We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banana Bay

Banana Bay
Fortune Bay Drive, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 99 Restaurants in Freeport
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

When we pulled up with our friend from the island we had very low expectations. Not only is the view spectacular but the food was too. We had crab cakes and a fresh crab salad that was so good. The burgers are good too. I enjoy a large carafe of ice tea! Definitely one of the best lunch spots on the island.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    64
    20
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truth or Consequences, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Right on the Ocean!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We eat here frequently. It's a great place to take people, as it's right on the beach and they serve traditional Bahamian fare. It's a small place, but there is seating on the deck outside and we frequently bring a dozen or so friends at a time. The service is also traditionally Bahamian, so don't be in a hurry. Have the Banana bread! They bring it to your table straight from the oven and it's very good!
Attire: Swim suit, wet hair. Seriously, straight from the ocean to the table!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Food and service was good. I had the cracked conch and peas and rice-excellent. Conch chowder was also very good. Water was nice one day and full of seaweed another. Overall nice time!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Banana Bread on Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My husband and I love this place so much we walked up the beach to dodge flooded hurricane roads just to get some wonderful banana bread and conch fritters. The view from the restaurant is a post card and the owner is very friendly. We had a wonderful experience there.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rainy Day Culinary Tour of Freeport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We have had alot of rainy days the last two weeks (Hurricane Arthur and very rainy week after Arthur). I got a bit of cabin fever and decided to drag the hubby to some local joints to try the food. Banana Bay was one stop #2 of the day. We were the only people in the place. Jennifer waited on us...she was a bit shy / hesitant but eventually opened up a little. I ordered a rum punch in a tall glass (less alcohol I was driving) and Bill had beer (High Rock - good and cold). My rum punch was delicious. Not just some pre - prepared junk in a jug but fruit juices mixed together perfectly with the right amount of rum and plenty of ice. We ordered the grouper with slaw and peas with rice. It was delicious. The fried fish was cooked to perfection - not oily , the slaw was fresh and cold,. The peas w rice were a little dry but hot sauce fixed the problem. We ordered their house made hot sauce and it was original...peppers steeped in lime juice . They take the peppers out and what you end up with is a refreshing and different hot sauce. We liked it. They gave us alot of looks when we asked for really hot sauce so she press them and they will give it to you. Great experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Bay also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to Banana Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banana Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.