We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deadmans Reef and Paradise Cove Beach is a MUST DO!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deadman's Reef (Paradise Cove)

Deadman's Reef (Paradise Cove)
Deadman's Reef, Grand Bahama Island
242-349-2677
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$45*
and up
Deadman's Reef Snorkeling Tour from Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Wendell, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Deadmans Reef and Paradise Cove Beach is a MUST DO!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Not much to do on Grand Bahama Island-Freeport with a cruise stop. We sailed into Freeport June 9, 2013, not a grand port at all most cruise ships are there from early morning to 2-5PM. If you do anything get a group of you together and hire a taxi - van to take you to Paradise Cove-Deadmans Reef. Its 16.00 roundtrip per person, the key is to leave early 9-10 and have the taxi driver come get you at 2:00, this gives you PLENTY of time to snorkel the reef just off the beach, take in the azure, turquoise water and have a lunch.

The beach is pretty, the water is absolutely clear and clean. Lots of grasses and shallow areas for first time snorkelers. Great for children who are interested in the undersea world and want to try their fins and mask out for the first time. The Bahamian locals run this place, it has showers, working toliets, lockers, shaded picnic tables and sand to lie on. Food is okay, hot dogs, hamburgers, fresh fried conch and they sell soft drinks, bottled water etc.

The deep part of the reef is out beyond the rocks, there is a dinghy for hire to take you out there for 5.00 a person, which I recommend doing if you are an experienced strong swimmer. Take a flotation belt to help you float along. Once out there just float along and come in with the current. On this trip we saw lots of parrot fish, a large sting ray and a sea turtle. Plenty of brain coral, fans, etc.

Cost were 16.00 roundtrip for taxi per person, 9.00 for snorkel gear (flotation belt, mask, snorkel and fins), 3.00 facility use fee. If you pack you a lunch from the cruise ship and your drinks, you can do this for less than 30.00.

If I ever go back to Freeport, I will be headed back to Deadmans Reef for the day.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    85
    22
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A MUST EXPERIANCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

the highlight of my island vacation!!! great place owned by a family surprizingly, the snorkiling was worth the swim out to the reef, snorkled in florida and cozemel and this was the greatest experiance.go early make a day of it 3.00 access fee and 15.00 for all equipment needed. or bring ur own equipment no problem. we stayed at grand lucayan and rented scooters for our transportation, great ride there, locals very helpful and anytime stoped to look at map or rest someone stopped to ask if we were ok. stay on island go to paradice cove is a must.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

You need to be a decent swimmer, but they do have life vests available. There is equipment available to rent and a taxi will cost you $20/person from the dock and it will be about 25min. It was an incredible experience! We saw all kinds of fish and coral. We even saw 6 sea turtles. This is a definite stop!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, VA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun despite the weather”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Picked up at the port by our interactive and pleasant driver, Nathan. Were given a safety briefing for snorekling as well as all the equipment we needed. My husband and I have snorkeled many many times so we were leading the pack to the deeper water. We saw 2 types of stingrays, huge parrot fish, a few barracudas, Sgt. Majors, etc. When we got back on land we partook of the lunch and local beers that they had to offer. Unfortunately the skies let loose and rained the rest of our stay but they have the covered picnic area for us to hang out and enjoy the area. Good value, not very crowded, all around good experience!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickinson, North Dakota
1 review
“Beautiful beach and awesome snorkeling!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Had a great time snorkeling and hanging out on the beach. A definite highlight on our vacation. Saw many kinds of fish, rays, sea turtles and coral.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deadman's Reef (Paradise Cove) also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to Deadman's Reef (Paradise Cove)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deadman's Reef (Paradise Cove), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.