeling and beautiful, clean beaches! So picturesque! Very secluded. We had a beach to ourselves for an entire afternoon!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    17
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Colorado
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Calabash Tours Kayak & Snorkel to Peterson Cay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Prior to leaving the states, we booked an excursion with Calabash Tours through Island Marketing Ltd. (Cayman). Tour guides Rico and Sealy met us at the dock as we unloaded our cruise ship. Our family of four (two teenagers 14 & 16) couldn't have had a better day. Rico and Sealy were AWESOME . . . very knowledgeable and friendly and made the day a fun adventure for all of us. Our daughter had a real fear of snorkeling and Rico helped her overcome her fear and she ended up loving the excursion. The snorkel around the Cay was rich with fish and corals and the kayaking was a great addition. Lunch at a local beach restaurant was the perfect way to wrap up the day.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fantastic snorkling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

we had an amazing time snorkling and a fantastic lunch.I would recomend this to anyone who likes to snorkel and loves the ocean.The water was so blue and clear it was trualy an amazing time

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“amazing place to snorkel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

There wasn't a crowd, just those of us on the excursion trip. beautiful views, a ton of different things to see, i kept looking up expecting to be in a completely different area, and was surprised to find how different the ocean floor could be within such a small range. we saw about 7 dolphins on he way back

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piedmont,ok
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

the beach was crystal clear & still waters. snrokled just a boatride away at beautiful reef. Saw lots of fish, squid, turtle, white reef shark! saw an eagle ray on the way back to resort. Wonderful time!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peterson Cay also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to Peterson Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peterson Cay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.