We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old but great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Resort and Golf Club

Save Saved
You added Island Resort and Golf Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Resort and Golf Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rum Cay Drive, Freeport 00000, Grand Bahama Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 hotels in Freeport
chelsea,me
Top Contributor
336 reviews 336 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“old but great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

one of the only heated pool in freeport.the staf was great . the place is old but well keeped.if you wont glitz go to nasua .agrea way to vaction and relax

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
2
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Rented a week at this resort to extend our Bahamas stay to 2-weeks and got a very good price, but after our stay it was obvious as to why our costs were so low. Very low quality resort with near to the basest of amenities.

The real drawback was what seemed to be the rather exorbitant charge for Electric Usage beyond a predetermined threshold. When we checked our electric utilization after Day-3 and found it to already be near the limit, we had to implement very aggressive electric limiting (unscrewed 75% of light bulbs; forewent A/C, dishwasher, TV, and stove/oven; cooked ALL meals on resort propane grills; unplugged microwave, clock radios, and cable box; opened windows and even limited use of ceiling fans). After implementing these very aggressive measures our remaining 4-day utilization was approximately only 12% of what we had used during the first 3-days, and we were only slightly above the weekly allotment. Too hot, and WAY too bothersome!!!!!!!!!!!

I had heretofore never heard of paying for commodity services at a resort, but now understand that this is also common on other islands (Bermuda, Virgins, etc). We will never again stay at any "resort" that imputes this ridiculous levy.

With no restaurant, shop, gym, orientation, nor visible security thankfully this was our first week in Freeport where we could do our excursions and find our bearings with absolutely no regrets of missing any activities at this resort.

The desk staff was very pleasant and accommodating, but there simply is not much at this resort, nor in it's surrounding areas. Our understanding is that after the devastation from the last hurricane that the cityside of Freeport lost investment dollars and much of it was not rebuilt. Clear to see, even with the naked eye. While we would certainly visit Freeport again, we much prefer the coastal resorts.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelsea,me
Top Contributor
336 reviews 336 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

stayed two weeks,could not be happier,one of the only heated pools on island.shuttiel to beach 4 or 5 times a day.free wifi in rooms.cant wait to back.small bar on site.shuttel to food store.bring golf cart to you

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

Travelled here with family with young toddlers.
- Check in was AMAZING! Nettie was very nice and made sure it was a breeze. We were able to check in early at 10am neither then normal check in time at 4pm. Crib (full size) and high chair was waiting for us in room.
- Pool is SPOTLESS and just the right tempature, refreshing on hot days but not to cold.
- you can exchange your towels daily
- even though no washer/dryer in room there is a laundry room which is free down stairs.
- very quiet
- staff will go out of their way to make sure your vacation is a good one.
- rooms are clean but showing their age with decor and updates.
- wifi is very fast.
- free local phone service at office.
- free shuttle to "sister" resort: Island Seas resort. Took this many times, the beach is very nice and they have a beautiful pool. Great to go to and enjoy the amenities but we would rather have the smaller resort.
- Games in office are missing pieces.
- A/C is room was great and the rooms cooled off fast.
- kitchen is well stocked and if you needed anything Nettie was there to get it.
- gas BBQ's near pool were very nice.
- not much to do near hotel we would reccomend renting a car.
- Mike is the bar tender who is very nice but compare other tours before booking any (do some research). Example: Admission to national park is $3 per person. But booking trip through him was $35 plus admission ($3) plus food when tour stops at food spot.

Enjoyed the stay and will be coming back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Resort and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Resort and Golf Club

Address: Rum Cay Drive, Freeport 00000, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Resort and Golf Club 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Island Resort and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Resort And Golf Club Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Resort and Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.