We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Lodging” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Resort & Marina

Save Saved
You added Sunrise Resort & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunrise Resort & Marina
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   208 Kelly Court and Knotts Boulevard, Freeport F42663, Grand Bahama Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 hotels in Freeport
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Basic Lodging”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I think some of the other reviews were overly generous however the place is not terrible. The property in general is dated however functional. The rooms were clean however nothing fancy. Not much in the way of food. Overall OK and as expected for the money.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    28
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
14
26
11
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here for 2 days, the staff is REALLY nice and helpful.. nice view outside the room, the rooms face the marina. Rooms are spacious and clean, there's a fridge, two chairs and a table infront your window that overlooks the boats in the marina. Wi-Fi was not connecting at all when I was there... The hotel is little way off the beaten path, west of marketplace but wasn't really far drive back and forth to marketplace or anywhere we went on this trip ... But a CAR is really recommended if you stay at this hoteland if you want to check out the island/ great beaches outside the major tourist spots.
I recommend this hotel IF YOU HAVE A CAR,its good value, clean , nice staff..
oh - and Dominos will deliver ..
..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olean, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Sunrise is a convenient, quiet, and squeaky clean place to stay in Freeport. As the name suggests it is a marina and there are many boats docked there so that it felt like a true vacation spot although my trip was totally work related. There is a nearby grocery store for any supplies you may need and the room had a refrigerator and coffeepot as well so doing breakfast and evening snacks or meals was a convenient money saver. Port Lucaya and downtown Freeport are only minutes away.
Mrs. C and ALL of the staff are friendly and very helpful! If the internet signal drops off, just call the desk during the day or security through the night and someone will gladly reset the router. AND if you happen to be there as a hurricane approaches (Sandy, for example), preparations are complete and Mrs. C sends e-mail updates and comes in even when the office is covered in shutters to check on her guests. I will definitely return when I just want a vacation!
No rating for room service or spa because these were not used at this time.

Room Tip: All rooms face the marina, the location itself is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angleton, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Four of us jet skied from Boca Raton to Freeport over Labor Day weekend and picked Sunrise Resort because of the marina and low, floating docks. The resort ended up being more than we could have hoped for at the price we paid. Ms. C was an incredible host and the entire staff (and for that matter everyone on the island) was very helpful and friendly. Everything about the resort was clean and very well kept, rooms were well appointed, easily accessible by taxi and very convenient on the water once we found the correct inlet. I wouldn't hesitate to visit the folks at Sunrise Resort again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The folks that work there are great, period full stop.Grounds crew (day and night) Front desk, Watch out for Mrs. C SHE WILL HAVE YOU GO HOME BROKE (but with memories).
Location off the beaten path short bike ride or walk to a place to eat (Clapboard) by groceries and hang out.Short bike to the beach (Epic) .You need a car, "transportation is costly" : if you are trying to get around.In addition realy nice to sit out side at night when we were there it was very quiet,cool having boats in the marina.

Room Tip: The rooms are just ok they are clean and well kept you do not stay here for the room you stay here f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Friendly and helpful staff,clean rooms and plenty of facilities(bikes,kayak,swimming pool,games..).It is also possible to rent a car from the reception with free pick up service,quite a good deal in the end,as the price of the other hotels in Freeport is way higher,even considering the 20$ tax charge each person per night.
The hotel is far from Lucayan Beach and the town center,but in only 5 minutes you can reach Xanadu beach by byke,beautiful and isolated,not like the crowded Lucaya.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We only stayed one night as an end to our Bahamas visit. We were at Atlantis but had a 10:00am flight from Freeport to Miami, so we had to spend an evening at Freeport to enable us to get the early flight. After Atlantis what a pleasant experience, like relaxing in a comfortable chair at the end of a hectic week. Beautifully clean and fresh. Very charming staff. It's in a delightful setting with a pleasant evening walk. We didn't have time to experience all that was to offer, but will certainly return. The price was very acceptable, could even go higher and still be worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunrise Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Resort & Marina

Address: 208 Kelly Court and Knotts Boulevard, Freeport F42663, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunrise Resort & Marina 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your Bahamas vacation in one of our 31 Caribbean-style furnished, fully equipped rooms or our Admiral Suite! Relax at our fresh-water pool and THE CORAL REEF Sports Bar and Cafe! All guests can enjoy complimentary use of the resorts Bicycles, snorkel gear, Kayaks, & Fishing gear as well as free Wi-Fi (wireless internet connection), ping-pong and billiards. Enjoy your Bahamas island experience by booking a dive or fishing trip, play golf or visit the nearby Casino, located only 10 minutes away. Freeport, Grand Bahama is a great place to start your trip! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sunrise Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Resort & Marina Hotel Freeport
Sunrise Resort And Marina
Sunrise Resort & Marina Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Resort & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.