We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best conch salsa and roast conch on the beach, anywhere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tony Macaroni's Conch Experience

Tony Macaroni's Conch Experience
Taino Beach Park | Taino Beach, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
242 533 6766
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 99 Restaurants in Freeport
Price range: $4 - $26
Cuisines: Seafood, Bahamian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Late Night
Description: Beach Shack
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best conch salsa and roast conch on the beach, anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Based on prior reviews we took up Tony's invitation to come out and enjoy his conch. It was fresh, we got to see him removing it from the shell, it was awesome. My husband got the roast conch and shrimp and it was cooked perfectly. I got the conch salad and it was absolutely just killer. A volleyball game started up while we were drinking Our gully washes, we had a great time walking the beach. Tony Macaroni is the place to go in Freeport to get the best in fresh conch!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    18
    13
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Best Hospitality In The Bahamas!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Hi Tony,,
For all the viewiers on Trip Advisor's,,,If you ever get a chance to go to the Grand Bahama's in Freeport (Smith's Point) make sure that you put on your to do list, To visit (Tony).He is the REAL DEAL!!! Great food,breath taking setting and wonderful hospitality.This was an awesome experience if you like true traditional bahamian food.Tony,Kevin and Denise are all BEAUTIFUL,WARM and some of the most KINDNESS people you will ever meet! My husband and I got to do the conch deminstration which was really cool and Tony explains everything right to where you are actually tasting it,,(Yes raw conch) Which surprisingly is very good and the Concharoni,,OMG the best ever!!! Our conversation with him after he had closed for the day was priceless and he even made sure we got back to our hotel safe.Thank you for such a lovely day!!!


With Lot's Of Love,,
Rhonda & Doug
Cincinnati,Ohio

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reynoldsburg, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My wife and I stopped at Tony Macaroni's on July 5, 2014 as part of a Coconutz Cruisers Tour, and we had a great time! Tony gave us some great stories about the conch and Bahamian culture. Of course, the high light is when he shows you how to "Crack it! Stick it! Pull it!" to get the conch out of the shell in a very fun and interactive demo. Then we got our very first taste of conch and conch salad. An in credible cultural experience, Tony!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbaGals
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Are all the good reviews REALLY about "THIS" Tony Macaroni's???”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We were told about this place by a couple of diffferent people on the island. Maybe we went on a bad day for him & his wife? She was downright rude when we arrived & asked if they had Conch Fritters? "We don't deep fry ANYTHING Ma'am" The food took an HOUR to come out. & was NOT what she had described..........She never mentioned SOUP at any time? The conch was tasteless & hard rubber & the roll you could have cracked cement with! The grouper was EXACTLY the same in it's foil pouch...........Tasteless & rubbery.............That must be why she makes a big show of her homemade hot sauce. It is to give the food some taste. We threw all ours to the seagulls & at $12 a pouch it was expensive bird food & no one asked if we enjoyed it or why we threw it to the birds. (I go to Key West a lot & LOVE Conch whatever way so it wasn't "me")!! I also had to wait more than 5 minutes for her to break away from her conversation so I could pay my bill & I never gave them a penny tip. The service was UNINTERESTED & the food was REALLY bad. & she added an extra dollar to the bill compared to the menu board. Thankfully this was the only bad experience we had on Freeport & we were there for a week & ate at another 3 beach stalls (all awesome food). I do have to say, the location was hard to find & we needed a local to escort us! (shouldn't have bothered) But the view was BEAUTIFUL & the alcohol/ beer looked to be cheap so I would only recommend drinking there..........

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“They will make you feel welcome and you will have fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Be sure to stop and try their conch salad. Staff will be friendly and on weekends, they have live jazz music which is awsome. Its a very friendly place and dont forget, you're on the beach! p.s. no indoors, on a windy day, be sure to have a jacket!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony Macaroni's Conch Experience also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to Tony Macaroni's Conch Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tony Macaroni's Conch Experience, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.