We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was our fav hangout spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of After Deck

After Deck
Port Lucaya Marketplace, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
373-8657
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 99 Restaurants in Freeport
Cuisines: Seafood, Bahamian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The After DeckBar & GrillPort Lucaya. The Best Food In Grand Bahama! When in Grand Bahama, enjoy it's casual dining experience. Their menu features a mix of Bahamian, European and American dishes, prepared by world famous chefs, with mouthwatering seafood dishes, such as Stuffed Grouper, Coconut Cracked Conch and Whole Snapper. Group Info: With a seating capacity for eighty people The After Deck Bar & Grill is well equipped to handle all of your group's culinary needs. Open from 7am until 11pm daily. Located in the heart of the Port Lucaya marketplace, across from the Our Lucaya Resort and the Isle of Capri Casino.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“This was our fav hangout spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We ate here 4 times on our trip. It was best to order one dish and share it amongst us all so we could try different things. We had the coconut french toast which was awesome without anything else added. The heavenly conch was our fav, and they had spot on jerk chicken. We tried the conch salad and it was fresh and limey, it was just too much for one person. The kalik (local beer) was best but they didn't have it so we ordered sands instead, they make a good bahama mama though. The servers were nice but could have been more personable...whatever you do, don't feed the pidgeons.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    49
    35
    29
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“If I could rate this 0/5 I would”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Terrible service, even worse food. I asked for coffee and was told it was "Old and from the morning" and wouldn't I rather have hot tea? I said I wanted coffee and instead of making a new pot, got the lukewarm morning coffee at 9 p.m. The men's bathroom was out of order. The women's bathroom was not stocked properly (no paper towels), it was dirty, the liquid soap was watered down, there was a sign that said "Do not flush toilet paper" so the bathroom smelled bad with toilet paper in the garbage can, and the lights were out in the entrance way to the bathroom. Everyone's food was gross and over-priced. Then, when my uncle paid, the server didn't tell him the tip was included (it was our first dinner out on the island and he didn't know tip is usually included) and he tipped on top of the 15% already included tip so this terrible server got a 30% tip and she was the worst ever! DO NOT EAT HERE. Walk a few steps and go to Agave or Zorbas.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa monica, ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beware of very high lunch prices”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We were in a hurry for lunch and ordered from the specials board and didn't think about asking about the prices. Well little chicken sandwich with a handful of fries was $15 and a fried whole snapper $29.99! The food was pretty good but definitely double in price. We had breakfast there the day before and that I would give a 4 star review

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Save your money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

-rude staff (calling after people as they leave re: the tip they left), slamming plates down, etc. etc.
-they need to work on their menu wording..."pan fried conch" = deep fried conch
-rice and peas were burnt and stuck together in lumps
-just not a good overall experience...would never return

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice restaurant for a quick bite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The restaurant was recommended by our cruise ship, and for a good reason. There was a nice selection of food, good quality and good prices. There were several items that we wanted to try, and definitely will go back there when we visit again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed After Deck also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to After Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage After Deck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.