We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, had something for everyone!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of After Deck

After Deck
Port Lucaya Marketplace, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
373-8657
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 98 Restaurants in Freeport
Cuisines: Seafood, Bahamian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night
Description: The After DeckBar & GrillPort Lucaya. The Best Food In Grand Bahama! When in Grand Bahama, enjoy it's casual dining experience. Their menu features a mix of Bahamian, European and American dishes, prepared by world famous chefs, with mouthwatering seafood dishes, such as Stuffed Grouper, Coconut Cracked Conch and Whole Snapper. Group Info: With a seating capacity for eighty people The After Deck Bar & Grill is well equipped to handle all of your group's culinary needs. Open from 7am until 11pm daily. Located in the heart of the Port Lucaya marketplace, across from the Our Lucaya Resort and the Isle of Capri Casino.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value, had something for everyone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

Traveling with two pre-teens can be a hassle...I want to try the local food, they want their All-American favorites. The After Deck made us all happy! From a delicious yet inexpensive breakfast to a delicious dinner, the value was incomparable...some of the best food for the best prices in the area. The service was fantastic! The girls wanted Goombay punch, which The After Deck didn't serve, but our server found some elsewhere just to make us happy. Also has a full-service bar with wonderful Margaritas! If you walk around the village asking for recommendations, they'll point you to the more commercial places. Save time and head straight for The After Deck!

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    53
    39
    33
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clermont, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved the Fish and Chips"!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

In Port Lucaya for a few hours and as we approached After Deck, of course there was a lady already trying to get us in to this place, but we weren't ready to eat, did our thing around the square then decided on their fish and chips. It was a small but very pleasant place, clean with outside-inside seating, we chose inside. We both ordered and service was very prompt! The food was amazing, nice and hot!! The taste of the batter on the fish was so good! Coleslaw and fries came with it! Had to sweet teas which was great tasting teas as well! Food was little high but it always is in the Bahamas, so ya kind of expect it. $40 for lunch. Try this place out sometime!

  • Visited January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worst Food ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

This place i must say was very dissapointing for me. I went there for food and it was just terrible. my son had a hot dog and the bun was old.

  • Visited March 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular Jumbo Chicken Wings!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

I'm not into eating conch, so I decided to order the Jumbo Chicken Wings, hoping they would be unique and boy were they! The flavor and crispiness of these wings were simply put.....perfect. I wish I had the recipe, that's for sure.....I could eat them everyday!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Food - Outstanding Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

This restaurant in Port Lucaya was formerly Cally's. I had breakfast at After Deck several days while in Freeport. Portion sizes were very nice and the prices were pretty much the standard and very similar to Zorba's which is directly opposite.

Service is friendly and prompt. Depending on the season, it can be crowded but there is always space available since they have expanded into what used to be a clothing/gift shop. Decor is nautical and pleasant.

Note: just about all restaurants build in the tip at 18%.

  • Visited December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed After Deck also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to After Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage After Deck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.