We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early Bird deal was great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Giovanni's Cafe

Giovanni's Cafe
Port Lucaya Marketplace, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
242/373-9107
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 98 Restaurants in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Early Bird deal was great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We hit up the early bird deal after a long day in the sun and it was just what we needed! Glass of wine and pasta for about $13. Every where else in port lucaya is in the $20s for entrees during normal hours so we considered this a great deal. Since it was early, the menu was limited but we made it work! Unfortunately there werent any seafood options on the early menu but the pesto pasta was great! and the fett alfredo was good! The chicken was sub par little balls of dried chewy meat but the pasta itself was cooked well and sauce tasty! But for the good price we got a ton of food and excellent service. we had the nicest waiter!!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    73
    28
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohningen, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Grand Bahama, Port Lucaya:
Littel italian restaurant, excellent food. For the Bahamas not at all expensiv.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A fun Italian dining experience in the Bahamas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

During a recent visit to Freeport my family and I had the opportunity to eat dinner at Giovanni's Cafe.. We were greeted promptly and seated outside by a friendly waiter. Service was fast and friendly and the owner's wife took time to greet us at our table. Her attention to customer service and kind words made us feel welcome. The food was artistically presented but tasted average. The dessert menu was very appealing and we couldn't decide so we tried 3, the tiramisu, cheesecake and chocolate mousse. Overall a great night out.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Waiter was so friendly and had many suggestions. Food was very good. Definitely need to go here when you are in Freeport.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Who would have thought of getting authentic italian food in the Bahamas?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Great little restaurant. The owner greeted us herself and the food was absolutely top notch, and that is coming from a family of italians. Can't miss if you're tired of resort food.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's Cafe also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to Giovanni's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giovanni's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.