We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Our Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deadman's Reef (Paradise Cove)

Deadman's Reef (Paradise Cove)
Deadman's Reef, Grand Bahama Island
242-349-2677
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches, Reefs, Water sports
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Goodyear, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Exceeded Our Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We took a party of 10, ages 15-72, to Deadman's Reef from the cruise terminal. Arrangements were made directly through Deadman's Reef and not through the cruise line, prior to sailing. Slightly cheaper doing it this way. A representative met us promptly at the terminal, lead us to an air-conditioned tour bus, and had us write down the names of all the members of our party and the time that we needed to be back at the terminal. He then told us what time to meet by the bus when we were ready to leave.The ride is an interesting & easy 20 minute ride. Upon arrival we were directed to a counter where we paid for snorkel gear, 2 umbrellas, 6 lounge chairs and 2 air mattresses. We were given vouchers to take to the equipment hut. Very smooth transaction. While we got our snorkel gear another gentlemen set up our lounge chairs, umbrellas, and delivered the air mattresses. We were given a brief guide on best areas to snorkel, and what to watch out for and avoid. Individuals that had snorkeled before were then released to go enjoy themselves. Those that had not were offered a free lesson on using the equipment. Beautiful beach, clear and warm water. Saw nurse sharks, sea turtles, baracuda, sea urchins, sand dollars, sting rays, parrot fish, red coral and hundreds of other fish I couldn't identify. Out by the reef you could just float on top of the water and the fish swam all around you. It was like swimming in an aquarium. I have snorkeled in Hawaii, Belize, Cozumel, Cayman Islands, Sea of Cortez, Tahiti and many more. This was the biggest bang for the buck. They also have a bar that serves items like cracked conch, conch fritters, and halibut sandwiches to name a few. We tried them all and agreed the cracked conch and the halibut sandwich were delicious.When it was time to leave we met at the bus, the driver checked our names off the list, and would not allow anyone not on the list on. This assured that we were able to return to the cruise terminal in a timely manner. So organized. If I returned to Freeport I would definitely do this again. They also offer bungalows on the premises to rent and stay in. My husband and I have both said it would be nice to stay there for a few days.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    57
    17
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Beach Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

If you are cruising to the Bahamas and want a truly memorable experience, go to Paradise Cove in Freeport, Bahamas. This might be the highlight of your trip. First you have a beautiful, un-crowed beach with an amazing coral reef just off shore. The facilities are owned and run by Barry and his family. They are friendly, attentive and truly appreciate your coming to their piece of heaven. You can rent a chase lounge and umbrella, kick back and enjoy the beach, or you can be more active and rent a glass bottom kayak or float and tool around the reef. But the best is snorkeling. Barry will give you clear directions on where to go to get the best views of the reef. This is not one of those over used reefs that has little life, but a vibrant living reef that is teaming with colorful coral, fish and the occasional eagle ray. The facility has everything you need from decent bar drinks, food, showers, gift shop and more. Don't miss it, its worth getting away from the crowds.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Indiana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great for snorkeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Husband & I visited during our recent trip to Freeport. Luckily we had a car & could drive ourselves instead of a pricey taxi, it is a way out from Freeport. Got there pretty early, thought what a gem, its really not that busy. Instructors were doing a great job informing 2 groups that were about to snorkel & we rented a glass bottom kayak. I did enjoy myself but was not able to kayak long b/c i started to get sea sick (i do that very easily) so i rented a beach chair & relaxed while my husband snorkeled. He loved it! The best expierience he's ever had snorkeling. He spent 2 hours out there. While he snorkeled it got very busy & crowded. From what i gathered a large group or 2 came from the cruise ships so i suggest getting there as early as possible before the crowds come. Ate at their food stand & food was really just okay, premade burger patties & fries. If your into snorkeling this would be the place to go.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Deadmans Reef and Paradise Cove Beach is a MUST DO!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Not much to do on Grand Bahama Island-Freeport with a cruise stop. We sailed into Freeport June 9, 2013, not a grand port at all most cruise ships are there from early morning to 2-5PM. If you do anything get a group of you together and hire a taxi - van to take you to Paradise Cove-Deadmans Reef. Its 16.00 roundtrip per person, the key is to leave early 9-10 and have the taxi driver come get you at 2:00, this gives you PLENTY of time to snorkel the reef just off the beach, take in the azure, turquoise water and have a lunch.

The beach is pretty, the water is absolutely clear and clean. Lots of grasses and shallow areas for first time snorkelers. Great for children who are interested in the undersea world and want to try their fins and mask out for the first time. The Bahamian locals run this place, it has showers, working toliets, lockers, shaded picnic tables and sand to lie on. Food is okay, hot dogs, hamburgers, fresh fried conch and they sell soft drinks, bottled water etc.

The deep part of the reef is out beyond the rocks, there is a dinghy for hire to take you out there for 5.00 a person, which I recommend doing if you are an experienced strong swimmer. Take a flotation belt to help you float along. Once out there just float along and come in with the current. On this trip we saw lots of parrot fish, a large sting ray and a sea turtle. Plenty of brain coral, fans, etc.

Cost were 16.00 roundtrip for taxi per person, 9.00 for snorkel gear (flotation belt, mask, snorkel and fins), 3.00 facility use fee. If you pack you a lunch from the cruise ship and your drinks, you can do this for less than 30.00.

If I ever go back to Freeport, I will be headed back to Deadmans Reef for the day.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A MUST EXPERIANCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

the highlight of my island vacation!!! great place owned by a family surprizingly, the snorkiling was worth the swim out to the reef, snorkled in florida and cozemel and this was the greatest experiance.go early make a day of it 3.00 access fee and 15.00 for all equipment needed. or bring ur own equipment no problem. we stayed at grand lucayan and rented scooters for our transportation, great ride there, locals very helpful and anytime stoped to look at map or rest someone stopped to ask if we were ok. stay on island go to paradice cove is a must.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deadman's Reef (Paradise Cove) also viewed

Lucayan National Park, Grand Bahama Island
Grand Bahama Island, Bahamas
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to Deadman's Reef (Paradise Cove)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deadman's Reef (Paradise Cove), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.