We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Experience Not To Miss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pier One Restaurant

Pier One Restaurant
Lucayan Harbour, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
+1 242-352-6674
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 98 Restaurants in Freeport
Price range: $5 - $100
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Visit us on our Facebook page : Pier One and East Restaurant 1 We are opened 7 days. Monday to Friday from 11 am to 10 pm Saturday and Sunday from 4 pm to 10 pm
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“An Experience Not To Miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This has to count for me as one of my great dining experiences.
The setting is a marvel,fabulous views of fishing boats returning as the sun sets,a relaxed and friendly vibe,just sipping a cold one on the balcony is a great place to be.
The food I found was also to a very good standard,certainly in Bahamas terms where most fare is quite basic and not terribly inventive.A couple of reviews have picked up on slow service,if you want anything in a hurry,do not go to the Bahamas ! These wonderful people have their own pace far from our own hectic lifestyles,and is a way of life for them.Maybe we can all learn from that ethos !
The shark feeding later is one of those moments - you will talk of it for ever - where else in the world can you see that after dinner with a cocktail from your dining table ?
If you are on the island and don't go you really will be missing something special.
You will pay a touch more - but you will be paying for something you will take away for ever - a fabulous memory.People who say places like this are overpriced should go all inclusive and stay with their hotel buffet every night! This will free up the tables for people like me who don't mind the extra to live a little.
Go try it and enjoy - you will tell you Grandchildren about the night you fed the wild sharks !!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    51
    18
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Near Philadephia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good food, Local Flavor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is located at the Cruise Ship port. It is a bit out of the way if you are staying in Freeport, or Lucya, but is worth the trip. Dinner with drinks and desert for 2 was about $100 (including tip). Had a very good Conch chowder, and Lobster scampi. The chowder had lots of conch meat, and the scampi has lots of lobster meat. It was good pieces in each, not just schreads or bits.
In addition since it is located at the entrance to the harbor, cruise and cargo ships pass right by. in the evening they through fish scraps out into the water, so sharks have been 'trained' to come by for supper. These are free range sharks, not penned in. Interesting place / good food

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a beautiful restaurant with a unique view. However the food is overpriced for the size portions. 4 people, no wine, 8 beers and 4 entrees= $237. and a $70 cab ride. Service is slow. 3 of our 4 diners got food poisoning from the mussels, 1 was in very serious condition for a while. I recommend you not eat here.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremore, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“More than a dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I love this place. Shark feeding begins at 7,8 and again at 9. the service was a bit slow, however the food was excellent..

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Vale, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Big Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

After receiving 2 positive recommendations, we decided to eat at Pier One. Other than the view, there is nothing positive to say about this restaurant. The service was horrible. The waitress had absolutely no personality and everything was an effort. The food was terrible. My husband's crab tasted like it had been frozen and then defrosted. What a disappointment, especially after paying a taxi$50 to get 8 of us there from the Grand Lucayan.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pier One Restaurant also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to Pier One Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier One Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.