We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Bishops!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bishop's Bonefish Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Bahama Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bishop's Bonefish Resort
Save
You added Bishop's Bonefish Resort to your Saves list
High Rock, Grand Bahama Island   |  
Hotel amenities
WPB Fl
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Love Bishops!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Spent 5 days there for New Years, this was better than staying at a resort. We didn't have the crowds and noise as you would expect at a hotel. Bishops is a safe and relaxing place to stay. Very clean and the people were nice. Make sure you pick up snacks and drinks before you head to Bishops. Sometimes they close a little early. The food was very good, we had cracked conch and lobster tails. We literally opened our frt door and saw the most beautiful sunrise, just steps to the beach.I can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
central KY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Traveling with young children we were a little hesitant about staying at a place that did not offer what the larger resorts offered, however, found out that Bishops was our idea of paradise. The beach is beautiful filled with all types of nature to explore. we could walk for miles without seeing anything man made. we could hear the ocean from our room (#2). the sunrise from the front patio was spectacular every morning.
there were plenty of chairs available, a hammock i wished i spent more time in (next time), and we were steps away from our room.
Always felt safe and secure.
The staff was so friendly, the food was incredible, and all the buildings on the property were immaculately kept. Our room was so clean and I believe our sheets were changed every day. A special bonus was Brownie the dog who was always there to greet us. Her dog manners were great.
Bishop arranged a fishing trip per our request. Philip picked us up and took us to the east end for a light tackle half day trip with Wilson which we requested to turn into a full day . www.bahamasbonefishing.net Bishop said to bring the fish back to be cooked, however, we left them with the guide. (good option for future reference though).
notes: stop by the grocery in Freeport and bring snacks (including coffee). food and drinks are very reasonably priced however they don't stay open late. ask when they will close and plan accordingly.
we can not wait to go back and spend more than three nights!

Room Tip: room #1 is the room closest to the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

I have visited Grand Bahama several times during the past year, and once you've hung around Lucaya it frankly gets pretty old. Bishop's is a wonderful break from the expensive tedium of Big Hotel life in Freeport.

You'll need a car or at least a scooter, as it is about 30 miles east of town on the main road. (Get a map). When you get to High Rock, look for the small sign on the right that says "Bishops" and turn right. (Don't be afraid to stop at a shop and ask for directions. People are very friendly and helpful.) If you get to the big oil tanks, turn around and go back about 3 miles and turn left into the settlement. At the shore, turn right and Bishops is all the way to the end of the road.

Bishops has 7 rooms, each with two queen beds. Room # 1 is best. Clean tile floors, cable TV and WIFI (spotty) are standard, and a unique outdoor beachside gazebo is often frequented by locals and tourists alike. His food menu is limited but good, with cracked conch being a specialty. Lobster ($18 for a full dinner at this writing) is available in season, and even out of season if you give him notice. (Out of season will have been frozen in town.) Do not plan on eating late, as unless he has a crowd (defined as four or more), he will shut the restaurant down at about 6:30. The bar is open until the throng leaves, but you aren't here for the nightlife.

The beach is absolutely beautiful - you can walk for about 4 miles before you see any development. It's usually deserted. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the quiet and the peacefulness. Take a few days off from the Lucaya bustle and come out to Bishops for a nice tropical and typical stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

Had an amazing time! This one of the most beautiful beaches I’ve ever been to. The room was ok – very large, two double beds, a small refrigerator, and TV (pictures attached). We visited here for the day 2 months ago and decided to return without our kids for a romantic getaway and were not disappointed. We were the only people staying here and we had the entire beach to ourselves every day. The restaurant here serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The breakfast was simply eggs and ham or eggs and bacon. Lunch and dinner had a great menu with the best cracked conch I’ve ever tasted! We had conch, grouper, and lobster and ate at the beach bar with Bishop, the owner, and several locals who would drop by for a drink.

At night when Bishop would leave, we were the only ones on the beach. We laid out on the hammock looking at the stars and even went swimming as late as 10 p.m., as the water was so warm. Cannot wait to do this again next summer!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2005

We were looking for a secluded, affordable, and clean place to stay in the Bahamas. Bishop's place came very close to giving us everything we were looking for, but there were a few disappointments.

The beach - Bishop's place had the prettiest beach we saw on the island. The sand was white, the water was aqua-marine, and we pretty much had miles of beach to ourselves. A 5 minute walk down the beach and you felt like you were on a deserted island. It was a very nice get-away.

The rooms - Overall, the rooms were fine. They were very spacious, and the staff kept them amazingly clean. There is a bit of a funky smell when you first walk in (no doubt from water damage inflicted by prior hurricanes), but you stop noticing it very quickly. Also, the towels and sheets always smelled very fresh.

Location - I wanted a place that was secluded, but Bishop's is almost too secluded. The nearest grocery store and restaurant (other than Bishop's) is 40 minutes away in Freeport. It was nice to be away from the crowds, but I wished it were just a little closer to some of the other attractions on the island.

Service - I was disappointed in the service we received. Bishop is a friendly guy, but it seems like he was always trying to squeeze an extra dollar out of us. Example: I ordered the snapper for supper which is listed as $10 on the menu. After I ordered, he told me that he was having special snapper that night and the cost would be $2 higher. Not a big deal, but I didn't appreciate the constant "nickle and diming" we encountered.

Overall, we had a satifsfying experience at Bishop's.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2005

This was a different bonefish trip for us. We wanted a nice inexpensive place to fish the east end of Grand Bahama. Bishop's seemed to fit the bill. The room rate also included breakfast and dinner, per their website. We were asked to pay the entire hotel bill, along with charters, when we arrived. Breakfast was not served until 9 am. We left at 7:45 am to fish. Dinner was not served after 5 pm. We did not really feel like driving half an hour to Freeport for dinner every day.The air conditioner was turned off every day while we were fishing. We wouldn't go back.

Stayed July 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2005

Spent a long weekend at Bishop's Bonefish Resort, aka Bishop's Place, on Grand Bahama. We sort of found it by accident - we saw a great airfare deal to Grand Bahama and don't like crowded resorts, so we searched for an "out of the way" place. Bishop's fit the bill.

His small inn sits on a gorgeous 14 mile stretch of beach and it is likely that you won't see another person on the beach. His inn is simple but absolutely lovely. I have never had cleaner, more well kept accommodations than these. The room was incredibly clean, fresh, well furnished, and comfortable. The bedding and towels always smelled so fresh and clean - it made me smile! When we got sand on the floor, it was gone before we knew it.

We are used to renting large villas with private pools and having a bit of luxury on a vacation, so we weren't sure how we were going to like Bishop's. We absolutely loved it. His accommodations can't be beat. His beach can't be beat. The privacy and quiet were fabulous.

He and his staff were extrememly gracious. His restaurant/bar had great food and he makes an incredible Bahama Mama! We had a lobster dinner for $15! And it was delicious. Good lunches too.

As for other amenities, he provides you with chairs for the beach, and there is a little cabana that had some watersports for rent (kayaks, etc.) right out on the beach in front of you. They are also in the process of building a really cute beach bar on the sand at the water's edge. He said when it is finished, the party will move out there in the evening! They also offer fishing trips from the hotel.

It is far enough away from Freeport that you have no crowds, no people, but close enough to drive in and shop, go to the casino, or whatever else you may want to do.

I highly recommend this place for peace and quiet. With only 7 rooms, it would be a fun place to take a group too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bishop's Bonefish Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop's Bonefish Resort

Address: High Rock, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Grand Bahama Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3-Night minimum stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bishop`s Bonefish Hotel Grand Bahama Island
Bishops Bonefish Hotel
Bishop's Bonefish Resort Grand Bahama Island, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bishop's Bonefish Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.