We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must Beach Day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banana Bay

Banana Bay
Fortune Bay Drive, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 99 Restaurants in Freeport
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Pasco, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A must Beach Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

DO NOT MISS THIS BEACH

We asked the cab driver for a beach. He asked quiet or no? We said quiet. He drove us about 15 minutes past Lucaya Market to Banana Bay. We were the first foot prints in the sand! At about 11am. The beach was amazing! We were on the beach in the water , shell hunting the whole time! Others showed up only about 10 total were ever on the beach. From the water we saw the restaurant packed at one point probably 1pm. Our cab driver said he'd be back to pick us up at 330pm so about 230 we sadly pulled ourselves from the beach to go eat. The ice tea is so refreshing and giant! We shared had more than enough. We ate the bacon cheese burger fries and fish and chips potato salad very good food! Done eating and paid in enough time to use restroom and meet driver. We gave him 20$ to drop us at 11-330. On way back to our place he took us around a few neighborhoods while spreading some local gossip!:) was a great day

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    64
    20
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Location Can't Be Beat BUT Slow & Unattentive Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We ate lunch at Banana Bay as a stop on our Lucayan National Park Tour (food not included in tour). It is located RIGHT on the beach and the view is amazing. We both had cheeseburgers which had a great smoky grilled flavor. The view was so amazing I'm still giving it 5 stars even though our server sucked. We never got checked on during the meal, nor did we get refills on our drinks. I also tried a mango daiquiri which was very weak but had excellent flavor. I would eat here again without a doubt, but I would request a different server. I did not like the mandatory 15% gratuity. She was a 10%-er at best.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Have the Conch Fritters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We walked here from our resort (about 30 mins on the beach) and it was delicious. Staff was also very friendly. We had the conch fritters, grilled mahi mahi and fried fish sandwich. all were excellent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Great food ,people and awesome view nice place next to a nude beach if that makes it a plus for some

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

I had a few negative experiences at this beautiful beach restaurant but decided to try again.
It was AMAZING. The fish wrap was delicious, drinks were cold, everyone was thrilled with the food and service.
And you cannot beat the view.
Five star beach experience!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Bay also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to Banana Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banana Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.