We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great beach restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banana Bay

Banana Bay
Fortune Bay Drive, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 97 restaurants in Freeport
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great beach restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We came across this restaurant while walking on the beach, and what a find!!! You cannot beat the atmosphere and the food, although similar to every other place, it was really good. I would definitely return on my next trip.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    83
    51
    17
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good food, drinks, relaxation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Good food on deck overlooking the bay. beautiful. Drinks were very rum-derful. Large empty beach right there to enjoy.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Place on Great Beach with Great people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Had a wonderful lunch with a great view, the chef will cook your conch catch if they are big enough, we left all the conch we found as they were too small.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
1 review
“Place I was looking for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Found ourselves for a month in Freeport in April - May. I had been down to Golden Beach which was so beautiful, but quite a trip. I love to go in the ocean, but not when it's cold-ish plus tides and winds were running strong at Coral Beach. Finally a native Bahamian recommended this beach and restaurant and it was just the kind of aqua-blue water, white sand (albeit with seaweed and stuff on it) idyl I was looking for. There was no seaweed at this time of year in the water in front of the Banana Bay cafe. Very shallow with a sandbar (shaped like a banana) so it was warm enough for me. The cafe was unpretentious and the food very good (I just don't remember what I had now), but we try to eat healthy so I was content on that score. Originally from NJ, we know how to grab a waiter - which was necessary, but then no problems. It's now my go-to ocean spot in Freeport and the restaurant doesn't mind if you just hang out there on their porch all day - which is probably why the restaurant staff tends to leave you alone. I will say that the tourists from the cruise ships are brought here by bus on tours so I don't know if one should check that out beforehand during cruise ship season.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pooler GA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“BEACH NOT AS PICTURED”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The food was average and the view is nice but don't plan to use the beach. Dead seaweed washes up on it all day, creating and ugly and impenetrable barrier to the water. There was a tractor raking the mess around, but it just stirred it up and made it uglier.

This may have been a seasonal thing (July 10) since the beach looks clear in the pictures above.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Bay also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to Banana Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banana Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.