We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still best buy on island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Resort and Golf Club

Save Saved
You added Island Resort and Golf Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Island Resort and Golf Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rum Cay Drive, Freeport 00000, Grand Bahama Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 18 hotels in Freeport
chelsea,me
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“still best buy on island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

stayed 5 weeks.the heated pool was great.large two beed room conds each room has walk in closet.staff is great do all they can do to help.not on beach but shuttel you to it.old but very well maintained.best buy in yhe grand bahamas.come and tyr it you'll love it.they even have a van to market once a week.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
1
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We booked a two bedroom, 2 bathroom unit at the Island Resort and Golf Club, and if you are reading this review, you have probably already realized that you can get a week here for the same price as a night or two at a conventional hotel. Too good to be true? Nope, but keep in mind that you do get what you pay for.

First of all, the building is quite old. It is a low rise (3 level) building, I'm guessing at least 30 years old and I'm not sure that any renovations to the units have been preformed since the initial construction. There are clear signs of wear and tear everywhere but generally speaking, the property is clean and very functional. You walk in to the unit and there is a decent size, fully equipped kitchen on one side. On the other side is the first bedroom featuring 2 single beds, ensuite and walk-in closet. The rest of the unit contains a spacious joint dining/living area (with new flat panel tv!) with the master suite off that room. This bedroom features a king sized bed, smaller tv, ensuite and walk-in closet.

The property is perhaps a 10 minute drive from the airport. I will provide more information on taxis and car rentals at the conclusion of this review. My biggest criticism of the property was its location. There is nothing around...the International Bazaar that tends to be mentioned in other reviews was quite a disappointment. Most restaurants/shops were closed at any given time. With the exception of the free shuttle to the Island Seas resort, you will have to pay for taxis or shuttles everywhere else and these costs can escalate very easily. The only "happening" place on the island appears to be Port Lucaya, which is approximately a 10 minute drive away.

I will also complain slightly about the sleep quality. If you are a light sleeper, note that the single beds were hard (the King wasn't)and the blinds on the windows did not filter out light. You could hear all sorts of noises from birds and other local creatures (not sure if they were insects or frogs). FYI, expect to see those little lizards running around everywhere. Nowhere to be found though was a golf course..lol.

Overall though, I think the property offered good value for money. Besides the rental fee, you have to leave a $50 deposit if you exceed the electricity allowance. We had a total of 5 people in the unit and ran the air conditioner regularly and we barely exceeded the allowed usage, so this should not be a concern. There are 4 washers and dryers free of charge and a grocery store nearby - walking to it is quite feasible, walking back with bags of groceries, not so much. The staff at the Island Resort were excellent. Stacey and Nettie at the front office are extremely courteous as was Trevor, the shuttle bus driver. The security guards (at night) were really nice guys too.

As for the fore-mentioned taxis, I recommend using Freeport Taxi (352-6666). We were fortunate to have encountered 2 good drivers named Russell (taxi # 32) and Smith (taxi # 228). Avoid Kenny (a female) in taxi # 20, who was very dishonest. A taxi from the airport to the Island Resort should cost $14 based on 2 people. Expect to pay $3 extra for each additional person. A taxi from the resort to Port Lucaya costs approximately $15 one-way for 5 people. Renting a car would be ideal if you are staying at the Island Resort but keep in mind that the rental companies did not offer/sell liability insurance. So in the event of an accident that is deemed your fault, you would be responsible for all of the other person's damages.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelsea,me
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

one of the only heated pool in freeport.the staf was great . the place is old but well keeped.if you wont glitz go to nasua .agrea way to vaction and relax

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Rented a week at this resort to extend our Bahamas stay to 2-weeks and got a very good price, but after our stay it was obvious as to why our costs were so low. Very low quality resort with near to the basest of amenities.

The real drawback was what seemed to be the rather exorbitant charge for Electric Usage beyond a predetermined threshold. When we checked our electric utilization after Day-3 and found it to already be near the limit, we had to implement very aggressive electric limiting (unscrewed 75% of light bulbs; forewent A/C, dishwasher, TV, and stove/oven; cooked ALL meals on resort propane grills; unplugged microwave, clock radios, and cable box; opened windows and even limited use of ceiling fans). After implementing these very aggressive measures our remaining 4-day utilization was approximately only 12% of what we had used during the first 3-days, and we were only slightly above the weekly allotment. Too hot, and WAY too bothersome!!!!!!!!!!!

I had heretofore never heard of paying for commodity services at a resort, but now understand that this is also common on other islands (Bermuda, Virgins, etc). We will never again stay at any "resort" that imputes this ridiculous levy.

With no restaurant, shop, gym, orientation, nor visible security thankfully this was our first week in Freeport where we could do our excursions and find our bearings with absolutely no regrets of missing any activities at this resort.

The desk staff was very pleasant and accommodating, but there simply is not much at this resort, nor in it's surrounding areas. Our understanding is that after the devastation from the last hurricane that the cityside of Freeport lost investment dollars and much of it was not rebuilt. Clear to see, even with the naked eye. While we would certainly visit Freeport again, we much prefer the coastal resorts.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelsea,me
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

stayed two weeks,could not be happier,one of the only heated pools on island.shuttiel to beach 4 or 5 times a day.free wifi in rooms.cant wait to back.small bar on site.shuttel to food store.bring golf cart to you

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

Travelled here with family with young toddlers.
- Check in was AMAZING! Nettie was very nice and made sure it was a breeze. We were able to check in early at 10am neither then normal check in time at 4pm. Crib (full size) and high chair was waiting for us in room.
- Pool is SPOTLESS and just the right tempature, refreshing on hot days but not to cold.
- you can exchange your towels daily
- even though no washer/dryer in room there is a laundry room which is free down stairs.
- very quiet
- staff will go out of their way to make sure your vacation is a good one.
- rooms are clean but showing their age with decor and updates.
- wifi is very fast.
- free local phone service at office.
- free shuttle to "sister" resort: Island Seas resort. Took this many times, the beach is very nice and they have a beautiful pool. Great to go to and enjoy the amenities but we would rather have the smaller resort.
- Games in office are missing pieces.
- A/C is room was great and the rooms cooled off fast.
- kitchen is well stocked and if you needed anything Nettie was there to get it.
- gas BBQ's near pool were very nice.
- not much to do near hotel we would reccomend renting a car.
- Mike is the bar tender who is very nice but compare other tours before booking any (do some research). Example: Admission to national park is $3 per person. But booking trip through him was $35 plus admission ($3) plus food when tour stops at food spot.

Enjoyed the stay and will be coming back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Island Resort and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Resort and Golf Club

Also Known As:
Island Resort And Golf Club Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Address: Rum Cay Drive, Freeport 00000, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 hotels in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Resort and Golf Club 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Island Resort and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Resort and Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.